We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“New England Charmer”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Gloucester, Cape Ann, Massachusetts

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Glay W
1 review
“New England Charmer”
Reviewed 25 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We recently stayed at Summerwind Cottage in Gloucester MA. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The decor was wonderfully New England cottage. The living area was cozy with lots of comfortable seating, cable tv and books for rainy days. The kitchen was well equiped with modern appliances, pots, pans, and tableware. Our bed was great - no morning backache. A real plus was the view of the working harbor from the large deck and from the rocker through the sliding door. The location is ideal for travel around the area and to shopping and restaurants. We highly recommend this property. We rent a number of homes each year for short vacations. This is one of the best.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthWest...
South West
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A little bit of heaven”
Reviewed 23 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We have just returned from Summerwind Cottage, it is just beautiful. I can honestly say it is the nicest, best equipped place we have ever stayed in. Fantastic layout and the view from the terrace over the harbour is lovely.

You feel you could move in permanently, and it feels like home the moment you step through the door. Spotlessly clean, comfortable and amazingly well equipped. Some rentals give you the minimum because they know you will be eating out, Summerwind is better kitted out than my own kitchen. It also has a utility room in the basement.

Make sure you have it on SatNav as it was a bugger to find first time in the dark, it is tucked away at the end of a road which is great as it is very quiet. You need to climb a small set of stairs to access the apartment but once inside its all one level.

Owner has redesigned the rental and she has very good taste, it's light and airy and modern but doesn't feel like a show home. The weather has been unseasonably warm for October and the cottage contained beach towels, a cool bag and chairs for the beach we couldn't have asked for more.

The owners are lovely friendly people. They give you space and privacy but you know that should there be a problem you can just ask and they will help.

Gloucester is a nice town, especially if you are a bit arty. We also enjoyed Manchester by the Sea which is quite posh and loads of other little towns. If you like pottering about, good beaches, good food and exploring, then coming home to put your feet up in stylish comfort, this is the one for you. I'm not the worlds best at photos but these might give you an idea of what you can expect.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2016
Thank you so much for the kind words and wonderfully descriptive review of the cottage and the surrounding area. It makes us very happy to hear that you were comfortable and enjoyed all of the amenities provided, we do our utmost to give our guests the best possible experience. It was a great pleasure meeting you both and hope you will return one day to our beautiful shores!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katharine...
Syracuse, New York
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“This is a great cottage !”
Reviewed 30 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The owners Linda and Hank are really nice folks and very responsive.
We loved this cottage especially the deck and the living spaces are nicely decorated and very comfortable.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill M
1 review
“Even the teenage boys asked to return to Summerwind”
Reviewed 29 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We had such a great experience staying at Summerwind two years ago that we recently returned. With three teenage boys we found it extremely convenient to have boogie boards, beach chairs, towels and cooler all there for us to use. We took every chance we had to go to the beach, which is minutes away.

We had everything we needed to host family and friends for cookouts and lobster on a deck with a beautiful view of the harbor. We will return to Gloucester in years to come and hope to stay at Summerwind when we do.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2016
So happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our cottage again this year... especially the teenagers!!! Now that's a compliment. You are such great guests - it's always a pleasure to host you.

Thanks for a great review,
Linda & Hank
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara J
1 review
“Exceeded our expectations”
Reviewed 21 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Summerwind Cottage is an absolute jewel! We loved the beautiful, artistic decor, and our hosts, Linda and Hank are just the best. Linda's suggestions were all fantastic. We fell in love with Cape Ann and are already dreaming of returning.
Barbara, Rahel and Louise

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing