We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (926)
Filter reviews
926 results
Traveller rating
730
147
32
12
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
730
147
32
12
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscarriage housenew englandhistoric townmain buildinga lovely staybreakfast was deliciousenjoyed our stayyankee candleroom was largeannextavernfireplaceweddingaccommodationsmassachusettsfurnishingshallway
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 926 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2018

You can walk to everything in Deerfield from the inn. The restaurant has good food, and the people are very nice. This is a very old inn filled with antiques. We enjoyed a very relaxing trip and dinner in the excellent restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mildred M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve P, Innkeeper at Deerfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Thank you for the great review of the restaurant and Inn. The street is one of a kind and a delightful place to get away from the hustle and bustle of every day, modern life.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018

My sister--in-law and I had a wonderful lunch at Deerfield Inn. It was quiet, elegant, and reasonably priced. The wait staff was most helpful, and the food was fresh and delicious. It was a great break in the day.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank Cathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve P, Innkeeper at Deerfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2018

We are so pleased that you and your sister-in-law enjoyed your lunch at the Deerfield Inn. Hope to see you agaib soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018 via mobile

This is a lovely inn that was rebuilt, after a fire many yrs ago. The huge expanse of white porch with rocking chairs, beckons you to sit and enjoy this little village. Rooms are clean, not huge but comfortable and you feel like you are, in fact stepping back in history. The staff is friendly. We ate at the bar and the bartender was distracted, coming & going constantly (????) which was puzzling because there was only one other couple sitting across from us and they left. He never asked if we wanted another drink, plopped our food down and “scurried off again for awhile”, presumably in the kitchen. I was perplexed for it wasn’t busy, we came at off hours to eat, after touring some of the houses surrounding this lovely Inn. We needed things in our rm so decided to grab a “quick bite” while we were there! There was nothing “quick or good about our experience at the bar.” He never returned to ask if we wanted to order sandwiches, entrees...nothing. No second drink either, just reappearing briefly off & on. My husband stopped me when I attempted to catch his attention again and said “Karen, let’s jump in the car and go grab a bite somewhere else( no other bar or restaurant in this old time village Ctr unfortunately) so we did. I went around the bar and got our check. He really was not a good bartender nor indicative of service we had received in past visits here! Normally Service and food is very good but.....” not that day, unfortunately.” The Inn itself, the dining room, the staff...everything here is really a joy. Eating in their restaurant is a pleasure and the meal we ate in May of 2018 was scrumptious! We had fresh cod, cooked perfectly ( moist) & service was good. On our overnight stay, described above, “this was not the case. We live very close by but love this Inn , have a membership with the museums and Old Deerfield itself, so come up very often! We have been coming here since the ‘70’s with our sons and now bring our grandsons with their parents. This is a lovely Inn and in excellent location to visit many area attractions! You must stay at this Inn to experience a small slice of history.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank PekepooEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve P, Innkeeper at Deerfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for the very detailed review of your visit here at the Inn and Champney's restaurant. I am very sorry to hear that you had a bad experience at the bar and you were not provided the service that you are accustomed to here at the Deerfield Inn.
I can only imagine that as you were here in between lunch and dinner the bar tender might have had to restock, but that is no excuse for inattentive or poor service.
All in all it sounds like you enjoyed the food and service in the past and I hope that your last experience doesnt deter you from patronizing us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2018


We were in the main section of the Inn and the room we had was beautiful, clean and very comfortable. Our only suggestion is to install grab bars in the spacious shower. Deerfield, the town, is lovely.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank hanklouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve P, INNKEEPER at Deerfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2018

That is a great suggestion and will follow up on it. Glad that you enjoyed the Inn and the Historic Village.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

Neat, clean, very quiet and restful. Restaurant was very good and employees were very friendly and helpful. Location was perfect to visit Historic Deerfield Village and surrounding attractions. Magic Wings Butterfly display is fantastic, as is The Yankee Candle Shop which is fantastic.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve P, Innkeeper at Deerfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Thank you for visiting Champney's Tavern at the Deerfield Inn and I am pleased to see that you took advantage of some of the other attractions in the area. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews