We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming 2 room 1 bath cottage near the...”
other travellers have booked this property
A perfect getaway for any season or reason!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A perfect getaway for any season or reason!
Beautiful new oak laminate flooring just installed.  Very spiffy! The gracious living space
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
165 reviews
A perfect getaway for any season or reason!
Beautiful new oak laminate flooring just installed.  Very spiffy!
The gracious living space
Relax on the full size couch
Comfortable living
Blue predominates at the cottage
Room for you and your companion animals
A country view through the floor to ceiling windows
French doors separate the living area from the kitchen
Flat screen TV with over 200 channels
Guest Toby enjoying cottage amenities
A cozy corner nook
Queen size bed with a good firm mattress
Eat-in kitchen area
Kitchen work area
Full size oven in a very well equipped kitchen
The blue bathroom
View from eat-in dining area to living area
A variation on a theme!
4-legged view from living area to kitchen area
Breakfast nook
Le bathroom bleu again!
Friendly feline door stop
Friendly Cavalier King Charles spaniel adorn the book case
Mexican planters in the living area
Another view of the cottage and main house
July at Cavalier Cottage
View from your window of the landscaped garden, firepit and E. Oxbow Road (plus hosepipe bonus)!
Oriental poppies brighten up the Cottage garden
Beautiful, peaceful Oxbow Road
Mountain streams and wooded terrain abound
Owner and host with trusty companion Gwen
Enjoy the private garden space
Rhodos in full bloom and a garden sculpture to view
Welcome to Cavalier Cottage B&B
Avery, puppy mill rescue, the newest clan member.
Avery, Hailey and Rose
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Charlemont, Massachusetts

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 165 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Anomynous...
CT
2 reviews
“Charming 2 room 1 bath cottage near the magnificent Mohawk Trail in Massachusetts”
Reviewed 29 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

The Cavalier Cottege is a charming cottage nestled in the woods about 1 mile off the Mohawk Trail (Route 2) about 5 minutes from Shelbourne Falls and the Bridge of Flowers. This was the perfect spot to stay on a foliage trip through Northern Mass and Southern VT for our Anniversary. The cottage is close to some nice attractions, the Pioneer Valley,, and the Mt. Snow areas but is far enough away from the main highway so the surrounding area offers much pleasant peace and quiet in the evening. The owner has five wonderful Cavalier King Charles Spaniel dogs who greeted us when we first arrived. My wife and I have two cavies ourselves (Reuben and Honey Rachael) and we got to meet one of the dogs. Though not truly a B and B, Pat the owner makes scones for the guests each AM with some OJ. There is a kitchen stocked with utensils/dishes and the bedroom/sitting room is charming with plenty of tourist info and Dish TV (included). I rate this place 4 stars out of 5 With the only blemish being a rather small bathroom and complete loss of cell service away from Route 2. Overall a very good stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: location, condition, amenities
Liked least: Bathroom size, loss of cell service.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug O
New Haven, Connecticut
2 reviews
“Quiet, relaxing place for human and dog alike!”
Reviewed 15 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Great place to relax with entire family. Walks and hikes abound down the road or into one of the parks. They have coffee and tea there, and plenty of kitchen cookware to make meals, etc. Like having an apartment in the Berkshires with your dogs by your side.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary D
1 review
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 23 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

My dogs, Aaron, Molly and Sebastian, and I enjoyed our stay at Cavalier Cottage! Pat was wonderful and attended to all our needs. Our cottage was clean as can be and very, very comfortable. The scones and orange juice each morning? YUMMY! We look forward to returning!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2016
Mary, Many thanks for your kind review. Look forward to welcoming you and the gang back!

Pat
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn S
Wallingford, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved our second Stay at Cavalier Cottage”
Reviewed 11 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We so enjoyed our second stay at Cavalier Cottage, even more relaxing than the first time. Maybe because we knew exactly what to expect. Our dog remembered it there too and just loves walks on the country road. We will definitely go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2016
Kathryn, thanks for the kind review. Always a pleasure to have you all here.

Patricia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdale123
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best place to relax and enjoy dog”
Reviewed 2 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Our dog loves to go on road trips with us and stay at new places. Many hotels say they are dog friendly but be sure you don't leave them alone in the room and don't let them bark. Cavalier Cottage is truly dog friendly in terms of making any dog at home an the ease of going in and out to the yard with great walking and hiking near by.
Winnie our little dog had a ball and so did her Mom and Dad

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: That they were tryly Dog Friendly
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2016
Thanks so much for your kind review. Hope to welcome you again in the not too distant future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 130
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing