We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (308)
Filter reviews
308 results
Traveller rating
258
28
13
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
258
28
13
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews music room carriage house the main house laurel suite relais chateaux pianist playing chateaubriand quiet elegance corner room beautiful music drawing room dining room special hotel downton abbey old world charm tasting menu pastry chef
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 308 reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2016

We stayed at Blantyre for one night as a pre-holiday getaway. The hotel is charming, appropriately described as "an intimate refuge," and the food, decor, and service were all exquisite. Christina and Laurie were welcoming and attuned to our needs. A truly wonderful experience!

Room Tip: The Corner Room is lovely and spacious. If historic architecture is of interest, the Main House is the place to stay!
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Relais & Chateaux
Thank 88lass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine F, Guest Relations Manager at Blantyre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2017

Dear 88lass,
Thank you for choosing Blantyre as your pre-holiday getaway. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and wish you peace and joy during this festive season. We shall pass along your kind words to Christina and Laurie and look forward to welcoming you back to the Berkshires for a future stay.
Warmest regards,
Christine Fraser
Director of Lodging & Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2016

From the minute you pull up to the entrance to the goody bag for the ride home the staff at Blantyre pay attention to the slightest details. Lovely room with high end linens,comfortable furnishings and spotless clean bathroom.Looking forward to a longer stay next year.

Stayed: December 2016
1  Thank R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine F, Guest Relations Manager at Blantyre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2017

Dear RW,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on tripadvisor. We are so thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Our staff truly loves what they do and have a passion for creating special memories. We look forward to welcoming you back to Blantyre and the Berkshires for a future stay!
Warmest regards,
Christine Fraser
Director of Lodging & Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2016

There are not many places left to visit where as soon as you drive onto the property you feel pampered and completely relaxed. The Bantyre is a gem in the Berkshires'. The staff is attentive and welcoming, the food is comforting and delicious and the accommodations are one of a kind. Our third time there and could not better!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Relais & Chateaux
1  Thank MBR04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine F, Guest Relations Manager at Blantyre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2017

Dear MBR04,
Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience with us. We appreciate the time you took to do so. I will be certain to share your kind comments to the entire team. It is the attention to detail and warmth of the staff that makes Blantyre such a “comfort” for so many of our wonderful guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to Blantyre on your next visit to the Berkshires.
Warmest regards,
Christine Fraser
Director of Lodging & Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2016

" the higher your standards the fewer your choices", they do not say this for nothing.
Excellent place. Personal touch is all over.
Restaurant is superb.
Staff is friendly and well trained.
Charm of old Europe.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Relais & Chateaux
1  Thank Kevinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine F, Guest Relations Manager at Blantyre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2016

Dear Kevinton,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your Thanksgiving weekend with us at Blantyre. November is such a nice time to visit Blantyre with the aroma of warm apple cider and homemade cookies filling the air. We truly hope to welcome you back to Blantyre for a future stay any time of year!
Warmest regards,
Christine Fraser
Director of Lodging & Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2016

We chose Blantyre as a special birthday treat and were not disappointed at all!! We were driving up from NYC on Friday night and arriving late, but the staff made sure that we would be able to have a late night snack and cocktail upon our arrival. The drawing room has a big fireplace, a decorative plaster ceiling, lots of comfortable furniture, oil paintings and mounted deer, bison and gazelle heads. Excellent spot for a martini - perfectly prepared in a beautiful, heavy cut crystal glass that was chilled to keep the gin cold. Nice touch! Our room had an extremely comfortable bed - king size - with smooth sheets and soft pillows. The towels were lush and absorbent, the floor of the bathroom was heated, and the shower was excellent - roomy with a good shower head. Molten Brown shampoo and shower gel. There was a night light in the bathroom, a big plus in my opinion. The turndown service included delicious mint chocolates. Our room was in the Carriage House, a short distance from the main hotel, but it was ok for us - we saw a woodpecker in the tree outside our room and had a nice walk in the morning to breakfast, which was included in the room charge and was excellent. In particular, the fruit salad was delicious, the eggs were well cooked and the coffee plentiful. The NY Times was delivered to our door every morning, another nice touch. There was a small refrigerator in our room with some cold drinks; water was also provided. So all in all, while expensive, the rate does include numerous extras. The staff are very well-trained - attentive and polite but not overly solicitous. After checkout, we stayed a while, reading the newspaper in the large, sunny parlor. It was so quiet and tranquil - no TV, no ringing phones, no street noise, no airplanes over head. Blissful spot.

Room Tip: Maplehurst is a pretty room with an outside sitting area, king size bed, and very nice bathroom in the Carriage House.
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ann m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine F, Guest Relations Manager at Blantyre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2016

Dear ann m,
We are honored to have been chosen as the destination for your very special birthday treat! We appreciate the opportunity of welcoming and pampering you upon your arrival and are so pleased that after your very long day you were able to relax by the fire and enjoy the simple pleasures of a bygone era. Thank you for your review and beautiful description of the Maplehurst room which is located in the carriage house. Maplehurst is just steps away from our intimate Potting Shed Spa where there are always a few relaxing and delicious surprises. We shall pass along your kind words to the entire staff and do hope to welcome you back to Blantyre and the Berkshires for many more birthday celebrations to come!
Warmest regards,
Christine Fraser
Director of Lodging & Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews