We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Motel not Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Heritage House Hotel
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Hyannis
belfast
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Motel not Hotel”
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Free Parking and the location is good, Hotel in need of a facelift the staircases and firedoors at the end of the corridors more in keeping with a 1960s school building. Staff very friendly and helpful recommending restaurants and giving directions. Breakfast was fine but really more a Motel, Don't expect too much and you won't be disappointed. For what we paid it was good.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank festive_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    121
    123
    84
    71
See reviews for
130
155
18
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DE
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

This a motel. Don't be fooled, it's a motel. The rooms were only slightly larger than a typical holiday inn, and they are in desperate need of renovation. The bed was ~ 2ft off the floor ! The bathroom was dirty and the fixtures were worn. I was disgusted by the lack of cleaning by housekeeping.
Service in this place is awful. The bell hop doubles as the bus boy and waiter at the one and only restaurant. The food was tasty, but the staff was so rude, I walked out one day. We were traveling with a tour group. Breakfast buffet was provided every morning, but there was apparently a policy that 4oz of juice was the limit for each patron, because when I asked for more juice, I was told that I had had all the juice that I was permitted to have for breakfast....that's when I walked out!
Please stay elsewhere. I certainly will the next time I visit Hyannis.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WorldTraveler89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

+free parking
+location: on the main street
-It's a bit old: rooms & hotel
-no wifi in room

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rdrummen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york
Level Contributor
126 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

Not what we expected at all after seeing the website. Built at the end of the 60s and is still there! Reception not very friendly or helpful except at one point on the 2nd day when they printed a driving route to New York for us. Asked about breakfast - "yes, we serve breakfast". No more info - had to drag bits out of them. Asked about evening meals - no the restaurant only opens Fri and Sat eve. But each evening they were providing meals for coach parties. We probably wouldn't have eaten there as there is loads within walking distance down Main St (though avoid Schooners - see review) and lots more a short drive away. Because of the attitude etc we decided to have breakfast out and found a good place almost next door (Persy's Place) and one across the road. Rooms - spacious, dated, bed the least comfortable of any we've had during this holiday. Bathroom cramped and needs modernising. Reception smells of chlorine from the pool (pool looked quite nice). Wi-fi, as a previous person has said, only available in reception. Reception consists of a few chairs. Website says also available in dining areas but told we couldn't go in there!
Not a hotel we'd go back to or would recommend - I'd class it as a motel.

Room Tip: I think they're all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mirandayork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hyannis hotels

suburban Phila
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Called for reservations this summer and spoke to a young man whose command of English was iffy and reserved what seemed to be a suite for the family at what seemed to be a decent price. On the way to the hotel that evening, I realized we were running quite late and so telephoned the hotel to confirm that we wouldn't be arriving for another few hours; the young woman who answered told us not to worry.
When we arrived at 11:30 or so to check in I was told that we, or at least part of our party had already done so, which was impossible since we were all together. The rooms had been given to someone else (whose name, by the way, bore no resemblance to ours). And it turned out that the suite we had reserved did not exist either, and the price we had been quoted referred to one room, not the total. Close to an hour followed while one man behind the counter retreated to an office where we could hear him make calls to other management, while a another man (foreign, much younger) who obviously had less authority stood by uncomfortably and waited for orders.
Finally, way past midnight, we were able to get the first man to emerge from the office and were given two rooms in two separate buildings for the price we had originally been quoted, although he was quite obviously angry with us for insisting on paying that price. I never saw the rooms in the main building and so cannot comment on them, but the rooms in the motel-like buildings in the parking lot were fairly large, plain, motel-like and decently clean. The price for the rooms is clearly based on the location of the hotel and the fact that it was high season on the Cape - they were not high-end rooms.
Encounters with staff - not the same as the night before - the next day were pleasant enough. The management apparently hires young Europeans for the summer, some of whom do not have the requisite language skills or sufficient knowledge of the area to be of help (we overheard one young clerk tell a guest a driving time to Provincetown that was way off, especially for a Saturday). In the worst cases, like ours, the miscommunication makes for exhausted guests and angry staff.
Great location if you need access to the ferries, however!

Room Tip: Reviewers seem to like rooms in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SomewhatSelective
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyannis
0.5 km away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
0.8 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Cod - Hyannis
2.0 km away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
SeaCoast Inn
SeaCoast Inn
#3 of 22 in Hyannis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
3.0 km away
Holiday Inn Hyannis
Holiday Inn Hyannis
#8 of 22 in Hyannis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
1.4 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage House Hotel

Property: Heritage House Hotel
Address: 259 Main St, Hyannis, MA 02601-4095
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Hyannis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Hyannis
Price range (per night): $114 - $295
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Heritage House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heritage House Hotel is Cape Cod's first Solar Powered Hotel, we are making a constant effort toward greener business practices. We are conveniently located one block from Hyannis Harbor, which is the departure point for the Martha's Vineyard, Nantucket, and Whale Watch Ferries. While at the property explore Main Street Waterfront District, offering antique shops, galleries, kayak and bike rentals, dancing, dinning, and live entertainment. We are located directly across from the Regional Transportation Center and Train- Home of Boston's Cape Cod Flyer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Otel, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heritage House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hotel Hyannis
Heritage House Hyannis
Heritage House Hotel Hyannis, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing