We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“"Sweet" vacay”
other travellers have booked this property
Garden level entrance to Chestnut Sweet
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Garden level entrance to Chestnut Sweet
Our logo Patio and garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Garden level entrance to Chestnut Sweet
Our logo
Patio and garden
Through the front door
Garden-level sitting room
Detail of sitting room
Sitting room
Sitting room and hallway to living room
Master bath (first floor) with shower
Vanity (stacked washer-dryer behind louver doors)
Commode and rain shower
Living room looking toward kitchenette
Living room loveseat
Kitchenette, with master bath to right
Stairs to second floor
Second floor queen bed, with skylights
Second floor bedroom
Stairway from second floor to first
Hallway detail
Through front door to garden
Garden patio
A typical street in Marblehead, with historic houses
Marblehead's Old Town House
Marblehead Harbor
Gas House Beach in Marblehead (one of several beaches)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 3
Marblehead, Massachusetts

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ChloeFa
Honolulu
1 review
“"Sweet" vacay”
Reviewed 11 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

From our initial booking online, we received warm and quick replies to ensure a smooth arrival to our Sweet accommodation. Bob welcomed us and gave us a tour of what was to be our home base for the next few days. The Sweet was cozy, clean and offered all the comforts of home with added touches that showed our hosts, Francie and Bob, cared about us. Marblehead was the perfect spot to day trip along the coast and into Boston. The town is right on the water and is quaint and walkable to some great eateries and shops. We couldn't have asked for a better experience. Mahalo, Francie and Bob, for a wonderful stay and for your warm hospitality. If our travels take us to the area again, Chestnut Sweet will be our first choice of accommodation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2017
Wow, ladies, thank you! This was wonderful to read, and it only adds to the pleasure of having met you both. You took great advantage of our area, got to know it, and we loved seeing that! Thank you again for choosing us, and by all means, come back!! Mahalo, both!

Francie and Bob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jkoski
Masschusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“perfect stay for our best friend couple one of whom is a paraplegic”
Reviewed 9 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Frances and her husband Bob could not have been better hosts for our couple friends first stay away from their home in 3 years since an illness that resulted in her husband's paraplegic condition. Frances responded very quickly to our many communications regards accessibility and special needs required for a hoyer lift and powered wheel chair. Frances and Bob were there when we arrived. They moved furniture and even offered to take doors down to make navigating with the wheel chair easier. The house could not have been more perfect and the neighborhood is beautiful. There is a small park a short distance from the house with a beautiful view of the harbor. Short walk in the other direction takes you into town with all kinds of small stores and restaurants. No doubt our friends will be returning for another stay. Frances and Bob are very special people.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2017
John, what an honor! Thank you so very much for this. We so enjoyed you and your dear friends, Debbie and Howie, who could not have been more gracious. We look forward to their next visit! And yours!
Francie and Bob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jodiann7
Midland, Michigan
1 review
“Sweet!”
Reviewed 25 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Great location and beautiful accommodations! Our family of 3 was very comfortable and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Francie and Bob are kind and thoughtful. All in all a great experience!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2017
Thank you, Jodi and family! It was such a pleasure meeting and hosting you three and we'll look forward to seeing you again very soon. Could Marblehead be your next home?!
Francie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 1 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: The coziness and comfort of the property.
Liked least: Not applicable / there was nothing that we did not like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 Dec 2016
Wow, thank you both so much! This was humbling and lovely to read, and we are so very glad your visit was a fine one. We would love to have you back again, and hope to see you often in Marblehead!

Francie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paul A
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautifully presented "pied-a-terre"!”
Reviewed 2 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Francie and Bob have created a delightful pied a terre in Sweet Chestnut, beautifully pulled together with the furnishings and decor...we loved the place!
We stayed 2 nights and would have loved to stay longer and fully explore Marblehead and Salem. ... probably a week would be best!
The weather was unfortunately wet on our main day as the rain made it more like autumn in the UK, however we have enjoyed stunning weather in the last 2 weeks so can't complain and on our last day the sun shone and we saw Marblehead and the coast at its best.
Whilst we only met Bob he was very approachable and offered to guide us if needed, sadly we ran out of time to take up his generous offer
Sweet Chestnut is well located in a quite residential street but turn left and you have stunning views across to the Neck; turn right and right and there are lots of restaurants and shops close by.....if you feel the need to burn some energy I highly recommend a 5 mile run around the Neck early on a crisp sunny morning!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Secluded, cosy and quiet but not far to coast or town
Liked least: Restricted headroom if you sleep on the right side of the bed!!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2016
Dear Paul,
Wow, what a splendid review you've left us! Thank you so much. You clearly did take good advantage of our little town, despite the UK-like weather! We hope you'll consider returning one day, and letting us host you again. Great thanks, and all the best to you and Joanne.
Francie King
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing