We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
KC
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
Reviewed 1 April 2012

The Good: The receptionist are nice when you can speak to them (seemed under staffed). The concierge stand was very friendly and helpful. The rooms clean and the bed soft. The breakfast was good.

The not so Good: Only 2 out of 5 elevators worked during my entire stay, seemed like I was waiting forever to get back and forth to my room when I was tired from working all day. Asked on of the staff and seemed to indicate they had been broken for some time. The price a bit steap for a Hampton - that could just be the area.

No early check-in available for Gold Rewards (at least when I checked in)

Overall - mediocre

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BPub1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptonssgm, General Manager at Hampton Inn Silver Spring, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Thank you for your time to review our hotel regarding your stay in March. We apologize for the elevator maintenance issue during your stay and has since been resolved. Hotel rates can be influenced by seasons or day of week but we encourage booking on our hotel’s site as we maintain a best rate guarantee at the Hampton Inn Silver Spring hotel. When travel has you visiting downtown Silver Spring, please keep our hotel in mind as we would love to welcome you back.

Dan Jasinski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    246
    146
    69
    35
See reviews for
288
135
60
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomingburg, NY
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I was looking for a hotel with consistency so I stayed here based on price and proximity and the fact that most hotels around here charge for parking. I prepaid to get the discounted non-refundable rate of $99. Parking was $12 for a 24 hr period.
Upon my arrival, I asked the Valet at what point did the 24 Hr parking period begin? He said when you check in. Since I was there Friday into Saturday and wasn't going to be back until after a 24 hr period, they said the parking public garage down the street was free on weekends. So I just put some quarters in up until 7pm and it was free from there!
The hotel was just a couple of blocks from the Metro train station to DC.

The room was standard Hampton Inn, no complaints. Breakfast was ok. The eggs were taste-less though.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joeyjcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptonssgm, General Manager at Hampton Inn Silver Spring, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Thank you joeyjcc for your recent stay and review of the Hampton Inn Silver Spring Hotel. We’re delighted to hear that valet was able to give you options on parking here in downtown Silver Spring. Most guests find our hotel quite convenient to the Metro making it very accessible to Washington, DC. I’ve shared your comments regarding the hotel’s free breakfast so it can be addressed. Next time you’re visiting Silver Spring or Washington, DC, keep the Hampton Inn hotel in Silver Spring in mind. Hilton HHonors is offering either Double Points or Double Miles at our hotel through June 2012 when you register for the offer on their site. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Dan Jasinski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

In mid- August we stayed at the Hampton Inn Silver Spring......
We put our car into their mandatory valet parking- within 4 hours the hotel staff knowingly GAVE our van away to an unidentified man. Needless to say our vacation was destroyed. Washington D.C. police found our abandoned car 10 days later. The hotel chain’s insurance was in charge of getting it back to us. It took 18 weeks to get it back- delivered at 4:00 a.m. When we got it back the battery was dead, the van wouldn't start. Poorly handled, months to get reimbursement for our van rental, no formal apology, no compensation for a destroyed holiday and subsequent headaches. Not well handled by a huge chain like Hampton Inn/ Hilton hotels. Parents and children’s combined collection of 150 C.D.'s is still missing. We have not been reimbursed for that even though photos taken after the van was found show the C.D.'s in the front seat! Hence they were taken after the van was recovered and in the care of the insurance company.
We expected more from a chain like Hilton/ Hampton Inns.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Les L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killeen, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2012

It is centrally located, clean, and offers breakfast daily. Overall, the front desk staff is not very helpful or friendly. I encountered multiple front desk staff during my 10 day stay at this hotel. The valet staff is much nicer, welcoming you when you enter the building. The front desk staff, they could care less and rarely make eye contact. I was a little disappointed by that, when I am paying big bucks to stay at this hotel for so many days. The fitness center is nice but small. The pool is rarely used and the lower level smells like wet carpet all the time. Fresh baked cookies are available at the lobby area daily:) Overall, the experience was OK but nothing great.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sola206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole J, Manager at Hampton Inn Silver Spring, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
Thank you for giving us your feedback. I apologize that our front desk gave you anything under exceptional service. We consistently train our front desk to provide the best service to every customer, and we will continue with our efforts. We appreciate your business and we hope that you will give us another chance to win you back as a customer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level 6 Contributor
309 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We stayed here for one week as an option to the Marriot Courtyard in Silver Springs. It was very reasonable price wise as we got an AARP discount. The room was spacious and the ammenities worked well. Our daughter was in a connecting room so that was nice. The complementary breakfast was ok but not superior. The service was fast and the staff was friendly. It is convenient to several parking garages so that was not a problem. The pool is not open but in the afternoons but that was ok too. I would stay there again due to the vast price difference from the Marriot. The noise level was very low so we were able to sleep well.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaleRachmeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole J, Manager at Hampton Inn Silver Spring, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
We appreciate the positive feedback! Thank you so much for choosing to stay at the Hampton Inn Silver Spring. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Silver Spring hotels
8.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Silver Spring North
0.1 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring
0.0 km away
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
#3 of 12 in Silver Spring
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
#9 of 12 in Silver Spring
20 reviews
0.4 km away
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
#4 of 12 in Silver Spring
346 reviews
1.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Silver Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Silver Spring

Property: Hampton Inn Silver Spring
Address: 8728A Colesville Rd, Silver Spring, MD 20910-3902
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Montgomery County > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Silver Spring
#4 Business Hotel in Silver Spring
Price range (per night): $134 - $262
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Silver Spring 2.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Hampton Inn hotel in Silver Spring, MD is just steps from the lively dining, shopping, and entertainment district of downtown Silver Spring. Walk or take our local area shuttle to the Red Line Metro station, just three blocks away, for access to historic sites, national monuments, and the sports venues of Washington DC. Nearby pedestrian-friendly streets boast shops, art galleries and restaurants. Hampton Inn Silver Spring is conveniently located near Interstate 495/Capital Beltway and within 45 minutes of all three area airports. The headquarters of organizations such as Discovery Communications, United Therapeutics, and the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) are in walking distance. Visit the AFI Silver Theater and Cultural Center, which offers movie buffs a look at the art and mystery of movie-making, or enjoy a premier performance at Live Nation's new Fillmore Silver Spring, less than one block away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Priceline, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Silver Spring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Silver Spring Hotel Silver Spring

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing