We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Vacation Spot”
other travellers have booked this property
Front and north side of W Melson house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front and north side of W Melson house
Park and Harbor one-half block away from house Front of W Melson House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Front and north side of W Melson house
Park and Harbor one-half block away from house
Front of W Melson House
South side of W Melson house with patio with table and chairs in middle
Side Patio adjacent kitchen
Front of Melson House on Locust St.
South side of Melson House
Living Room with Fireplace
Dining Room
Dining Room
Kitchen
Family Room with queen sleep sofa
Family Room
Family Room
Family Room
Master Bedroom
Second Bedroom
South Side of House with parking in rear
Rear of house
Park and Harbor One Half  Block Away
House plaque
House plaque
St Michaels harbor view from park half block from house
Park half block from house
Front of House
Front of W Melson house
W Melson house with T Blades house to the right
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
St. Michaels, Talbot County, Maryland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Marlin P
Nanty Glo
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Vacation Spot”
Reviewed 27 January 2016 for a stay in October 2015

For the past three years we have visited St. Michaels several times a year. On our first visit we discovered three rental properties in the heart of town. On our return we first rented the Thomas Blades house next door to W. Melson. This past October, the Blades house was not available, but knowing the owner and the condition of Blades, we were confident, Melson house would also be a terrific property. We were not disappointed. W. Melson house is a restored and updated sailing captain’s home. The house is well-appointed with a full kitchen and fully furnished rooms. The house is well-maintained, comfortable, and clean. Everything you could possible want is there for your use. With two bedrooms each with a double bed, it is comfortable and convenient for a family of four or two couples.
There is a nice-sized living room, full kitchen, and another quaint sitting room/game room/dining room as well as the fully furnished large living room, and half bath on the first floor. With TV and wired or wireless Internet this home is the ideal vacation destination.
As we always do, we totally enjoyed the conveniences and the accommodations of these rentals; all the comforts of home in the amazing village of St. Michaels. We highly recommend any of the properties on Locust St and the hospitality and friendliness of the owner.
My only caution about Melson house is just to be aware that the one full bath is off the master bedroom and because it is an older home, the bathroom has a low, sloping ceiling. It is clean and convenient, but not the most comfortable for a taller man.
Whenever we vacation in St. Michaels, we will be happy to rent either of the two homes on Locust Street.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, cleanliness, conveniences, furnishings
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyssa D
Jefferson, Maryland
1 review
“Happy New Years Getaway!”
Reviewed 11 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Tom's cottage is in the perfect location in historic St. Michaels. Just right for me, my husband and our two teenage daughters, 13 & 15. Bright! Cozy, comfortable . . . walk to everything! Remodeled & decorated in beautiful, practical quaintness. We will definitely want to return again, . . . and again! We highly recommend this cottage. St. Michaels is a really great place to visit all seasons and so easy to get to. We live in Frederick/Jefferson, so it's a 1.5 hour breeze-of-a-trip down. We've taken the Bellevue-Oxford ferry over the Oxford; eaten the most fantastic seafood, etc. in StMs and Tighlman's Island; historic Easton and even Berlin MD are great areas to visit, striking out from StMs. Shopping in StMs, Easton, outlets, etc. is so enjoyable, the folks who own and run their shops and restaurants in StMs are super kind. One can not forgo a visit to the Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum, just down the street from Tom's place. It's wonderful for those of all ages! We've been vacationing/visiting StMs since 1993. Love it, loved our stay at Tom's cottage this New Years Eve holiday!
---Alyssa & Jim Young and family

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
morgand12...
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Very comfortable, walking distance to everything, quaint town, and very relaxing. Will stay there again.”
Reviewed 16 July 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Access to lots of restaurants - enjoyed the whole experience!
Excellent restaurants,within walking distance of where we were staying, We would
HIGHLY recommend this vacation spot. Not noisy!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mimikk
olyphant , pa
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway.”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The pictures of this house do not lie. It is that nice. We parked our car and didn't need again until we left. Close to everything. Walk to the water , sit on the bench and relax. Beautifully decorated. All appliances are there. Cable and great WIFI. Bed was so comfortable! Slept like a baby. Remember to take a hair dryer. Might have been one, but I didn't find it. Slanty ceilings and lots of built ins in master bedroom. I loved it. LOL. Tall husband had a tougher time.
Tons of outlets, great air conditioning, and lovely street. We would love to go again and would recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and decor.
Liked least: we had to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrequentT...
DC area
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cute Cottage in Great Location”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We fully enjoyed our relaxing stay in the sleepy little town of St. Michaels, and would definitely return when given the chance. The location is perfect - within a one block walk from town (restaurants, shops, etc) or the park (for a relaxing place to sit and watch boats, or people). No need to drive anywhere once you park in the driveway.

This historic cottage is actually two renovated hardwood floor houses connected by a new kitchen. The front cottage facing the street maintains its historic feel with antique furniture and dining room table. The upstairs is a bedroom with two twin beds, perfect for kids. The back cottage is the really the main living area with dining table, couch, chair, and cable TV (hidden away in an antique hutch), and the upstairs is another bedroom with queen bed and full bathroom (just remember the slanted ceilings in the middle of the night).

The two become one home by way of the kitchen in the middle that connects them, as well as a half bath. This new kitchen is fully equipped (pots, pans, plates, glassware, silverware) with an oven / stove top, full refrigerator, microwave, and even a dishwasher (had to be a woman who designed that!). There is also a stackable washer & dryer just in case you want to do any work before you leave or wash linens/towels.

There is a small patio right outside the kitchen french doors with a charcoal grill, so don't forget the charcoal & lighter fluid, not to mention the marshmallows (or you might have to do some shopping).

It is clean, well maintained, very comfortable. If you plan to cook like we did, just remember to bring spices (we remembered the condiments, just not the spices).

The owners were very pleasant and easy to work with prior to our arrival, making it easy to relax. ENJOY YOUR STAY, you will relax in the quiet!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and Historic significance
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing