We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“25th Anniversary...Great time!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocean City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
EconoLodge Oceanfront Ocean City
Ranked #73 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“25th Anniversary...Great time!!”
Reviewed 3 September 2009

My family stayed here 8-17 to 8-22-09. Have been here 2 other times, so we know what to expect. What we got was a great room in the oceanfront bldg on 4th floor. These rooms have 2 double beds and a sofabed, plenty of room for 3 adults and a 10 yr old.The kitchenettes are great, as they allow you to heat up some snacks or dinners in the microwave, toasters or toasting bagels or bread. The counter height refrigerators are great also. Room for the bottled water to take down to the beach!!Oceanfront rooms are the way to go here, as the streetside rooms are not as nice, from what I remember from years ago. We had no problems, except that one day, the elevator wasn't working for a good part of the day. This would be the only complaint. They could really use a second elevator here.This hotel is at quiet end of boardwalk ( only a block and a half away). Continental breakfast served in lobby consists of pastries, bagels, muffins, juices and coffee and tea. This worked out fine for us. We only had a sitdown breakfast one morning, at a hotel 2 bldgs over.. Another thing that they could update would be the shower heads in bathroom. A little bit more pressure would have been great! Housekeeping was wonderful, always had plenty of towels, and we had no problems with bugs, as another review had mentioned. Would I recommend this hotel , absolutely! Price is right. Always ask about discounts. We had AAA, but a discount for staying there before actually was lower than the AAA rate. This was withing walking distance of restaurants, a golf course, and the Jolly Roger Amusement Park and Water Park. Just remember, You are always going to find a few reviews that aren't good, but that could be the guests themselves that just want to find something to complain about. You get what you pay for, and I think that the Rodeway Inn is a great place to stay when in Ocean City!!

Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Homemom49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    62
    43
    23
    18
See reviews for
61
52
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore MD
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2009

Very nice family stay!Large rooms very quiet,look off your balcony all you see is ocean.Very clean staff very nice 2,pools and a couple steps to the ocean great when you have kids and alot of stuff to take down to the beach!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carricat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2009

We stayed in Room 301 Rodeway Inn oceanfront 2 weeks ago for 2 nights --our kids and my wife and I now have head lice and nits that persist despite mutiple treatments (RID, NIX etc)
I am calling the Company headquarters and the local heath department on Monday

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

baltimore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2009

I booked this hotel based on tripadvisor ratings but this hotel setup is very deceiving and you will either love it or hate it. My advice, it's not really worth the risk. There are 2 parts to the complex, the motel side and the hotel side. We thought since we were paying over $200/night we would be in the hotel side of the complex. Wrong, we ended up staying in the motel side of the complex. When we asked if we could move, we were told it would be extra making the stay $300/night. Neither side of this complex is worth $300 - in fact, the absolute most I would pay for a room here is $120/night. The motel side is VERY outdated - outside steps to access your room (with no security - the door opens for everyone), an elevator so old that after riding it once we decided to hike our bags up the outside stairs and the rooms were quite outdated. Also, don't rely on the continental breakfast, we ended up having to go out for breakfast since there was nothing but juice and pastries wrapped in plastic. I can't say our stay was terrible, the room served it's purpose and since we weren't there much we were OK with it. The front desk and cleaning staff were all very polite and the location was very convenient to both the beach and boardwalk. I just can't recommend this hotel based on the price - especially since you don't know what you're getting until you get there. Maybe if we stayed on the hotel side for what we paid, we may have a different opinion.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thelibster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grenfield,ny
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2009

We did not stay in the oceanfront hotel, but the rodeway hottl behind it. It was half the price and just had to cross the small parking lot to get to the ocean. No oceanview but we were going to be on the beach all day anyway. We had reserved a non smoking room but was given a smoking room, we went up to check it out anyway and there was not any cigarette smell in the room or in the hallway so we stayed. They would have given us an upgrade but they were full. The room was very clean and there were four fluffy towels of each size in the very clean bathroom. The room could have been a little cooler but the airconditioner face the fridge. We were two blocks from the boardwalk and we were able to spend more money with the money we saved not goung oceanfront. We will definitley go back to this hotel! The staff was very helpful when we needed directions to a friends deli in PA. There are 2 pools indoor and out.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruger290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.1 km away
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
#80 of 103 in Ocean City
112 reviews
2.6 km away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#27 of 103 in Ocean City
313 reviews
0.2 km away
Seabonay Motel
Seabonay Motel
#70 of 103 in Ocean City
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#5 of 103 in Ocean City
2,161 reviews
0.4 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront Ocean City
0.5 km away
Crystal Beach Hotel
Crystal Beach Hotel
#69 of 103 in Ocean City
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Ocean City

Been to EconoLodge Oceanfront Ocean City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EconoLodge Oceanfront Ocean City

Property: EconoLodge Oceanfront Ocean City
Address: 29th St. on the Ocean, Ocean City, MD 21842 (Formerly Rodeway Inn Oceanfront)
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price range (per night): $259 - $259
Number of rooms: 98
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Oceanfront Hotel Ocean City
Rodeway Inn Ocean City
Ocean City Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing