We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you're going to be out that way (Newton and points west)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Newton
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“If you're going to be out that way (Newton and points west)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

This was my second stay at the Indigo Newton Riverside, for the same reason as my last stay; a family event in Newton. It's a convenient location, easy to find, and quickly accessible to anything and anywhere I needed to be, including Watertown and Cambridge. This isn't the most likely place to stay if your business is in downtown Boston.

The room size is fine, though the closet space is small and kind of constrained. I liked the bathroom, and the shower had hot water and great pressure; don't need a tub, they're dangerous anyway. I arrived (both times) after 9:00 PM and found check-in to be fast and friendly, with the desk clerk taking an interest in me and my reason for being in the area. This was true the first time I stayed, and it was the desk staff who guided me to and recommended a breakfast place in nearby Auburndale.

I ate one meal in the Bokx 109 restaurant on the night I arrived and enjoyed my meal. The problem is it's the only place to eat if you don't want to go out and try to find something, which won't be nearby.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager21, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Let's go Pittsburgh,

Thanks for taking the time to review the Hotel Indigo - Newton Riverside. I will pass along your kind words to our front desk staff. We have a great staff up there who really care about making every guests stay memorable and enjoyable. From reading the review it sound like you found the "Knotty Pine" in Auburndale, just down the street. A great "locals" breakfast joint! We love to make sure our guests explore the neighborhood. Thanks agian for staying with us!

Bruce Leaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    241
    180
    96
    50
See reviews for
181
150
73
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

We had to stay in 4 hotels in Boston suburbs this month and this was one of our favorites. We got a great deal on Priceline for a 3* hotel. Liked the modern room with hardwood type floor. Added treat was K-cup coffee maker. Bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RhonaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager21, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
RhonaP

Thanks for posting such great comments about the Hotel Indigo Newton Riverside, and I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay! Most guest love our hardwood floors. Very hypoallergenic and much easier to keep clean as opposed to carpets. I see our service stacked up well also. I will pass your kind words along to our team. Thanks again for taking the time to write a review and come back soon.

Bruce Leaver
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

The rooms are very small, with a freestanding closet and nowhere to work. The bathrooms are also tiny, with only a shower, pedestal sink and compact toilet. To put your personal items, use the little shelf above the sink and toilet, but be careful not to knock anything off.

The bed and pillows had me flashing back to military life. Squishy pillows and feather quills sticking in my face all night and no back support.

My most recent stay was winter, I could not get the heat to change, and no hot water (tepid at best). I got $25 off.

I think the Boxx restaurant on premises is expensive for what you get.

Room Tip: Try the Marriott a couple miles away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager21, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Randy S,

I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel. Our rooms and bathrooms are smaller that most, however most people enjoy the contemporary design, hardwood floors, and spa like features in the bathroom. Our Restaurant BOKX 109 is an upscale steakhouse that has recieved great reviews from guests and locals. It is certainly a fine dining experience and is not a fast casual one, which can be disappointing to those who are looking for a less expensive hotel venue. Thanks for the review.

Bruce Leaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madison
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

Stayed at this hotel with hubby while visiting Boston and surrounding area. Great out door pool area with tiki bar and outdoor couches. At night fantastic bands and outdoor fire pits. Our room was small but perfectly efficient and very moden. The beds omg, were fantastically comfortable with down comforters and pillow top mattress. I loved the beds. Only drawback is the steakhouse on site is extremely pricey. The indoor bar is large and fun. The hotel is directly next door to train station and bus station, green line takes u into Boston or Fenway and surrounding towns. Only problem is the lighting in the bathrooms is terrible. But I have stayed here three times and was very happy.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yogidavis24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager21, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
yogidavis24,

Thanks for the wonderful review and kind comments about the Hotel Indigo Newton Riverside and our Restaurant and Pool - BOKX 109 American Prime. I will pass along your kind comments to our team and hope you will keep coming back again and again! Thanks.

Bruce Leaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

I was very excited about staying at the hotel after a friend had taken me to the restaurant (Bokx) over the summer. The furniture was so modern and I was in love with the outdoor fire pit and lounge.
Now I know I wasn't going to get to enjoy the outdoor space when I decided to spend New Years Eve here with my boyfriend, but I was certain that the experience would be like what I felt in the restaurant: chic decor that made you feel like you were in a high-end location. Boy was I wrong...
I intentionally booked a King Room with couch, thinking I would get a roomy/suite-like space but it was more like a big bed crammed with an old 70's-orange and itchy couch in a tight room. The first room they had us in had a badly-cracked sink and the bathroom was crummy. The rug was a little drab...a yucky green that just looked dirty. I asked that our room be switched...by then my boyfriend and I were a bit nerved.
So the room they switched us to was a little better (the sink was not cracked) but I was disappointed to find the same weird decor of art work, itchy couch and rug. They went cheap on the furniture and the interior design choices sucks. I mean, I get that hotels aren't supposed to wow us, but when you sell it as a "boutique" hotel and at such a price, I do expect a bit more. The bathrooms were also really small and had no real charm. And it seems that no matter which side you were on, there were no good outdoor views.
The good things were the "fake" hardwood floors and the bed was very comfortable. I slept like a baby. I was also pleased with the service. The hotel service members were prompt and attentive.I think it's an alright place, just not worth the money. You are better off enjoying the restaurant and lounge areas which are well-designed and charming.
Again, for NYE I was hoping to be in a space that was more charming...such a disappointment! I won't be staying here again...

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elgador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager21, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Elgador....

Thanks for taking the time to submit a review on the Hotel Indigo - Boston Newton Riverside. I am happy that you had a wonderfull New Year's Eve experience in our award winning reatuaurant BOKX 109, but I am equally unhappy that your overnight guest room experience was not as satisfying. I apologize for the cracked sink, it will be changed out immediately. As for the decor of the room I am a bit surprised by you comments. The same designer/architect used to design the public areas, pool area, and restaurant were also used to design the guest rooms. Although a bit small most guests feel the rooms truly reflect the contemorary boutique image. I am sorry you did not see it that way. Again thanks for the critique and I hope you will give us another chance.

Best Regards
Bruce Leaver
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton
1.4 km away
Boston Marriott Newton
6.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel
4.5 km away
Sheraton Needham Hotel
Sheraton Needham Hotel
#2 of 2 in Needham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
Residence Inn Boston Needham
3.5 km away
Crescent Suites Hotel
Crescent Suites Hotel
#7 of 11 in Waltham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
7.0 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Boston / Waltham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside

Property: Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside
Address: 399 Grove Street, Newton, MA 02462
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Newton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Newton
Price range (per night): $163 - $419
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape the hectic pace of the city yet be close enough to easily visit at this contemporary boutique hotel adjacent to Boston train station and offering complimentary WiFi, 24 hour business center and state-of-the-art fitness center. Inside is the highly acclaimed BOKX 109 American Prime, a modern steakhouse for drinks and dinner and Phi Cafe featuring Starbuck's coffee, light breakfast and lunch fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, IHG, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Newton
Hotel Indigo Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing