We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Martha’s Vineyard Restaurant”
Review of The Port Hunter

The Port Hunter
Ranked #6 of 70 Restaurants in Edgartown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 5 November 2018 via mobile

Visiting Edgartown in late October means many restaurants are closed for the season, so we were pleasantly surprised to find The Port Hunter still open and serving delicious food in a relaxed and fun atmosphere. Service was good and the food very tasty. It’s closed now until spring so check their website for opening. And do book or arrive early for the best chance of a table.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank KWF123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2018

Search no longer! We have NEVER been disappointed @ the Port Hunter! Skip the overpriced “fine dining” traps. We have found the Port Hunter to be just what we were searching for. Casual upscale dining WORTH the cost! We will return year after year to this fine establishment.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank ROCKSTARCHEF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2018

Had been told by several folks over the summer that the Port Hunter was the place to go. Now that the crowds have subsided, we decided to give it a try..and we're glad we did. Service was excellent, comfortable setting, very informal with a nice vibe that got better as the evening went on. The food was very good. We opted for sharing small plates, calamari, fao buns, beet salad, kale salad...all very good, and the chocolate fudge cake with ice cream dessert was sinfully good.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank chuckiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2018 via mobile

Apparently this is “the place” to go for the top live entertainment. We had a great time as a few couples here after dinner. Was very crowded, standing room only. The band was very good.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank jwhuntley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018

Sometimes I read other peoples reviews and wonder if we ate in the same place. rjg3520 says they went on a weekend, it was busy but the host offered nothing more after they were informed they would have to wait an hour to sit. What more did rjg want? Hand holding and a puppy?
Go RIGHT when they OPEN to have any hope of conversation. After about 6:15 the music blasts SO LOUDLY you can only see peoples lips move. To me thats not lively, its torture.
BUT the food is really good despite the clamor. We have been many times and the food and service has always been excellent. Try the Duck Wings, Buffalo Brussels and fresh local fish of any kind. Right on Main Street, can't miss it. The downtown is only 3 blocks long.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kathryn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Port Hunter also viewed

Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
 
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to The Port Hunter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing