We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“C’est La Vie!”
Review of l'etoile

l'etoile
Ranked #1 of 70 Restaurants in Edgartown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 0 - USD 50
Cuisines: American, French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Located in the heart of downtown Edgartown, l'etoile offers a casually elegant dining and bar experience l'étoile is a vibrant modern restaurant located in a restored historic whaling captain's house on the island of Martha's Vineyard. Chef-owned & operated, our focus is on guest satisfaction. We offer an inventive, fresh, seasonally-driven menu along with similar lighter fare in the bar. dine in our contemporary, casually elegant dining rooms or outdoors on our festive tented patio. bar-l'étoile is a stylishly intimate and vibrant destination to enjoy a "Startini" or one of our many specialty cocktails or one of 18 wines by the glass before or after dinner. A seat at the lively bar or at your own high-top table - or the porch and adirondack chairs on the lawn in the summer - are the perfect place to have a drink, a relaxed meal or or small plate from the eclectic bar bites menu. our full dinner menu is also offered in the bar.
Reviewed 2 November 2018

My husband and I travel to Martha’s Vineyard once a year. We try to experience a new restaurant one evening and venture to our favorites we have been to throughout the years. I had chosen l’etoile for its beautiful outdoor ambiance, reviews and menu in general.
Our waitress was very pleasant and attentive. We had ordered cocktails; my husband a crown Manhatten and myself a dirty martini. Needless to say it was quite apparent the cocktails were watered down. By no means were we looking to become intoxicated, however at $17.00 a glass I prefer to taste my vodka over tasting water. My husband sent back his drink to be re-made because it tasted as though southern comfort had been added, which he does not care for. Our waitress brought over his drink & had mentioned they don’t stock southern comfort in their bar, yet his 2nd drink tasted no better.
Although our meals weren’t awful, they didn’t leave any extraordinary impression to our palate that made us crave for more or a need to return. They were mediocre @ best, and a bit on the bland side.
Our crepes for dessert were tasty, but again nothing overly impressive.
I truly wish our experience could have been one to rave about, especially for the extremely ritzy cost of it all, but C’est La Vie. You never know unless you try it!

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ROCKSTARCHEF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 381 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2018

This did not live up to expectations at all. Service was excellent, but the place was extremely noisy. We asked to be moved to a quieter table, and they accommodated, but the new room was not really any better. They apologized and said it was not normally so noisy.... but it was for us that night...

The food is extremely expensive, yet was just OK. Nothing to complain about, but nothing special either. We have had several better meals in our last few weeks in New England. This is not a place I would return to.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MindStorm00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018

Second great meal here in as many summers. The only thing I will say is that this year the service was much more casual which we didn't care for when its supposed to be a formal restaurant. They did add in a very lively bar at the back of the restaurant. I'd definitely check it out, one of the best in Edgartown.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DinedThereSippedThat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

The restaurant is well appointed in Edgartown and has an attractive exterior. It purports to offer a fine dining experience but, by European standards, has several major short comings.

The fine exterior is not mirrored by the interior decoration which is austere and functional.

Service is brisk, efficient and joyless. Although the place was nearly empty when we were there staff behaved as though there was a line of people waiting outside to be fed. The second we were seated we were given menus and asked for a drinks order, we hadn’t even had time to consider the menu or what aperitifs were on offer. We asked for more time and the waitress returned in about 3 minutes.

The minute we put our knives and forks down the plate was whisked away and the next course arrived. We tried to slow things down by eating slowly which simply caused staff to keep walking past looking at our plates.

As soon as we said we didn’t want dessert the bill was delivered to our table. We still had plenty of wine to finish.

I felt very sorry for the young couple celebrating their wedding anniversary at a nearby table. They were rushed through their very expensive meal and were out the door in 60 minutes. They clearly didn’t enjoy the experience.

The bread wasn’t fresh and many of the dishes were obviously part pre-prepared.

Go to Garde East in Vineyard Haven where the service is superior, the decor more appealing and each component of every dish tastes fresh.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Annerly777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018 via mobile

This is a place you can count on! The entire experience was wonderful!
We called TWICE to push back our reservation and we were beyond accommodated. We were greated by a familiar hostess (She's been here 10 years, that says alot ). Super friendly and a great smile. We were sat right away, and immediately greated by the nicest server. She offered us either sparkling water or tap, we choose one of both. The next young gentlemen who approached us was SUPER friendly, asked if we would care for a cocktail and made great suggestions on the wine list. We ordered a wonderful bottle or red wine, which came very quickly. The menu selection had something for everyone, if you cant find something here you like I would be surprised. We started with appetizers. The oysters two ways and the cheese selection..both delish, full of flavor and more then enough. They came quickly as well and were great. For our main meals we had the surf and turf and the lamb..WONDERFUL. Cooked to perfection. Our table was checked on several times throughout both courses. When it came time for dessert we asked our server his favorite choice, he told us the peanut butter dessert was very popular but, he preferred the crepes. So glad we listened to his choice, I NEVER would have tried crepes...they were light and thin and filled with wonderful fruit. The plate also had a large portion of a wonderful creme and raspberry drizzle..WINNER! AFTER dinner we joined the bar, as we had a bit of wine left over..Just when you thought the night couldnt get better it Did! The bar is newly remodeled, it was beautiful. The bar staff was awesome, friendly, and down to earth. We were very comfortable, and enjoyed a few more cocktails.
We have returned to this restaurant over many years, gotta say each visit better then the last. For the great food, and great service I beg one to complain about the cost, return trip a must! It surpasses it's reputation...THANKS FOR A GREAT EXPERIENCE.

Date of visit: October 2018
3  Thank Anne-marie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed l'etoile also viewed

 
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to l'etoile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing