We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,094)
Filter reviews
1,094 results
Traveller rating
543
354
124
36
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
543
354
124
36
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews living room full kitchen southern view jacuzzi tub indoor pool coral reef restaurant kids eat free off season washers and dryers fresh fruit dvd player corner suite large bathroom nice size per night pots and pans sleeper sofa
Filter
Updating list...
270 - 275 of 1,094 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2016

We arrived Friday afternoon of the car show, which we didn't know was going on. The streets were lined with people sitting in lawn chairs watching the parade of decked out vehicles. Our check in was fast & efficient. We were on the 5'th floor with a king corner, oceanfront view of the beach. Beautiful! We had an apartment size suite! Including everything you needed. Full size refrigerator, microwave, stove, dishwasher & etc. We had a large sitting area. The bed was super comfortable & our room was very quiet. The bathroom needs some repair work. Loved the 3 shower heads! We didn't eat at the hotel. Or swim in the pool due to the weather. The rain storm started Friday night & continued until we left Monday morning.
Great hotel and the housekeeping staff were wonderful! Keep on traveling!

Room tip: 5'th Floor or higher corner Room. Great views!
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank DeniseA72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2016

It can be hard if not impossible for a hotel to get everything right. But the act of striving and trying are to be commended. The Holiday Inn on Ocean City strives to get things right!

First and foremost, I found the staff to be professional, friendly and helpful!
Our suite was comfortable and met our needs. The view was spectacular, overlooking the ocean. However, the maid service could have been more attentive!

The game room was enjoyable for the kids. I would suggest the hotel lower the game rates so kids can enjoy it more, without frustrating the parents every few minutes. Charging children a dollar for a chance to claw a fuzzy toy seems excessive and easily adds up. There are cheaper places for guests on the boardwalk! The hotel needs to relook at this service and make it more friendly and affordable for guests with kids.

The whirl pool was awesome, but be careful, as the current can get strong. The kids love it and will play in it for hours. If you have younger kids that cannot swim, buy a good life vest, so you are not totally stressing yourself out. There are lifeguards on duty, but they seemed more interested in chatting on their phones or talking among themselves, rather than helping guests! During my stay, I seen no lifeguards using the lifeguard chair, but instead were huddled on deck chairs. It was also difficult to identity a lifeguard; their attire was not consistent and seemed to be casual, at best.

There is a second outdoor pool which is more temperate and will appeal to swimmers. I enjoyed swimming lengths here before breakfast. It also has a nice friendly bar that serves really good drinks and food. Tip: you can run a tab on your room number - no cash required!! Guests using the pools are provided with an unlimited supply of warm fresh towels. This is a great service that is done well!

The gym is small but does the trick. It mainly had treadmills and barbells.

The main restaurant was nice for breakfast and the staff were friendly. Although short staffed and new, they tried their best to make it work. We had a very friendly server from Romania who made sure our coffee was fresh and full. Thank you! For breakfast, I'd recommend toast, fried eggs, fried potatoes and bacon.

We had dinner one of our evenings but were disappointed. The service was extremely slow and the food was below par. The restaurant seemed to lack confidence and leadership. Serious improvements are needed to justify the high costs of dishes, which are served slow and are below par - $30 for two crab cakes. Also, the decor was stuffy and dated and waiter menu knowledge was poor. Luckily, there is a lot of good competition in the area, so guests have options for dinner.

The hotel accommodating us with a late checkout, thank you. I look forward to my returning.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kdr1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2016

We stayed here on May 26th. It is obviously an older hotel. The hallways are awful and feel very closed in and like a maze trying to get around. and smelled musty. The rooms are acceptable for the $90 we paid. I would be very unhappy to pay the 200+ they want on weekends. It looked as if the pools were nice and looked clean. We ate breakfast in the restaurant, it was good but seemed rather expensive. The parking is also pretty bad and had to drag our bags a long way because some people parked their cars in the circle driveway and left them there for more than an hour blocking it so others couldn't get through.

Room tip: Ask for ocean view.
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank grandmom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2016

Dear grandmom1,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are pleased to know that you found our rooms to be nice. However, we would like to apologize for falling below your expectations regarding our hallways and parking. We also regret the issues you had with our breakfast price. Reviews like yours are very valuable as they enable us to target areas we need to improve on. Rest assured your feedback will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for evaluation.

We value you as our guest and hope to accommodate you again for a chance to provide you with a much better experience.

Sincerely,

Joel A
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2016 via mobile

Weather, hotel and food was great. The staff was excellent. Pools are outstanding. Beach was clean. This is not tour old Holiday Inn. The rooms are clean and comfortable. I have not stayed here since they remodeled. This is a family friendly kid fun location.

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2016

Spent about four days here in 2015. Overall it's a nice place to stay for a short visit. The main drawback to it is the decor - very outdated. The nice thing is that it's right next to the beach. Upon request/reservation you can get a room/suite overlooking the ocean. Great for sunrises. The bar is pretty good in the hotel.

Room tip: Be sure to ask for an ocean SIDE room and NOT an ocean view room if you want to look directly at the ocean.
Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2016

Dear Jim T,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We are delighted to read that your overall stay was enjoyable and that you found our location commendable. However, it is disappointing to know that the hotel decors did not live up to your expectations. We have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Again, thank you for your valued feedback and we look forward to hosting you on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Christian C.
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews