We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Captain R. Flanders' House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chilmark
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Captain R. Flanders' House
Ranked #1 of 2 Chilmark B&B and Inns
Cardiff
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2010

Having had a whirlwind trip around 6 cities in 9 days we arrived at Captain Flanders looking forward to 6 days of R & R. Our first impressions were good, it was set in beautiful, tranquil surroundings, a lake, deer, horses, geese. We thought we'd arrived in heaven. Unfortunately it wasn't quite as idyllic as we hoped.
Nobody was there to greet us, we were left a note. There were no facilities to make our selves a hot drink (we weren't allowed to use the whistling kettle on the stove for safety reasons, so why didn't they provide an electric kettle?). There were bottles of water in rooms when we arrived, but we had to ask for these to be replenished. We also had to ask for our bathroom to be cleaned on the 3rd day as it hadn't ben touched until then. Cleaning the rooms consisted solely of making the bed. The windows were propped open and couldn't be shut.
When we booked we were aware that our room didn't have an ensuite bathroom but that we would share exclusive use of a bathroom with the friends we were travelling with. That seemed okay, until we got there and discovered that to access our bathroom we had to cross the communal lounge, which also happened to be in full view of the breakfast area via a huge picture window! Our friends were provided with bathrobes for the trek across the lounge, we weren't until we asked for them. (and then one of them had a huge hole in the back!).
Kathy seemed to be constantly under pressure as she was trying to do 2 jobs at the same time. run the B & B and work for Flanders Real Estate. Things came to a head about 3 days into our stay when most of the breakfast fare was missing - no yogurts, no coffee, no juice, no strawberries, no blueberries! Kathy turned up with some of it half way through breakfast, somebody had forgotten to the shopping!
Kathy became very friendly and helpful two days before we were due to leave, the cynic in me thinks this was done to secure a good tip!
On the plus side it was good to have the free bus pass for the island transport system and if you were a beach lover the pass for the 2 beaches would be very convenient.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wills51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    8
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
4
10
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St Albans Herts
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2010

There is no doubt that the location of Captain Flander's is second to none and the free bus pass and beach pass add to its charm but the lack of facilities regarding refreshments is sadly lacking . We were booked in for 6 nights having trekked all around E. Canada and we looked forward to relaxing in a quiet setting and this we did. Unbeknown to us 'Up Island' is 'dry' and that was bit of a shock but of far greater concern was the lack of liquid refreshment available to guets, a story about state law + hobs & ovens....why not purchase an electric kettlt for heavens sake? Even the promised bottle of water, (see web site), failed to show and we had to ask to have the bathroom cleaned after 3 days. . We'd been spoilt in Montreal and Toronto with open-access to the kitchens ady & night and found this a difficult pill to swallow. M.V is an interesting experience and the night skies are absolutely fabuloius. The free bikes were brilliant and shuttle bus drivers couldn't be more helpful, but Captain R. Flanders' House needs loving!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Godknowswhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kathybega, Manager at Captain R. Flanders' House, responded to this review, 28 August 2010
Once again I apologize that the guests were unhappy. I wish it had been brought to my attention when they were at the property so we may have addressed their concerns while they were there. We don't want anyone to be disappointed with their stay at the B&B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2010

We stayed at Captain Flanders for two nights and it was wonderfully relaxing. The inn is sited on an old farm amidst beautiful countryside which is teeming with wildlife. We stayed in one of the cottages, separate to the main building. The cottage is decorated in a simple style but it has everything you need. Our only (minor) complaint was that it was quite cold at night and the heating installed in the cottage is effective but noisy when you are trying to sleep as it clicks on and off to maintain the temperature. However, if you are travelling in season then it won't be an issue and it didn't spoil a wonderful stay. Kathy was very friendly and made sure we had everything we needed. Her two dogs are also very cute!

Chilmark itself is very different to down-Island - it is much quieter and more rural which suited us perfectly. We went slightly out of season which meant that finding places open for lunch/dinner was difficult but we managed it! We tried the Chilmark Tavern which had just opened under new owners and we highly recommend it as the food, service and ambience was excellent. The fish markets at Menemsha are also very good.

Overall, we wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Inn to anyone staying up-Island at the Vineyard as it is a beautiful retreat!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoggP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2009

This is probably the 10th time we've stayed at Capt. Flanders over the past 25 year. It hasn't changed a bit. That's what so nice. It brings back great memories, romantic nights, and fun times. It's the only place I would stay on the island. Kathy the "house mom" was fantastic and met our every need. I don't want too many people to know about this place, so they will always have room for me. Joy and Steve

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marley54Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2009

My partner and I learned of Captain Flanders House only recently. Upon arrival, we were stunned to find a place of such rare beauty. There is an authenticity to this former farmstead, with its ancient stone walls...one can sense the layers of history on this venerable land. The inn exudes old Vineyard charm; it is unpretentious and naturally elegant.

The rooms are clean and simple, in keeping with the country ambiance. The public area is comfortable and cheery, and many pleasant moments were spent browsing an eclectic collection of books. The breakfast featured home-baked muffins and croissants, and fresh fruits and cereals. We appreciated the lemonade and cookies in the afternoon.

We would have been content to spend all day on the property, reading or observing the geese on Bliss Pond, and the horses roaming the fields. However, we knew that world-class beaches were waiting just around the corner. After a lovely day by the sea, it was wonderful to come home to the tranquility of our room. A few bicycles (with baskets) are available for making trips into the fishing village of Menemsha, less than a mile away.

The staff was warm and friendly and really made us feel at home. They go out of their way to accommodate their guests.

We enjoyed our first stay in high summer. It was the height of the tourist season, yet the grounds were very peaceful. We hope to return in other seasons, especially when we are feeling the need to be refreshed and renewed.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewEnglandHillsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chilmark
21.5 km away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
17.1 km away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
20.2 km away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 km away
Lambert's Cove Inn
Lambert's Cove Inn
#11 of 47 in Martha's Vineyard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
18.3 km away
Thorncroft Inn
Thorncroft Inn
#3 of 11 in Vineyard Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
9.1 km away
Hostelling International - Martha's Vineyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain R. Flanders' House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain R. Flanders' House

Property: Captain R. Flanders' House
Address: 440 North Road, Chilmark, Martha's Vineyard, MA
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Chilmark
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Chilmark
Price range (per night): $151 - $256
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the quiet town of Chilmark, Massachusetts on the island of Martha’s Vineyard. This renovated farmhouse, built by whaling Captain Richard Flanders in the late 1700’s is part of an original island homestead. The house has a delightful arrangement of antiques and country primitives that will add charm and uniqueness to your island stay. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing