We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For an elegant meal in a elegant setting. Very romantic.”

Wyndhurst Room - Cranwell Resort
Ranked #28 of 64 Restaurants in Lenox
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 14 November 2017

The Mansion at the Cranwell resort is a site itself, build in the late 1800s for the pleasures of presidents and millionaires. Couple that with a drink outside the dining room while seated on a soft sofa beside a roaring fire, while waiting for an elegant meal in a very fancy dining room and your begin to get the picture. Chandeliers, wood paneling, beautiful hanging tapestries, intricate carved wood details and impeccably attentive staff rounds out the experience. The meal was not outstanding but very good and the wine list was okay. Service was very good. You are not going for the meal but for the total experience and it is worth it. The pistachio lamb was good, not great. The seared scallops were very good. The wild mushroom gnocchi was just okay. The Saint-Emilion was good.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JudyK288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2017

Stayed at the resort and walked to the mansion in the rain, but it was worth it. The service was outstanding and the food was very good. We certainly enjoyed the ambiance and the leisurely pace of the evening. The history is also fascinating.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

We had a terrible meal here. First of all, the main meal came so quickly after we ordered it, that I couldn’t imagine how they did it! It certainly felt as if they were trying to get you in and out in the shortest amount of time to give the table to the next diners.

I ordered the rack of lamb which had the consistency of tough jelly! It was so unpleasant that I didn’t eat it. It came with 3 paper thin slices of zucchini. My dinner companion had Halibut. It was served as a big chunk of white fish plunked on top of a mass of white risotto. Very unattractive. The fish was raw in the middle. No vegetables came with it. We did not complain about our meals to the waitperson. It just seemed to be too much trouble. We left the restaurant, went into our hotel’s dining room and ordered a meal there!

I think this restaurant is trying to be a “fancy” place to eat without having a decent chef. We thought the atmosphere was pretentious. There are so many good restaurants in the Lenox area, choose another one.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Marshendplum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

This restaurant is in the Mansion at Cranwell. It is in an elegant, quiet dining room. It is uniquely out of a different century and very posh.

Some of the food was unusually excellent: carrot squash soup, mushroom gnocci, and lemon pistachio mousse dessert. However, we had two dishes that were unfortunate. The Cobb salad on bibb lettuce had almost no letttuce and large portions of tasty but salty, fatty pancetta and stilton cheese. It had a piece of grilled chicken breast that was dry as a bone. It was hard to eat. The cajun pasta had very little chicken or andoui sausage on it. It was somewhat bland.

I would eat here again, though, for the elegant dining room and the dishes that were exceptional.

Date of visit: September 2017
1  Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

We were greeted properly and we were treated very well. The main dining room is very elegant. The meal is getting served in style and every bite if worth savoring. We highly recommend this restaurant, it seems that every item on the Pre Fixed menu was carefully crafted, as flavors and the experience itself were well balanced and very much enjoyable. The menu is easily accessible on Cranwell's website.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LeopoldsFriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wyndhurst Room - Cranwell Resort also viewed

 

Been to Wyndhurst Room - Cranwell Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing