We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (213)
Filter reviews
213 results
Traveller rating
175
29
3
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
175
29
3
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ownercayo arenainfinity poolsanto domingopublic beachbeach frontwhite sandbeautiful placeearly in the morningbeautiful viewlounge chairsexcellent stayboat tourrestaurant servesboutique hotelmany placesper night
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 213 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2018

no words to describe our stay...
If you want rustic chic, with calm and a real touch of exclusive this is it...
wonderful stay, the best staff ever...Just wish we could take Anthony home with us.. from the day before our check in he called us and introduced himself, gave us tips and was always trying to serve and make our stay memorable..
Rooms are super clean...wifi works
as for the room:
AC worked perfectly, no bugs, nice linens and toiletries, great towels..
Breakfast was included in our package and was very nice...they have 3 options: dominican, american and continental... all good... their passion fruit juice is the best!
They also arranged for a boat tour for us to cayo arena... on time, it's a must.. beautiful place, lots of fish and clear waters.. on the way back toured the mangles..
Check in and check out were a breeze...
Nearby you can also visit la ensenada a public beach that is just beautiful...
Our loved this place and the infinity pool...
if you have toddlers the beach is perfect since it's super cleaqr and shallow
Not one complaint... just loved it and will return for sure!

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willy P, Director General at Punta Rucia Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2018

Dear Yvette R

On behalf of all our staff let me express our gratitude for choosing us as their home away from home and giving us the opportunity to serve you with the highest esteem that we always express to all our guests.
Thank you very much for your comment, know that this experience lived by you here with us is what makes us get up every day with pleasure to live a new day of service in favor of our guests and provide each day a different memorable experience that invites you to live again experiences like this with us.
Thank you for letting know to the world with your comment that here we have a heavenly place called Punta Rucia Lodge where you felt pleasantly happy and where there are people waiting to provide the same human warmth given to you.

Your beautiful words will come to Anthony and all our staff.

Thank you very much!

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

Great place for getting away from the noise and rush of the cities. A calm eco oriented boutique hotel in front of a gorgeous bay. Great for family or couple vacation. The rooms are confortable and well maintained. The swimming pool and the beach area are very nice. The restaurant serves international food with a good quality to price ratio.
The manatee Sanctuary located very close is a place to be visited next time
In all, a gem to be discovered !

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
2  Thank Carlos E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willy P, Director General at Punta Rucia Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

Hello, Mr. Carlos E.
Thank you very much for your kind comment on our property, we are really grateful that you lived a nice experience here with us and above all have fulfilled your expectations. That commits us every day to continue taking care of all our details to maintain the quality of our service for all our future visitors and that in this way as you also live a memorable experience, worth remembering and invite you to come back with us.
Thanks for choose Punta Rucia Lodge!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2018 via mobile

Punta Rucia gives access to Cayo Arena for the best snorkeling I ever did (in the only coral of DR). It is a quiet place, not very developed yet, close to the Monet Cristi national park (mangrove). I fear in 10 years Punta Rucia will be more large-scale. The north west region of DR has infrastructural problems still (eg 6 hours electricity per day). Punta Rucia Lodge isolates you from that, with its own infrastructure (generator). This is of course expensive and the place seemed a bit to empty to be rentable. We were looking for quiet so really enjoyed that. But in order for this paradise not to go belly up, I figured to write this review to stimulate you to visit it. It has a really nice beach (kayaking possible), with pier (saw crabs and fish from there) and swimming pool (picture) with nice cocktails. International cuisine and stylish bungalows. It was all excellent, would recommend anyone a visit.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffpuntarucialodge, Propriétaire at Punta Rucia Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2018

Thank you for your good comment. Yes Punta Rucia Lodge offers incredible attractions in this unspoilt nature or we try every day to enjoy the local atmosphere and really different from the Dominican Republic.
The lack of water, no electricity 24 hours, no wired telphone and a terrible road do not help us but we are doing everything we can and at a cost to give maximum comfort to our customers. It's a pleasure to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018

We really enjoyed our stay. The staff was very nice and friendly. The beach is beautiful. Having the freedom of a rental car was a plus for us who like to explore freely. We would have not liked just depending on everything through the hotel. Punta Rucia is a VERY small town so we enjoyed exploring other beaches.Things to improve: More consistency in the kitchen, a little more variety in the menu. I found few things I really liked and the same dish was cooked differently the three times I ordered it (goat dish). The three versions were ok. I found a little resistance in providing orange juice for breakfast, they prefer if you choose another fruit juice they offer which is nice but has sugar in it. They only offer white bread. The bed was hard for me. I had to place bed spreads underneath the sheet to make if softer. It seems other people thought the same. My husband was ok with it. It could be fixed by ordering mattress toppers. Otherwise the rooms are very nice. Another suggestion is to provide good maps with enough detail via email before you arrive in DR, as they should not assume we will have a working phone with GPS. I even requested it ahead of time and a very generic google maps screen shot was sent. My husband printed a bunch of google maps screens that he created himself, but the level of detail needed was not there. We went through very small towns. It took us more than 3 hrs to get there because signage is poor. It should have been only 2hrs and 15 minutes from the airport. Once there, they could not provide a paper map to explore the area.

Room Tip: 1st and second row are best
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Silvana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2018 via mobile

PRL is a very relaxing and quiet place to spend a couple of nights out of Santo Domingo.

The staff is the friendliest I have seen.

Beautiful Cayo Arena a short 15 min boat ride. Best on a Friday, weekends is impossible.

Congrats to everyone at PRL

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank abonas2407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffpuntarucialodge, Directeur général at Punta Rucia Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Thank you for your good comment. We are delighted that you had a good stay in our wonderful environment.
We try with our teams to give the best for the comfort and satisfaction of our customers and we try to always correct our imperfections.
We look forward to seeing you again at Punta Rucia Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews