We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute little New England farm-style inn with good restaurant”
Review of Deerfield Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Deerfield Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Deerfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2017

There's nothing in Deerfield, literally, except the school and some historic homes. The Deerfield Inn is a cozy, New England farm-style inn, though, and it's a nice surprise. It's comfy, with a farm-style outbuilding and a quaint inn. The restaurant is the real surprise, though. The food is very tasty, very high quality. We visit Amherst College tomorrow, and this seems like the charming place to stay when in the region. No touch to do beyond visit schools and relax, though this inn is a great anchor for the region.

Room Tip: Large, dual queen rooms for those who need space.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MikeMcG2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve P, General Manager at Deerfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Inn. If you are looking for excitement there is always rafting on the Deerfield river or Zip lining with Zoar Outdoor. Or like you said just sit back and enjoy a nice cold beverage on the front portch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (838)
There are newer reviews for Deerfield Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 839 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2017 via mobile

Inn was beautiful and very clean
Restraunt was so bad I thought I thought they were playing a joke on me.

I hope they address this short coming soon. The food was supposed to be farm to table cooked to order. My chicken dish came out immediately and it was cold!

Breakfast the next day was horrible. The eggs on the English muffins were cold!

Very disappointed.

It is so close to my favorite trout spot!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank mma1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve P, General Manager at Deerfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

I am so sorry to hear that your restaurant experience was a disappointment. I have to admit that we do have a new breakfast cook and the issues you experienced have been addressed. As for the dinner I sincerely apologize that it was not to your liking and was served cold. Without comments from guests we can not address the issues. Thank you.
I do agree about the Trout spot. The Deerfield River has some of the best trout pools and riffs in the area. Hopefully you will try us again in the near future. Bring your fishing gear and I'll take you out on the river.
Steve Pardoe.
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

Very enjoyable stay. Room was lovely and very clean. Bath was a little small, but very clean. Had heated floor and heat lamp. Our air conditioner went out and we were immediately given a new room and a discount on our stay. Our dining room experience was very good. Excellent food and service. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve P, General Manager at Deerfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

So glad that we could accommodate you and address the problem of the a/c. Is nice to hear a positive review after resolving a problem. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

Located in Historic Deerfield this made for a good base to visit the local historical homes and buildings located along the same Old Main Street. Also, a good base for traveling around the local area which is very picturesque. Our room was comfortable. We ate dinner here and the food was good, but not memorable.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Abcme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve P, General Manager at Deerfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Glad you enjoyed your stay at the Inn but surprised to hear that you thought the food was not memorable. I hope that you can stay another time and give the restaurant another chance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

Went for our anniversary and was not disappointed. Lovely room and food here ! Servers were all excellent , bartender Tad was great . BED could of been more comfortable, and pillows flat but other than that , great

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jenniferkI9523PZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve P, General Manager at Deerfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Hello, Glad that you enjoyed your stay. Yes Tad the bartender is an assert. I am surprised to hear you comment about the pillows. We had a guest stay a month ago and said the pillows were too big and puffy. I did order some flat pillows to accommodate there needs. One of those pillows must have made it to your room. I will defiantly take a look at all the rooms.
Thank you for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deerfield
4.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenfield
21.2 km away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
23.3 km away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.6 km away
D. Hotel & Suites
D. Hotel & Suites
#2 of 5 in Holyoke
859 reviews
26.2 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Springfield Northampton/Amherst
18.5 km away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deerfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deerfield Inn

Address: 81 Old Main St, Deerfield, MA 01342-5005
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Deerfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Deerfield
Price Range: $385 - $474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Deerfield Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Deerfield Inn first opened in July 1884 while both a drought and grasshoppers were plaguing the village. Today we have 24 comfortable and pleasing guestrooms and farm-to-fork Champney's Restaurant & Tavern. We source locally, make our own infusions, support area microbrewers, and in our 131st year we remain the centerpiece of Old Deerfield, a National Historic Landmark, and a Select Registry Property. The Inn is located within walking distance of Deerfield Acadamy, Eaglebrook Scool and Bement school. It is close to the Amherst five college area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Deerfield Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deerfield Hotel Deerfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing