We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely property but not the "real" Cape”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wequassett Resort and Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Harwich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We booked an overnight getaway for my husband's birthday. While the property is lovely, overlooking Pleasant Bay, it felt a bit corporate and not quite like the "real" Cape. We booked an off-season rate and arrived on a rainy Friday night. Check in was prompt, and when we asked about the possibility of an upgrade, the manager dismissively told us it would be an additional $300 per night (which we did not take).

Our "Garden View" room was a fairly average hotel room with a small deck overlooking the parking lot towards the road (hence, no garden). Our room had a shared door which presented an issue at 11pm when a group came in next door, and we could hear their conversations perfectly clearly as if they had entered our room. It was quite disconcerting, but we were moved into another room quickly. I recommend the end units for more quiet and privacy if you are not traveling as part of a group.

Positives:
Aside from the initial encounter of the manager, the staff we encountered was genuinely professional, helpful, and courteous. The weather was not great, but we were able to swim in the heated outdoor adult lap pool, which was fantastic. The location and grounds are very well kept - tulips everywhere and even bunnies chasing each other seemed like part of the scenery. We did not use the mini-bar in the room, but the prices seemed reasonable. We also liked the Molton Brown bath products.

The main pool was open, but it was too cold for swimming. The outdoor bar (near the firepit) was not open, but I'm sure it would be nice in warmer weather as it overlooks the water.

We ate at 28 Atlantic for dinner and breakfast. Dinner was very expensive, but it was a terrific dining experience with a beautiful view and a gracious waiter. Breakfast was overpriced (for eggs), but still a pleasant experience and it was nice not to get in the car.

Negatives:
Sound really carries between rooms with shared doors. If that is an issue, request an end unit. Even at an off-season rate, my husband and I thought it was a bit pricey for what you get.

Room Tip: End units without shared doors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fotocoquine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JosetteWillis, Manager at Wequassett Resort and Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2012

Thank you for your balanced feedback following your recent stay at the resort. I was delighted to hear that we exceeded your expectations on a few aspects of your stay and that you were able to enjoy some of the services and amenities the resort has to offer, in particular your dining experience at our signature restaurant, twenty-eight Atlantic.

I was disappointed to hear that you did not share the opinion of some of our other guests regarding the resort offering an authentic Cape Cod experience. In addition, it was unfortunate to learn that we lost a golden opportunity to upgrade you during this special birthday celebration.

I would welcome the opportunity to speak with you, so that we may personally discuss all aspects of your stay. Please feel free to contact me at 508-430-3024. Thank you once again for your valuable feedback; it's feedback like yours that aspires us to improve.

Best regards,

Josette Cristalli Willis
Director of Quality Assurance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (741)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

485 - 489 of 741 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2012

This lovely Inn on Cape Cod, Mass. has the most comfortable beds I've ever experienced in a hotel.

Room Tip: Water view is best, but all rooms are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M O D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

The grounds are beautiful and well kept, as are the rooms and lobby. The location is excellent--basically midway between the lower and upper Cape, and very near Chatham. I wish it was warmer as I would have greatly enjoyed the beautiful pool and ocean. And the fire pit and pool bar is perfect for a night cap with friends. While the beds were extremely comfortable, the pillows were small and very soft, which proved very uncomfortable for my neck. The only other negative was the plumbing, which was noisy. On the whole, I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank terryfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

The staff is very helpful and accommodating. It is right on the water and has amazing views. The food is perfection. Can't say enough about it, worth every penny!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABrad05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Luxurious, great views, fine food, secluded from the hustle and bustle. Get an ocean view if you can.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EagleEyeBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harwich
7.4 km away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
6 km away
Chatham Inn At 359 Main
1.4 km away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
40 km away
Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa
24.6 km away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
1,140 reviews
5.4 km away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wequassett Resort and Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wequassett Resort and Golf Club

Address: 2173 Route 28, Harwich, MA 02645-1550
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Harwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Harwich
Price Range: $397 - $1,329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wequassett Resort and Golf Club 4.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Wequassett Resort and Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wequassett Resort And Golf Club Hotel Harwich
Wequassett Hotel Chatham
Wequassett Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing