We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special”
Review of Blantyre

Blantyre
Reserve with OpenTable
Blantyre is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 64 Restaurants in Lenox
Price range: USD 25 - USD 100
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Dining is a very special event at Blantyre, Relais & Châteaux. Late every afternoon, the Main House undergoes a lovely transformation as we prepare for the delightful dining experience to come that evening. Linens are brought out, tables are set with sterling silver, fine china, crystal, and fresh flowers. Beautiful music fills the air and candles are lit. Under the knowing eye of Chef Arnaud Cotar, the kitchen is a hive of activity as the finest ingredients are used to create a memorable, outstanding dining experience. When you arrive, you can enjoy a pre-dinner glass of Champagne and canapés on the Covered Terrace or in the Main Hall, or sample one of our rich red wines in the Music Room. When your first course is ready our host will escort you to the dining room where your delicious dinner begins. Enjoy a glass of wine from our Wine Cellar, the recipient of the 2011 Grand Award Wine Spectator. Should your evening plans include a Friday or Saturday performance at Tanglewood or Jacob's Pillow, you may wish to postpone dessert. Upon your return, coffee, an assortment of cheeses and a beautifully prepared dessert buffet is served in the Music Room. In keeping with our house tradition, we require gentlemen to wear a jacket and tie. We also offer 24-hour room service.
Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

I rarely ever submit a review for anything but felt moved to do so for our recent dining experience. I have been to some of the best restaurants in the world and the special ones turn it into an experience rather than a meal. It all came down to Rob the bartender/waiter/event planner that made it memorable. While bartending he noticed that our table wasn’t going to be available at the time of our reservation so offered to serve us at the bar. We were totally fine with that. A few minutes later he asked us to follow him and he usher us into this Victorian private dining room completed isolated from the other diners. As we entered we equates it to the night that we were upgraded to the st Regis New York in the Tiffany suite. I believe that nightly rate is close to $15,000.

It goes to show how someone can really make an impact because they are thoughtful and frankly care. No matter the service or job, of you actually give a sh*t and hustle, it makes all of the difference. The architecture and design was awesome as well as the food.

Great job, Rob.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel H, Group Managing Director at Blantyre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2018

Dear Dan,

Thank you taking the time to share your positive comments about your evening at Blantyre, especially with someone of your travel and culinary experience.

We will share your kind words with Rob. What a wonderful example of how personalized and caring service can have a large impact.

Most important, we are delighted that you had a memorable and enjoyable dinner at Blantyre. On behalf of Rob and our entire team, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again.

Warm regards,

Daniel Hostettler
Group Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2018

Significantly overpriced ie: $17. for a cup of onion soup. I took one taste...really didn't like it , The hostess came over and asked me if I was finished, I said, "That I did not like it". She took it away, didn't ask me if I would like something else, and still charged me $17.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank garylighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel H, Group Managing Director at Blantyre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2018

Dear Garylighter,

We are so sorry to learn of your recent experience at Blantyre. We will share your comments with our staff, so that we can improve in the future.

We understand that you have enjoyed Blantyre many times in the past. If your plans bring you back, it will be our pleasure to credit you for the soup, and serve you with something that is more pleasing to you.

Warm regards,

Daniel Hostettler
Group Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018

When you arrive, you are welcomed at the door by name. The setting is beautiful. And don't miss the pianist in the living room.
The food is tastefully prepared, dishes are creative and delicious.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank hippocrates38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel H, Group Managing Director at Blantyre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2018

Dear Hippocrates38,

Thank you for your wonderful “five star” review. We’re delighted you found our service “impeccable” and welcoming and culinary experience enjoyable. We will send along your compliments to our colleagues.

We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Until then, warm regards,

Daniel Hostettler
Group Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018

While Blantyre has a very elegant and expensive restaurant, the bistro is reasonably priced and offers much of the elegance to be found at this Relais and Chateaux hotel. I had made a reservation and was greeted by name at the door. My wife and I were ushered into a grand salon to listen to Mozart being played on an antique grand piano. We ordered drinks and after a while were ushered into the bistro itself.
We had the excellent trout almondine and a pan bagnat tartine which is an open tuna and anchovie sandwich, just the right thing as I had eaten a big lunch. The valrhona chocolate cake was delicious.
This is a lovely place not to be missed.

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank Stanr1936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel H, Managing Director at Blantyre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2018

Dear Stanr1936,

Thank you for your recommendation and five-star review of Blantyre.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit, including the music, your dinner and dessert. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again.

Warm regards,

Daniel Hostettler, Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

My girlfriend and I were looking for a nice different lunch venue and Blantyre did not disappoint. Monday afternoon after a busy Tanglewood weekend, the crowds were gone.
We had the outside patio to ourselves. We ordered wine, appetizers, and their risotto.
Everything was served elegantly, and the risotto was superb.
Can't wait to go back.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank buzzy-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel H, Managing Director at Blantyre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2018

Dear Buzzy-10,

We are delighted you discovered Blantyre and our beautiful outside patio and felt like "royalty." We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your wine, appetizers, the entrée and your total experience. We look forward to serving you again soon.

Warm regards,

Daniel Hostettler, Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Blantyre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing