We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice hotel in area with not much else” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Hadley Amherst

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Hadley
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in area with not much else”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

I was greeted warmly by the staff. Off the lobby is the dining area with soft chairs that add more comfort level than the basic hard wood chairs. They also have a bar area too which is nice when you are with a large group. The breakfast options were extensive. A chef was on hand to make eggs and I believe waffles. Unfortunately I was on the go every morning and wished they had granola bars or something to grab and go. My room was spacious but a big hang up for me was a lack of a bench or suitcase valet. I could not find one so used the extra table under the desk to set my suitcase on. The tv was also on the side wall and not in front of the bed. Those stiff couches they show on their site are like sitting on a board. I'm not curling up and watching tv on one of them.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blogtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    72
    16
    3
    0
See reviews for
92
31
8
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

I stayed here as part of a business trip, which covered the costs, so I cannot comment about the price. However, for a work-related trip, this hotel was ideal--big rooms, comfortable beds, and friendly staff. The building is somewhat mundane in its architecture, and the decor in the rooms generic, but it was not so much of a negative. The staff at the front desk were very helpful and accommodating, and you never felt like you were inconveniencing them when you had a question for them. One minor thing was that at checkout I did have to wait a few minutes before someone appeared at the desk.

Breakfast is not included in the rate, which is a downside for business travel, but there is a restaurant. Unfortunately there is no quick-and-cheap breakfast stand (coffee and bagels).

If you have a car, the hotel is located close to the university (UMass) and also to Northampton, but accessing these places without a vehicle is somewhat difficult.

If I had to return for a business trip, this hotel is worth visiting again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tesseract68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hempstead, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

I've stayed at this property numerous times and have always had an enjoyable experience. Unfortunately, my visit this time was influenced by the fact that the fitness center was in a state of disrepair. Of the two treadmills, one was out of order and the other would not keep track of how long or how far you had run. The stationary bike was also not functioning at 100%. Keeping the fitness center "up and running" is an expectation when I stay at a Marriott property. Unfortunately, during this visit, my expectation was not met :(

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarriottMadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Milford, CT
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

we were here for a girls LAX tournament July 15 - 17, from the moment we checked in to the last moment we left we were impressed withe the staff and management. These folks get it and they show it in all they do. I have found in many hotels during our travels that the word heard most from staff when asked a question is "NO". When you asked a question of anyone at this hotel they would answer with "yes sir it would be my pleasure" This a not lip service, it was sincere and followed up. If you are visiting kids at UMASS you could not stay any closer. The hotel in all was very nice and well maintained however the staff made our stay. Marriott cooperate if you are listening reach out to these folks and tell them how a great a job they are doing.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed_Papazian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

Stayed here because our meeting hotel (Hotel Northampton) filled before we could make a reservation and they (Hotel Northampton) recommended this property since we were traveling with children. They couldn't have made a better recommendation -- though the distance from this hotel to our meetings at Smith College and Holyoke were a little surprising! (Remember that the beauty of Western Massachusetts is the rural feel -- mostly two lane roads so travel takes a little longer.)

This Courtyard is wonderfully clean, well-staffed by energetic young people, and very quiet despite being full and hosting both a wedding and a large quincenera party during our stay. Our corner king room was HUGE and the staff handled several special room requests with lightning speed/efficiency. Our only room complaint: the foldout sofabed was torturous - neither of our children (who are experienced tent campers accustomed to sleeping on the ground) could put up with being draped over that demon support beam under the middle of the bed. A rollaway was delivered quickly.

Breakfast was quite adequate and the lobby lounge area with computers, a bar and lots of comfy furniture really make the hotel welcoming. The exercise room was well-equipped and the small pool sufficient -- though the pH seemed a little out of whack during our stay. (Lots of red eyes!)

All in all a lovely newer property eager to please guests of all ages!

Room Tip: Corner king rooms are massive here -- if you need elbow room, a wonderful choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4BaySailors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hadley
0.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
6.1 km away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
3.4 km away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Springfield Northampton/Amherst
3.2 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Hadley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.4 km away
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Hadley Amherst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Hadley Amherst

Property: Courtyard Hadley Amherst
Address: 423 Russell St, Hadley, MA 01035-9578
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Hadley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Hadley
Price range (per night): $200 - $298
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Hadley Amherst 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Platinum award winning facility. Where modern conveniences such as 30 meg high speed internet make both visits for pleasure and work more enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Expedia APAC so you can book your Courtyard Hadley Amherst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Hadley Amherst Hotel Hadley
Hadley Marriott
Hadley Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing