We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“home from home”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private Garden East and West Lodge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
Private Garden
East and West Lodge
Lounge/Dining Area
Lounge/Dining Area
Kitchen
Kitchen
Entrance to Cabin
Super King Size Bed
Super King Size Bed configured as Twin beds
Double Bedroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Dining Area
Welcome Basket
DVD Cabinet with selection of Family DVD's
Information Rack
picnic rucksack and baskets
Private Entrance
Private Garden
Private Garden
Private Garden
Cocktails!
East and West Lodge
Owners Gardens
Owners Gardens
Off Road Parking
Private Entrance
Highcliffe local beach
Christchurch Quay
Mudeford Quay
Wooten - Gateway to the New Forest
The New Forest
Highcliffe Castle
Steamer Point Nature Reserve
Hengisbury Head
Barton-on-Sea
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Hinton, New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Susan D
1 review
“home from home”
Reviewed 2 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The holiday lodge was very clean and tidy. We had everything we needed for a family with young children. The basket was lovely touch and provided us breakfast for the whole stay! The outside was great for the children to have a run round. Thank you for a lovely time

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The basket and the flexibility of the owner with checking in.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leaheeson
Auckland Central, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely lodge”
Reviewed 11 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I enjoyed the lodge. It was very clean and tidy and the lovely hot shower and comfy bed was great. The hosts looked after us well. The only downside was the proximity of the train line which took a little getting used to. Other than that it was a lovely place to stay and explore the beautiful New Forest.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2016
Hi Leandra

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found the lodge comfortable and clean.

I am sorry to hear your comments regarding the train line. We sit approx 100 meters from the line, the lodges are further approx 200 meters. The line is not visible from the lodges due to the screening from the trees. The line is normally relatively quiet because it is not a main line and trains are infrequent but unfortunately, during your stay, there was some line maintenance and the cargo trains can be rather noisy but this is rare.

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, I do appreciate it.

Rod
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte...
1 review
“Perfect holiday”
Reviewed 2 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This is the cosiest, cleanest, prettiest place to stay. Rod welcomed us and was nearby to answer any questions and the lodge was absolutely perfect. We had a pretty garden for to eat breakfast in and for our daughter to play in. The beach is a 20 minute walk away with stunning stretches of sandy beaches and a lovely cafe. HIghcliffe Castle is nearby and the pretty villages of Burley, Brockenhurst where we had the best ice cream! The forest is all around with ponies wandering freely and lots of places to walk, play and hide out in the woods. Perfect for families although my husband and I might return at some point without the children for a peaceful, romantic holiday as it's the perfect setting. Highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean, well equipped home with lovely owners
Liked least: We loved it all!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey B
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fabulous”
Reviewed 11 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

My mum and I stayed for three nights 6-9 May 2016. The lodge itself suited us perfectly for our visit to the New Forest. We were met by the owners Rod and Steve and felt completely at home in our new surroundings. The lodge was very well equipped and had all the mod-cons that we needed. A beautiful welcome basket was included in our three night break and had all the essentials needed after a long journey.The shower was amazing. The beds were so comfortable and we both slept soundly. We visited many lovely places during our break - Mudeford Quay, Avon Beach (fantastic for young families) Brockenhurst, Lymington and Highcliffe Castle and tea rooms. We were very lucky with the weather and really had a great time. We couldn't fault a thing. We will definitely be returning next year. Thanks Rod and Steve - the perfect hosts xx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacie D
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic weekend in this wonderful log cabin”
Reviewed 18 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a 2 night stay in this fabulous log cabin. Very clean, cosy and stylish, and in an excellent location. The owners were great, quick to reply to emails when I booked and very helpful with changing the beds around when we arrived to make room for our 3 year old. The welcome basket with bread, milk, cereal, butter and biscuits was fantastic and there was also tea and coffee. Amazing bed and shower as well as large luxury towels. The kitchen had all the utensils and crockery required for a home from home feel. We will definitely be returning, missing it already! Thanks for a wonderful stay

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing