We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Pub”
Review of The Green Man

The Green Man
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Thriplow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 13 - USD 33
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Community owned village pub. Great beers, seasonal food, table service. Beer garden at the front and rear, kids menu, dog friendly.
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

Went with 2 friends and a dog for some weekend drinks. The place was clean and friendly. The staff were beyond friendly and helpful. We ordered some bar snacks and were pleasantly surprised about the quality of them. We have eaten worse at top restaurants! The copious amounts of gin on selection pleased my friend no end! Would highly recommend

Thank droy_droy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGreenManThriplow, Owner at The Green Man, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Hi there

Thanks so much for your review. Delighted to hear you enjoyed your time at The Green Man.

Hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes
The Green Man

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (359)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 93 of 359 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2017

I went for lunch today and asked for the gluten free menu,Which looked lovely and they said lots could be adapted to g/f. When I went to order the fries I double checked about cross contamination and the waitress went and checked with the chief and came back and said yes the chips are cooked in the same oil as other things(battered) but was totally gluten free as the oil gets up to 180 degrees which kills the gluten!!!i was absolutely shocked!then she then went on to say our regular coeliac’s are ok and it’s fine as the environmental health said so!!!!
They obviously need to be educated properly.
So PLEASE PLEASE DONT eat here if you have a food allergy.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank maisycambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGreenManThriplow, Owner at The Green Man, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Hi Maisy

At no point during your visit to the community owned Green Man were you ever going to be served gluten without your knowledge.

We always aim to give full information to our customers about how we prepare our food, e.g. our chips, and then let you, our customer, decide on your meal choice. On a daily basis we deal with customers with a differing level of intolerance, we aim simply to give people honest and accurate information and let them choose the right path.

We welcome many customers with dietary requirements on a daily basis, we have several processes in place to ensure food safety at all times.

We are very proud to have a 5 out of 5 star rating from environmental health for the for the duration we have run The Green Man. This rating takes in to account our ability to deal with the allergens and intolerances of our customers.

Our extremely hard working team feel that your review is unfair and inaccurate.

All of your food was prepared, plated and served separately from that of the other guests at your table, and risked zero cross contamination.

You and your guests did not bring any complaint to the attention of the management during your visit, and you left a very generous tip!

With our daily changing menu, and experienced chefs we welcome all customers, with or without dietary requirements.

Chris & Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

We had the most amazing family Sunday lunch here to celebrate a birthday. Service was so friendly and attentive. We had our 2 year old son with us and he was catered for perfectly- so often you can be made to feel uncomfortable having a toddler with you in a restaurant but not so here. A true village pub with excellent food. Families of all ages, couples, walkers, cyclists and dogs -all were welcome. Really cosy atmosphere and brilliant to see so much local produce on the menu. Thank you to the team at the Green Man, we will be back very soon!

1  Thank RebelGirl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGreenManThriplow, Owner at The Green Man, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Hi there

Thanks for your great review. The whole team are really pleased to hear your positive thoughts.

Thanks for joining us here, and hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes
The Green Man Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

Been twice this week. We run a popular pub restaurant and this is what we aspire to. Great staff food and beer great atmosphere lovely landlady, probably great landlord but he's in the kitchen doing a fantastic job. Come here you won't be disappointed.

1  Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGreenManThriplow, Owner at The Green Man, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Hi Neil

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a lovely review. It means so much to the kitchen and front of house staff to hear positive feedback.

We are really delighted to hear that you are enjoying your visits to The Green Man.

We hope to see you again very soon.

Best wishes
The Green Man Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

I went to the Green Man for the first time in years last week and was extremely impressed with the atmosphere, the friendliness of the staff and the tapas. This is a great place. It is so welcoming, was really busy and yet the staff were completely on top of things. As a non meat eater, I chose the tapas. The halloumi was delicious, as were the stuffed pepperdews. My only little niggle would be that the calamari could have done with a little less batter - maybe breaded?? It was a tad 'industrial'. But that's a minor point. We had a smashing evening. I would definitely recommend this place and will be returning.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank janehorwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGreenManThriplow, Owner at The Green Man, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Hi there

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a lovely review. We are really delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at The Green Man.

We hope to see you again very soon.

Best wishes
The Green Man Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Green Man also viewed

Duxford, Cambridgeshire
Orwell, Cambridgeshire
 
Whittlesford, Cambridgeshire
Duxford, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Shepreth, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to The Green Man? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing