We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our stay was great; we recommend this hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Beach Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beach Plaza Hotel
Ranked #37 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our stay was great; we recommend this hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

We just got back Sunday 9/2/12; stayed 4 nights. Before going, we read some of the reviews and were initially worried, but our stay was nothing like the bad reviews; we loved it. We had two rooms, one in the hotel itself, one in the courtyard; will definitely stay here again. Great location; great Italian restaurant-Adolfo's; beautiful hotel lobby especially at night -- cocktail hour/piano; porch overlooking ocean. Our rooms were clean and nothing was amiss. Doug the manager was very helpful, and check-in staff were great as well; they provided wheel chair for my mother; very accommodating. We recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    128
    94
    61
    62
See reviews for
229
126
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Powhatan, Virginia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

We reserved 3 rooms back in March this year for the Labor Day Weekend! We stay here every year but this year was awful.
They lost the reservations for my Daughter and her family and they had to stay in our room for two of the three nights. Then at Checkout they said she had been a "No Show" so they gave it away.
She was in room for the first night but had to move out the next morning.
Worse part of all was the attitude of the staff on check out "no apologies" for the mix up as they said we were responsible for the mix up! Duh - not sure how we did it!

Planning to go some where else next year!

Room Tip: Rooms on ocean front are nice - you can hear the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank micks79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

I'm NEVER one to complain, I normally just go with the flow. I also am never one to speak up either. When my boyfriend and I wanted to book a room, we booked this place because the price was moderate and everything else was booked. When we called to make a reservation, they didn't ask us how old we were, and email address for the reservation to be sent to, how many people were staying, who's name was on the credit card, etc. upon arrival, an older lady at the front counter was HIGHLY unprofessional and rude! When asked for all of our Ids, she reportedly accused us of lying when making reservations. (were 19&20). No where does the website say an age restriction, nor did the lady booking it for us. She continuously told us "not to mess up," and had us all sign a contract that we wouldn't. At this point, I had felt extremely unwelcomed. All was well until we checked out. May I add the toilet did NOT work. She also continued to tell me that my credit card was on file for damages. Were straight A students. SO ready to leave, we're checking out only to find out there was a balance that hadn't been paid. We paid everything off when we got there. The older lady who checked us in charged us $60 for the extra two people we had with us. Never did they ask on the phone how many people were staying, it was like they were trying to get us right off the phone. We booked a double bed room, for 4 people. Like I said, I'm never one to say anything, but I was beyond upset, and felt extremely disrespected! I will NEVER stay here again!!! And one last thing, they welcome high school graduating seniors. We are now in our second years of college, how does that make sense?!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug H, Manager at Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
Ashley-
Thank you for reporting your concerns while staying at the Beach Plaza. Since the time you submitted your review I have spoken with Matt and he relayed the same concerns to me and I have credited the $60 charge back to your credit card. The front desk staff has been reminded that when taking reservations to ask for the number of people in the room as our rates are for 2 adults and there is an extra charge for additional guests over the age of 16.
Again, Ashley, thank you for sharing your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warminster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

From Cheri in reservations,to Doug the general manager,to Jane and Debbie at the front desk,I have never had a more pleasant experience in a hotel in my life! In a day and age where customer service seems to have disappeared,these people have renewed my faith that there are places that still care about their guests.I was overwhelmed by their kindness and dedication to making sure we had the most enjoyable stay possible.It was a true vacation in every sense of the word! I will gladly stay here again and again!

Room Tip: All the rooms are clean and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melody_L776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug H, General Manager at Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
The entire staff at the Beach Plaza thanks you for your kind comments. It is extremely rewarding to know that our efforts are appreciated. We will continue to treat each guest as if they were staying with us in our homes.
We are looking forward to your next visit and repeating the same experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

This is the second year in a row that we stayed here. It is right on the board walk, but not in the heart of all the hustle and bustle. We LOVE sitting on the rockers at night with a cocktail. The ice cream shop below is perfect also. The rooms are a little dated, but always clean. The front desk ladies are ALWAYS smiling and happy!!! They are definitely an asset to the stay! For the money this is a great hotel. We will be staying here again next year!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.2 km away
Harrison Hall
Harrison Hall
#17 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
1.4 km away
Flagship Hotel Oceanfront
Flagship Hotel Oceanfront
#45 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
0.2 km away
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#32 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.5 km away
Paradise Plaza Inn
Paradise Plaza Inn
#8 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
1.0 km away
Shoreham Hotel
Shoreham Hotel
#80 of 103 in Ocean City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Plaza Hotel

Property: Beach Plaza Hotel
Address: 1301 Atlantic Ave, 13th Street & the Boardwalk, Ocean City, MD 21842-7348
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Ocean City
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price range (per night): $121 - $397
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beach Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Plaza oceanfront hotel is located at 13th Street on the famous Ocean City, MD Boardwalk. The hotel’s beachfront location is ideal for family beach vacations, weekend getaways or your next golf vacation. Beach Plaza guests are just a short stroll down the boardwalk to numerous restaurants, nightclubs, amusement rides and shopping.The Beach Plaza Hotel offers a variety of accommodations to meet your needs, from oceanfront guest rooms, efficiencies and 1-bedroom apartments to spacious 3-bedroom apartments that can accommodate up to eight guests. Hotel amenities include free parking, on-site bike rental, comfortable rocking chairs on the spacious porch overlooking the boardwalk and convenient beach rentals for your chair, umbrella and boogie board desires.Enjoy our warm Eastern Shore hospitality, spectacular ocean views and spacious accommodations - all just steps from spectacular Atlantic beaches and the famous Ocean City Boardwalk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly and Odigeo so you can book your Beach Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Phillips Beach Plaza
Phillips Beach Plaza Ocean City
Phillips Beach Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing