We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service Failure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Salisbury Plaza
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Salisbury
Reviewed 6 September 2017

I have stayed here before. Very basic hotel, but great for a 1 night pit stop. This stay I came to check-in, it was around 2:30PM - I walked into the lobby and there was no one around. The back office door was open, but no one was in sight. I waited about 5 minutes before calling the hotel to try and find some assistance. No answer, I called 3 times. After a total of about 10 minutes with phone ringing off the hook and no movement, a blonde haired woman came from the back door in the fitness room with another woman. She looked at me and said nothing. She then came in the back office to the front desk, still no acknowledgement that I was there or had been waiting a while. She FINALLY asked if I was checking in - I had said I was starting to worry that no one was here, her reply was "well, check-in is not until 3" I mentioned I called with no answer, she said she "was outside checking on housekeepers." I understand maybe you are short staffed and need to wear multiple hats, but maybe take a portable phone with you, so you can answer calls, or at the least, leave a sign on the desk stating you will be back shortly. Either way, she was not happy that I was trying to check in 20 minutes before 3PM.

I highly doubt the hotel was full or anywhere near full on a random Sunday, but she put me next to a room (I am sure they are living there, or at least long term guests) where a creepy, very unsettling man, was just sitting outside his room, watching me unload my car and asking what was in my car and actually walking up and looking in my vehicle! Really unnerving! Regardless, I put things in the room and left to go get some dinner. Upon my return there were several men outside my room from different rooms within the same area and that was it. They were staring and making me very uncomfortable.

I went inside to the front desk to inquire about moving somewhere else, because there were creepy men outside my room. She was aware and didn't ask any other question and moved my room farther away on the 2nd floor. The room was basic and did the job, which is all I expected. The service and the way the front desk associate treated me was unacceptable and I will not be coming back. A basic Best Western (not Plus or Premier) is just that, basic. The service is what is needed to keep bringing people back. I am very disappointed with my overall experience.

Room Tip: Long Term guests hang out outside of their rooms on 1st floor and stare - get a high floor - or DON...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SillySullys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amit P, General Manager at Best Western Salisbury Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

We apologize for the unfortunate experience you encountered during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2017 via mobile

Booked a room on line at BW Salisbury. Let me start by saying this was my worst hotel visit yet and I day visit because I went in the room and left. There were people loitering drinking outside the rooms and there was a half dressed man just hanging out. But I still I gave the room a chance and went in. I walked into a smelly odor , a peice of trash on the floor and the garbage was not emptied! I immediately returned to the front desk and told the manager on duty about the room not being clean. She was very nice and said I can offer you a room on the other side of the building where "the girl on that side is a better cleaner than the side you are now on"! REALLY?! The whole place doesn't get cleaned the same?! And you have an employee that works poorly and you know it and nothing is done to correct it ?! NO THANK YOU, I LEFT. NO MORE BEST WESTERN FOR ME! Building was already dated but didn't have to be dirty!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank JerseySo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amit P, General Manager at Best Western Salisbury Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

We do apologize for you not being happy with your stay. We are working on getting our rooms remodeled. Maybe you will come visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

The hotel was ok. We stayed two nights. It was clean except for the sheets, they had dirt spots on them. The staff were apologetic and had the sheets changed. Did not get to use the pool because the weather was cold, wish it was an indoor pool. Did not incur any other problems but I think I will stay at the Best Western on Route 50, it is a better hotel although it was booked when I made reservations.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank denisebZ7527QD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amit P, General Manager at Best Western Salisbury Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

I know I will have a good stay when I come here. I am surprised by some of the comments on here because my stay is excellent each time i come here. The staff have been the same for years and they know their stuff. They can help me out with all my needs there. The room is always great, the breakfast is excellent, well maintained property.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank A5371VXtonyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amit P, General Manager at Best Western Salisbury Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

We stayed here for a softball tournament back in July. It was horrible! There were guys
staying at the hotel that were working across from the hotel and they were yelling crud things at our 14 year old girls. They started work at 6am! Went down to get hot water for tea at 6:30am and it was empty. The front desk told us to go to the gym area to try and get hot water from there and that was empty to so we had to go to Dunkin Donuts down the road for breakfast! Ice machine was always empty too. Over the weekend there was alot of shady activity with naked men banging on doors and the worst part about it is that Best Western corporate doesn't even care!! We reached out to them and they did nothing at all! It was a bother to them that we called them!

Room Tip: Nothing at all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grays1299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amit P, General Manager at Best Western Salisbury Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2017

We apologize for the unfortunate experience you encountered during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
3 km away
Hampton Inn Salisbury
Hampton Inn Salisbury
#2 of 14 in Salisbury
805 reviews
3.6 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Salisbury
4.1 km away
Sleep Inn Salisbury
Sleep Inn Salisbury
#1 of 14 in Salisbury
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Salisbury
3.8 km away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Salisbury, MD
1.9 km away
Residence Inn Salisbury
Residence Inn Salisbury
#7 of 14 in Salisbury
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Salisbury Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Salisbury Plaza

Address: 1735 N Salisbury Blvd, Salisbury, MD 21801-3330
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Salisbury
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Salisbury
Price Range: $84 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Salisbury Plaza 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Salisbury Plaza. Our pet-friendly hotel located in Salisbury, Maryland offers business and leisure travelers an opportunity to enjoy a comfortable night's sleep. Our hotel offers smoking and non-smoking rooms with microwaves and refrigerators, outdoor seasonal pool and a great breakfast each morning. Need to stay connected to the office? Guests will enjoy the fast speeds of the high-speed wireless Internet. Our hotel is located in the heart of Salisbury, MD. Take time to enjoy the hidden treasures of the Delmarva Peninsula. Take an opportunity to walk the campus of Salisbury University or University of MD Eastern Shore. You can catch a game with the Delmarva Shorebirds, a Baltimore Orioles affiliate. We invite you to take a stroll through the free Salisbury Zoo, Pemberton Park or the Trails by the Henry S. Parker Athletic Complex. Everyone enjoys fun in the sun. Don't forget to stop at Assateague Island to see the wild ponies or walk the Boardwalk in Ocean City, MD. Our hotel team is awaiting your arrival. This Salisbury, MD hotel is close all major businesses such as the Peninsula Regional Medical Center, Pepsi Bottling Plant, Jubilant Cadista Pharmaceuticals, Inc., K & L Microwave, Tishcon Corporations, Delmarva Power and Northwood Industrial Park. Those are just a few of the businesses that Salisbury, Maryland has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Salisbury Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Salisbury Plaza Hotel Salisbury
Salisbury Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing