We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome!”
other travellers have booked this property
Garden level entrance to Chestnut Sweet
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Garden level entrance to Chestnut Sweet
Our logo Patio and garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Garden level entrance to Chestnut Sweet
Our logo
Patio and garden
Through the front door
Garden-level sitting room
Detail of sitting room
Sitting room
Sitting room and hallway to living room
Master bath (first floor) with shower
Vanity (stacked washer-dryer behind louver doors)
Commode and rain shower
Living room looking toward kitchenette
Living room loveseat
Kitchenette, with master bath to right
Stairs to second floor
Second floor queen bed, with skylights
Second floor bedroom
Stairway from second floor to first
Hallway detail
Through front door to garden
Garden patio
A typical street in Marblehead, with historic houses
Marblehead's Old Town House
Marblehead Harbor
Gas House Beach in Marblehead (one of several beaches)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 3
Marblehead, Massachusetts

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lisa m
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome!”
Reviewed 24 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We were greeted with smiles after a long drive. Everyone was friendly and helpful. The Sweet was wonderfully appointed, It had everything one would want / need. Super Clean, bright and wonderfully decorated! They really paid attention to the details which made our stay outstanding. The location was great, an easy walk to town and to the water as well.
Lisa

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: how it was brightly decorated
Liked least: leaving.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 May 2016
Lisa,

This was so lovely -- thank you! We really enjoyed having you three with us, and we hope you'll come back again soon!
Francie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy A
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming, cozy elegance, with super-friendly greeting”
Reviewed 17 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Everything about our stay was PERFECT! The entrance through the well-kept hydrangea garden, a card from the innkeepers welcoming us, and the comfortable, tastefully decorated guest house made for a relaxing weekend get away. The most comfortable bed ever and quietness made for a perfect night's sleep. I only wish we could have stayed longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: elegant, tasteful, and comfortable decor
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Nov 2015
Dear Amy,

What a splendid review and we thank you! It was such a pleasure hosting you and Michael, and we do hope you'll come back often and for longer visits. We love it when guests come to Marblehead and enjoy the autumn there as much as we do. Thank you again!

Francie King
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spoz93
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
“Perfect Stay”
Reviewed 1 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Me and my girlfriend absolutely loved this place. It was such a warm and cozy house. Prior to arrival Francie was sending me emails about the area and house. We didnt get a chance to meet her but her husband Bob greeted us with a warm welcome and was always available by phone if needed. We were welcomed with a very nice letter and a bottle of wine (Thank you very much for that!) The house had everything one could need. There were plenty of blankets, towels, glassware, and even had a couple of bicycles. The house was kept really clean and couldnt have been better. We spent two days in Salem which was about a ten minute drive from here. A downtown area of Marblehead was about a ten minute walk and had a grocery store and restaurants. Overall this was a really great stay and if I go back out that way this would be my first choice of stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2015
Dear Brandon,
Thank you for that truly lovely review! I am so sorry I was out of town when you arrived, but Bob told me that all had gone well. We are thrilled that you were comfortable and enjoyed the area so much. Yes, please DO come back again! We'd love to have you.
All best,
Francie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyn H
Middletown, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Absolutely loved it here!”
Reviewed 19 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Our stay at Chestnut Sweet was perfect in every way, and I'm so glad we decided to try something a little different than a B&B or a hotel like we usually do. Francie and Bob were helpful and accommodating leading up to our stay and the day we got there, and then we didn't see them again. And I mean that in a good way! We knew they were available should we need anything, we had phone numbers to reach them, and the privacy was wonderful!

The house itself is just beautiful and I loved the loft style upstairs bedroom. The bed was so comfortable and warm, and the skylight was wonderful since I love the cool, fresh air while I sleep (and my husband loved the nice, warm covers!). There are bathrooms on both floors with awesome lighted mirrors. And the decor throughout is lovely and you really feel at home during your stay.

The location is great, too. You can walk to everything Marblehead has to offer. Restaurants, shopping, cocktails, and a beautiful view at the end of the street. You're also a quick drive to Salem and not far from Boston.

There's nothing to do but relax and enjoy and we did!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, privacy, everything about the house
Liked least: We liked everything!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Oct 2015
Dear Bob and Cyn,
What a splendid review and we thank you for it! You noted the privacy of Chestnut Sweet, and we consider that so important for guests. Thank you! And now we hope you'll return to us again, and soon. You were just lovely guests (and you left our place sparkling neat and tidy -- great!) Thanks so much again for choosing our Sweet.
Francie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
X4six
Swiss Alps, Switzerland
1 review
“Just great”
Reviewed 4 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Francie and Bob are so responsive and helpfull with anything we asked. The cottage is super clean and you can feel the love of the two in every detail.
We can warmly recommend to stay there!

Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2015
Werner and family,

Lovely to read your review and thank you! We so enjoyed your stay with us, and hope you'll return often. (And thank you for the lovely Swiss chocolate! All gone already!)

All best,
Francie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing