We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and Lovely”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Solomons
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Solomons Victorian Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Solomons B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 27 July 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Solomons Victorian Inn for 2 nights and were very happy with the location, accomodations, and the wonderful breakfasts served in a glassed-in room overlooking the water. Our room, The Manitou, was on the second floor and had a view of the water from 2 directions. It was roomy, clean, and nicely furnished. The temperature outside reached over 100 degrees during our stay, but the airconditioner and ceiling fan kept us cool and comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MDTravelers60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 148 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2011

Location on the water and beautiful. Yards and landscape retreat ready and peaceful. The house is a lovely old Victorian, very clean, nicely decorated (though wallpaper, while barely noticeable, is peeling in places). The house has a beautiful all glass porch which is climate controlled, has a lovely view, place to eat breakfast. The presentation of food at breakfast was careful, professional, freshly made, and beautiful; and it was delicious. The host greeted us long enough to give a key and showed us our room. There were no afternoon tea or wine gatherings, so the house seemed empty and quiet (but some are looking for that). I would go again for a quick one night get away, but I would not go for a weekend "destination" adventure.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RLJCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2011

We stayed in the Orithia room for a weekend, which had a nice view of the water across the street and was quiet. The house-made breakfast was very nice and they accommodated me as a vegetarian. The location of the inn is almost at the tip of Solomon's Island (see a map) so it is pretty quiet, at least when I went (March).

Most of all, I was impressed about the honesty of the owners. After we had already paid and left, I was wondering why we didn't get the coupon discount. On the way home, I called them and asked them about it, and said I didn't pay enough attention when I was writing out the check. They immediately apologized profusely and credited the credit card for the extra $50 we paid. They didn't have to give us the discount after the fact, but they did!

Room Tip: Look out for coupons/deals on the room rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thisiswatching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

I have stayed at Solomons Victorian Inn on several different occasions and it is like visiting good friends at a relaxing location. Whether you are considering the Victorian Inn for business or leisure it will be worth the money. No hotel in the area (I have stayed at most) can make your trip better than the VIctorian Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fred_Merrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2009

My boyfriend and I were looking for a relaxing weekend getaway to celebrate our two-year anniversary, and settled on a weekend on Solomons Island - and Solomons Victorian Inn was exactly what we were looking for. I couldn't comment too much on the service as we were not there for long and did not interact with the inn owners too much, but they were certainly friendly in welcoming us and cooked us a delicious breakfast the next day.

Since we were celebrating, we went with the Solomons Sunset room. Certainly pricier than the other rooms, but far cheaper than a similar room that you would find in any sort of urban setting (including a king-sized bed, a whirlpool tub, lots of space). Would certainly recommend it to anyone looking for a nicer room.

Would definitely go back if we were ever in the area!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cathleeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solomons
2.0 km away
Holiday Inn Solomons Conference Center and Marina
3.5 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Solomons
1.6 km away
Quality Inn Beacon Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 km away
Island Inn and Suites
Island Inn and Suites
#1 of 1 in Piney Point
194 reviews
4.8 km away
Hampton Inn Lexington Park
Hampton Inn Lexington Park
#1 of 9 in Lexington Park
419 reviews
5.5 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington Park (Patuxent River Naval Air Station)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solomons Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solomons Victorian Inn

Address: 125 Charles St, Solomons, MD 20688-0759
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Calvert County > Solomons
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Solomons
Price Range: $141 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect choice for a WEEKEND GETAWAY. The perfect choice for the BUSINESS TRAVELER. Solomons Victorian Inn caters to all your individual needs. Walk to Solomons best restaurants, relax in the stunning gardens, jog the island roads, hire a boat or jet-ski. It's all here, and close to PAX River and all nearby attractions. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing