We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
A ten minute drive away, Stithians Lake offers a great day out, on and off the water
A little further away, Newlyn is the largest fishing port in England
Explore one of Henry VIII's finest coastal fortresses, Pendennis Castle
Watch the sun go down at Porthleven with a refreshing drink at the Ship Inn
St. Ives and the nearby Carbis Bay are a lovely day out
Falmouth has the world's third largest deep-water harbour and is renowned for the arts
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Porkellis, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
CoralieFi...
1 review
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 21 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Stayed here for 4 nights just me and my boyfriend for a little Pre-Baby holiday. Was lovely, lovely location and lovely place. The owners were very friendly and helpful and we'd love to come again. Thank-you for a lovely place to stay! :)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Mar 2015
We are so pleased you had a great time and hope to see you again with the little one! A&A
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn R
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“First class accommodation, great location and amazing hosts. Perfect!”
Reviewed 17 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We’ve just arrived back from a long weekend break at The Barn at The Star Inn with our son and our dog. Wow!!! We would definitely recommend this place to everyone.

The Barn is an amazing place to stay and it has everything you need. The layout, décor and furniture are all perfect and the place is absolutely immaculate. The location is great as well, Porkellis is lovely little village with easy access to Lizard, Penzance, Land’s End, St. Ives, Falmouth, Porthleven etc.

On arrival there was a welcome pack, with some eggs, bakery bread, tea, milk and some great coffee. Also, Andrew and Anthony were amazing, super-friendly and so helpful with their knowledge of the area and places to eat, walk and visit.

Thank you both for making our weekend away so special. We can't wait to come back again :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location and the property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Mar 2015
Thanks for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future! A&A
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juicyjs69
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic hosts and accomodation”
Reviewed 21 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Just come back from staying here and what a pleasure it was Andy and Anthony were brilliant and really friendly
The barn was gorgeous clean and very well equipped can't wait to go back again to stay it's the perfect Cornish retreat for anyone , definately recommend with 5 stars thanks Andy and Anthony for such an enjoyable stay see you soon x

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Feb 2015
Thanks for your great feedback, we'd love to welcome you all back soon. A&A
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug B
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First class accomadation”
Reviewed 9 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Both Andrew & Antony were excellent there if you had an inquiry but did not crowd you. Out of the 50 odd cottages we have stayed in over the year this rates in the top five. Warm and cosy the only downside was we had to go home. It is ideally situated for both coasts. Hoping to return again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Was as adertised
Liked least: Do not know
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Feb 2015
We are so pleased you enjoyed the barn and look forward to welcoming you back someday. A&A
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ktrott88
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic place!! Very relaxing and made very welome!!”
Reviewed 19 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Myself, my partner and the dog enjoyed a long weekend at the barn and we thought it was fantastic!!
Ideal location - small town and supermarkets only minutes down the road. Also perfect for visiting Lands End, Lizard point and Loe pool.
Andrew and Anthony made us feel so welcome. The facilities were great. We have absolutely nothing negative to say. So happy and hope to return. :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The facilities - the sofa was amazing!
Liked least: It was all amazing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jan 2015
Thanks for your lovely review, we look forward to seeing you again sometime. A&A
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing