We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Got to see it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hancock-Clarke House

Hancock-Clarke House
Ranked #2 of 18 things to do in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Due to reopen April 2017. Closed for the season. The home of Lexington's first two ministers and the location where John Hancock and Sam Adams were staying on April 18, 1775. Paul Revere stopped here on his famous "Midnight Ride" to warn Hancock and Adams that British troops had left Boston.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Stairs / lift
Crestline, California
Level Contributor
116 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Got to see it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

Along with Munroe Tavern and Buckman Tavern you have to see this if you are interested in history. This is where Paul Revere notified John Hancock "The British are coming!" and where you will learn he never actually said that.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    36
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Surpisingly interesting beyond the expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

My wife and I live in the area, and had never visited the house, because we had been to many re-enactments and displays of Paul Revere's ride, the first battle and so on. We had guests from California and decided we would finally visit. We were very pleasantly surprised. There was a great introductory video that was somewhat graphic as another viewer mentioned- however that is what it made it special as it went beyond the obvious- as this was the start of a war. Hancock and others at that house had to flee as they were in fear of being arrested. As we toured the house- room by room, the details explained made us understand the period and what the people at this important place (probably) were thinking, and doing as the war was beginning. Our guide was incredibly knowledgeable when we asked questions regarding both the house furnishings, its structure including how it was moved and restored to its original location, as well as the historical events preceding and following the beginning of the revolution.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank FussySleepers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond Hill, Georgia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Very interesting, kids enjoyed, warning about graphic film”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

We are a family of 7, with tots to teens. There was something interesting for everyone in this house. One word of warning--the video before the tour was interesting but very graphic in reenactment battle shots and doctors doing surgery. It certainly isn't something young children should see. This surprised me very much since people of all ages view these videos. I made my youngest ones close their eyes, but they had already seen much of the battle gore. Just a word of warning to those with little kids. They didn't give any warning about this prior to the film.

One nice thing--we still had to tour the Munroe tavern, and it takes time to get there from the Hancock house. The volunteer called the Munroe tavern and told them to wait for us, since we were cutting it close to do the hancock house tour and still make the final munroe tavern tour of the day.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank mommusega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newlex, Front Office Manager at Hancock-Clarke House, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Thank you for notifying us and we do apologize for not having warned you about some of the scenes being graphic. We do try our best to notify every visitor that comes through, especially those with children, about this. We will make sure to mention this to our greeters and guides.

On the other hand we do appreciate the feedback in regards to our tour being family friendly. We do our best to cater to all audiences and make our historical story relate able to all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
252 reviews
145 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 451 helpful votes
“The best of the 3 Lexington sites! Great tour and video”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2009

When you visit the Hancock-Clarke House, the Buckman Tavern, or the Munroe Tavern, you'll realize they're all part of the Lexington Historical Society's offerings, and you have the choice to buy a ticket (2009 prices are $6 per site, or $10 for all three). They all are a bit different on hours and the duration of the tour, so we did the HC House first as recommended by the staff. They were right!

It starts with a 10-15 minute movie they've produced with local actors, showing the events that made the house historical; namely the "Regulars" marching into Lexington, and the infamous Paul Revere ride to warn the colonists. Then you're taken through the house with a knowledgeable guide (dressed in period clothing of course!), explaining the interesting history. The entire visit was about one hour.

Helpful?
7 Thank Andre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hancock-Clarke House also viewed

 

Been to Hancock-Clarke House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing