We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (284)
Filter reviews
284 results
Traveller rating
106
83
61
15
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
106
83
61
15
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bike trail cape cod restaurant next door great breakfast buffet room was clean nice pool would stay here again fresh paint plenty of hot water mini fridge picnic tables coffee maker p town national seashore fire pit off season laura
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 284 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2017

The Blue Dolphin has become our new favorite, affordable lodging for our regular trips to the Outer Cape. We had an ample-sized room with two very comfortable double beds, a quiet reliable AC unit, and a serviceable if not fancy bathroom with plenty of hot water. We like to hang out at the pool for an hour or so after returning from the beach or sightseeing in the afternoon. All at a decent nightly rate. Breakfast is conveniently available next door (by foot) at Laura and Tony's Kitchen (a separate, independent facility). The motel is located right on Route 6 within a short drive of our favorite National Seashore beaches, nearby Wellfleet and Orleans restaurants, and Provincetown attractions. This was our second stay at the Blue Dolphin this summer, and we plan to return.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms 130-140, on the quieter side of the facility.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CapeCodgirl71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluedolphininn, General Manager at Blue Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Blue Dolphin Inn!

Thank you very much for taking time to share your experience on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us.

We were delighted to read through your wonderful comments. Our team is always dedicated to provide the best hospitality we offer our guests for a comfortable and memorable stay and we will not miss to share these thoughts with our team.

We certainly look forward to welcome you back in the future, to experience even more of what we have to offer.

Sincerely,
Management
Blue Dolphin Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

I chose this motel based on the 4-star rating and reviews on Tripadvisor, and was disappointed. The 4 star accommodations I have stayed in previously have tended to be a cut above this property. The motel needs updating and has a slightly rundown feel to it. It could be very nice though with some TLC. The first room I was assigned had a strong smell of mold, but I was moved to another room which was fine. The room furnishings were a bit shabby. Cleanliness was average, neither spotless nor dirty. In its favor, the room was well-appointed for what I would consider a budget motel. It had a microwave, small fridge and coffee maker, TV, small table with 2 chairs, 2 queen beds, and a built-in bench to hold bags. The motel has a pool and each room has a private attached patio, but it was cool when we were there and we did not use either. One bright spot was the restaurant next door, Laura and Tony's, which makes a great breakfast. Overall, I can't give this motel a 4 because it needs TLC and some updating, but it still may be a good option for budget travelers and maybe families with kids.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank GreentreeMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluedolphininn, Owner at Blue Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us.

Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests and for that please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you have experienced and if our hotel fell below your expectations in many aspects. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope that we have the opportunity to serve you again in the future and show you just how much we care about delivering an above average experience.

Regards,
Management
Blue Dolphin Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

We've stayed at this hotel many times over the years because it's in a good location on the cape, friendly staff, management, and great price for the cape. Like most hotels it's easy to find something to complain about, but I can live with most things. But I have decided I am no longer going to expose myself to one of my worst fears just to save money, so this will be my last stay. Maybe cause I'm getting older, too? On this particular stay I was woken up by my husband killing a cricket that was on the side of the bed, on the blanket. At that point I had a hard time sleeping thinking about what else could be lurking. An hour later, I was woken up by loud chirping, which I initially thought was outside but later discovered it was another cricket inside. Anyway...3 spider kills later (one huge one on the shower curtain ), mosquitos and flies and I was ready to go home. Yes, there are also lots of cobwebs complete with dead carcasses. It's always been like this every time we've come here. I just can't take it anymore. I will say we have never come across bed bugs and we do check thoroughly. Also, for the most part there's little management can do about this. The Inn is in very shaded woods. Bugs love the woods. The room doors open to the outdoors which means bugs can easily come in when you open the door, and when housekeeping works on your room ( they leave the door open the whole time when they clean, which is very normal...but bugs will get in ). I've never had a room where the sliding glass door had a tight, sealed screen so I've never opened the back door. The front doors usually have a good size gap at the bottom where bugs can also get it. So, if you are like me and terrified of bugs but must stay here, maybe consider bringing bug spray, a dirt devil, put a towel under the front door, and if you have one hang the do not disturb sign on the door so no one leaves the door open when you're gone. Also, bring a flashlight in case you have to deal with a critter in the middle of the night. As for me I'm just too old to handle this anymore. But thanks management for the great stays over the years otherwise!!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank rtravlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluedolphininn, Owner at Blue Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us.

Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests and for that please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you have experienced and if our hotel fell below your expectations in many aspects. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope that we have the opportunity to serve you again in the future and show you just how much we care about delivering an above average experience.

Regards,
Management
Blue Dolphin Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017

The Blue Dolphin is in a great location convenient to many restaurants, beaches, and directly on the main road. The rooms were a good size and the beds and floor furnishings were clean and comfortable.
Some of the other amenities looked to be just put in haphazardly, a plywood luggage bench covered in carpet pieces with a microwave just put on top of it, the fridge was on the complete other side of the room, bathroom fittings that just didn't fit. Some rooms had chairs out in front and on the back patio others didn't, and there were some cobwebs in the corners and lights.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluedolphininn, Owner at Blue Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Blue Dolphin Inn!

Thank you very much for taking time to share your experience on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us.

We were delighted to read through your wonderful comments. Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests and for that please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you have experienced and if our hotel fell below your expectations in many aspects. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

We certainly look forward to welcome you back in the future, to experience even more of what we have to offer.

Sincerely,
Management
Blue Dolphin Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

We booked this hotel last minute due to a problem with another hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the room was basic but nice and clean. We didn't use the pool but it looked very nice as well. My only complaint is the height of the shower head in the bathroom. It should be very difficult for someone tall to be to get under the shower. We would stay again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Lina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluedolphininn, Owner at Blue Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Blue Dolphin Inn!

Thank you very much for taking time to share your experience on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us.

We were delighted to read through your wonderful comments. Our team is always dedicated to provide the best hospitality we offer our guests for a comfortable and memorable stay and we will not miss to share these thoughts with our team.

We certainly look forward to welcome you back in the future, to experience even more of what we have to offer.

Sincerely,
Management
Blue Dolphin Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews