We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Hob Knob
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Harborside Inn(Edgartown)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbor Landing(Vineyard Haven)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nashua House Hotel(Oak Bluffs)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Summercamp Hotel(Oak Bluffs)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vineyard Harbor Motel(Vineyard Haven)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mansion House(Vineyard Haven)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (572)
Filter reviews
572 results
Traveller rating
480
61
17
6
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
480
61
17
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teasconesb bfarm to tablemartha's vineyardboutique hotelsteam showerbreakfast was deliciouswrap around porchwhite noise machineshort walkturn down servicesmall hotelthe location is perfectsitting roomcommon areasbike rentals
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
480 - 485 of 572 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2011

I have stayed (3) times at the Hob Knob. Love it. The Inn is beautifully decorated and designed. The breakfast is cooked to order and delicious. I have some wonderful memories of my time there.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SML53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

As New Englanders, we're a tough breed; we're not afraid of roughing it, but we like our creature comforts. The Hob Knob is a lovely little hotel / B&B in the heart of Edgartown, my top choice location to stay on island if you're looking for a romantic getaway, without being remote, by any stretch. You've got shopping and seashore vistas bikerides away for all adventures.

What we liked about the Hob Knob:

1. Quiet rooms, soundproofed floors and windows. Although small, they served their purpose and the beds were comfortable. Bathrooms were modern without being too cramped. They are a green-running operation, so unless you request it, your bedsheets will not be changed on a regular basis.

2. Terrifiic staff, eager to help. Friendly.

3. Full breakfasts and eggs/pancakes/french toast, or waffles to order daily. Outside seating (which we always selected) or interior.

4. Chairs (with back-pack style holders to take on your bike) and beachtowels available as well as onsite bikes are available if you don't have your own.

5. Friends visited us who live on island, and there is parking available for guests.

6. Lovely decor, and several sitting rooms if you wish to stay in during the off chance rainy day. (We were outside in all weather, however)

7. "Honor bar" for the welcome refreshment after a long ride (beer, wine) for $6-8.

8. A full workout facility in the basement, and an extra shower - so that when we checked out, we were able to have a full day and return to shower and pick up our bags!

9. Although we did not take advantage, The Hob Knob also boasts of a spa.

What we did not like so much:
1. Because it is Main Street, the buses run down here, and the sound of diesel engines were never far off. If you're enjoying your serene breakfast, the traffic sometimes dispelled that illusion. But I quibble.

We are active vacationers and took advantage of the extensive ferry system by biking over to Chappy several times to explore the more remote areas and beaches. Wonderful! If you're a bicyclist, MV is the place to go for relaxing long rides - we took a roundtrip out to Menemsha and enjoyed Lobsterville Beach (secluded) with a lovely lunch break roadside along the way back. A nice 45 mile r/t ride.

In summary, I highly recommend The Hob Knob if you're looking for the perfect getaway without being to 'far away' from any actitivies, restaurants, shopping, and you'd like a bit more elegance.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jlauftravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Loved this inn from the minute I walked in. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was decorated in a cute cottage style, but not over the top. The bathroom was small but this is an older home. I was amazed at the amount of indoor and outdoor common space for an inn of this size. There are 3 rooms inside (not counting dining area) where you can sit and relax. There is also a large wrap around porch where I chose to curl up with a book. There are about 8 parking spaces available in the back of the inn and we had no trouble finding a spot. The restaurant Atria is literally across the street. Would highly recommend as a nice place to relax and enjoy MV.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Okapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

This inn is well managed with careful attention to all details. This is our second time here and it has improved over the years. There are wonderful communal areas to enjoy which set this BB apart from the others on either the Vineyard or Nantucket. The large wraparound porch with lovely gardens and several interior rooms, all warm and very clean while keeping the classic details without being formal or stuffy. We relaxed as soon as we entered and felt at home right away. For an inn this size you rarely see a gym with high quality equipment, several daily newspapers, great coffee and breakfasts,use of beach chairs umbrellas, and an honor bar. The beds were very comfortable and we loved the addition of a refrigerator
In the room. The staff seemed to enjoy working here and provided great service. We had left some things in the room, they called our cells right away and offered to mail it to us.

Would highly recommend this inn for those that enjoy comfort in a beautiful and welcoming setting. We can't wait to return. Yes it is expensive but worth every cent!

Only complaint was the A/C at night not being cool enough and not being able to control the temperature in the room. We do understand that this is an old building but you forget that since everything appears new.

Heard JFK stayed here.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Great location, short walk to town. Tastefully decorated, not overly fancy. Everyone at the front desk was very helpful and nice. Room was an okay size, definitely ask to be on 2nd floor or above, the downstairs hallways were loud. Breakfast was great with a made to order meal from a menu, although the service was lacking a bit with the young staff. The coffee was outstanding! Beach chairs and towels were provided for our beach outings. I would stay again if we headed back to the island.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EvangelineMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews