We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High end shop with poor seevixe”
Review of Black Sheep

Black Sheep
Ranked #27 of 70 Restaurants in Edgartown
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 30 August 2018 via mobile

We stopped by for lunch and picked up a sandwich, spreads, slaw, chicken salad and other little items. A definite high end vineyard shop with beautiful gifts and accessories in addition to food. Prices are through the roof, which can be expected on the vineyard but then the service should be good or at least pleasant. While the food was pretty good, nothing special, the two employees we interacted with were less than friendly. The one at the deli was doing his job, no hello, how can I help, etc. the women at the register seemed to expect me to bag my own food and she didn’t even say thank you for the purchase. Snooty, not worth the $$. Better options in Edgartown.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank HBerke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2018

Beach days on the Vineyard deserve amazing picnics to fuel them with and Black Sheep looked liked a pretty safe bet. Tucked away down a side street off of Edgartown's main drag, this place is charming looking from the outside, stylish & modern inside and has a good choice of pastries, cheeses, salads & sandwiches...however the one thing missing for me - especially when compared to other local places for takeaway treats such as the marvellous Rosewater Market and the gorgeous Behind the Bookstore - was warmth & atmosphere.

Salads & sandwiches are kept in the fridges at the back - no problem unless someone is filling them and reluctant to move so you can peek inside. There were no other customers inside despite Edgartown itself being busy outside so it was hard to gauge if this was a local hotspot as other reviews would suggest. Staff were courteous as opposed to friendly and I left feeling in no real hurry to return.

Don't get me wrong, the food was delicious and the main reason for this 4 star review. Not cheap but generously portioned, superb quality and full of flavour - bearnaise aioli is a work of absolute genius! -it was perfect picnic fare for the sandy dunes of nearby State Beach but I'm afraid this was a one-visit sort of place unlike other local gems where I became (and felt treated like) an appreciated regular for my stay on the island.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AlexandraL23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

I always enjoy stopping by to see what specialty items they have. I bought a wonderful piece of parmesan and some very good brie this trip.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Pamela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

Just discovered this little gem in Edgartown. Marvelous cheeses, meats, fresh baked breads and desserts. Everything you need for an amazing picnic on one of the scenic beaches on the Vineyard. I can personally recommend the scones, baguettes, fresh salad, and salami (yummy!).

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank patL7214OK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018

Not the same old choices Very creative fresh and tasty too!
Off the beaten track and a refreshing change.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank topsil12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Sheep also viewed

Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to Black Sheep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing