We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Short stay - nice but not as nice as other Embassy Suites” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton Baltimore BWI - Washington Intl. Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Baltimore BWI - Washington Intl. Airport
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Linthicum Heights
DC
2 reviews
“Short stay - nice but not as nice as other Embassy Suites”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

In general I love staying at Embassy Suites - having 2 rooms is great, we LOVE the manager's reception in the evening, and really appreciate having breakfast included.

This particular Embassy Suites hotel had great service and friendly staff, but seemed a bit run down.

Some problems: There were some exposed staples near the toilet paper dispenser (which I poked myself on!), the bathroom vanity in general seemed cheap, and the closet doors (mirrored accordion-fold) didn't open properly. Also the in-room phones didn't seem to work (you'd push the button for operator or room service or whatever and it just beeped at you). The TV and dresser weren't as nice as we were expecting, but still adequate.

Breakfast was good, but not as nice as some Embassy Suites we've stayed at. Coffee was VERY weak.

What we liked:
Fantastic Manager's Reception (and the manager seemed really friendly too). Great dinner at the restaurant (although selections were somewhat limited). Pool was nice. Room was clean. Bed was fairly comfortable. We appreciate the free coffee and paper available. They let us check in very early.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgirl1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChuckChandler, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Baltimore BWI - Washington Intl. Airport, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
travelgirl1234567,

Thanks for your response. First off, I want to apologize for the unfortunate situation you found with the staples in the bathroom. We know that some of the bathroom vanities are beginning to show some wear and need to be restained and sealed. I would love to be able to know which room you were in to address the challenges you had in the bathroom. We are addressing these long term challenges through our preventive maintenance program, though apparently have not addressed this room yet. Your affirmative comments about the staff and service are appreciated. I will be sure to share your thoughts and comments with the approrpiate department heads. Thanks for choosing to stay with us. I hope you return when your travels from DC bring you back to Baltimore. Thanks! Chuck Chandler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    249
    148
    100
    34
See reviews for
300
166
50
306
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
245 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

I stayed here one night at the end of a trip to Washington, DC with my elderly father, prior to flying out the next morning. Most Embassy Suites are very similar, so the staff can really make a difference and they definitely do here. Andrea at the front desk knows exactly how to execute perfect customer service with a smile. She is very friendly and wants to do whatever possible to make the guests feel special and welcome. When my key didn't work at my room, I called the front desk from the house desk at the elevator and she came right away with a replacement, apologizing for any inconvenience.

The hospitality really started with Curtis, the shuttle driver. He picked up up at the AmTrak terminal soon after I called and was very courteous, helpful, and friendly - yes, I know, sounds like I'm describing a Boy Scout, it fits here. When it was time to go to an off-site restaurant (look for review of Snyders), he knew exactly what we were looking for.

The suite was typical, comfortable, clean, etc. The breakfast was also typical Embassy and very satisfying. Plenty of tv channels and the wireless internet worked great.

In the morning, it was only an 8-minute ride to the airport.

This is a great place to stay - I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Suites ending in 01 and 37 are a little larger, at least in the living room part.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank toomuchtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChuckChandler, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Baltimore BWI - Washington Intl. Airport, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
toomuchtravel,

Wow! What a great review. Thanks so much for your acknowledgement of the team members in particular. We pride ourselves on the service delivery of our team members and it sounds like Andrea and Curtis delivered!! I apprecioate you taking the time to share your thoughts and hope to have you back as a guest when your travels bring you back to Baltimore. Chuck Chandler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

I am a frequent traveler and stay at many Hilton properties. This is the worst embassy suites I have stayed in. The rooms need a complete makeover. The sofa and chairs were stained, the furniture old.

The check in staff was very friendly and the managers reception and bar area very good. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wantitnice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChuckChandler, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Baltimore BWI - Washington Intl. Airport, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Dear wantitnice,

Thanks for your feedback. I am sorry we did not meet your expectation on the condition of the furniture in your room. Our Property Operations/Engineering team has a very extensive Preventive Maintenance program for our guestrooms. Apparently there is a room that needs attention, immediately. If there is anyway you can share the room number with me, I would greatly appreciate it. I will make sure to share your concerns with our Housekeeping and Engineering staff to ensure they are double checking roms so that others do not experience the same challenges you did. Our team takes great pride in the product we deliver to our guests. If your travels ever bring you back to the area, I would appreciate another opportunity to regain your trust. Thanks. Chuck Chandler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

This Embassy gets the job done as a business class suites hotel for BWI. The suites aren't particularly spacious as far as Embassy's tend to go, but they are far from unbearably small. The decor has an 80's feel with a failure to renovate, which is par for the course for Embassy. Color schemes do not seem to have been adjusted for several decades.

That aside, the suites are relatively clean. The bathrooms are typical of a business class hotel with adequate amenities.

I did not stop for the breakfast, but in passing it appeared to be standard fare for the Hilton business class hotels.

The worst part of the hotel was the overly used beds which seem to need a refreshing. They have made it to the point when one too many people has worn down the springs over the years.

Room Tip: All rooms are relatively similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FPodesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChuckChandler, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Baltimore BWI - Washington Intl. Airport, responded to this review, 13 January 2012
FPodesta,

Thanks for reaching out and sharing your thoughts on your stay with us. I appreciate your comments regarding the furnishings in the room. Due to an effective preventive maintenance program, though the color scheme is showing some dating, we are working very hard to keep the rooms themselves maintained and clean. As you make reference, the Breakfast presentation and offerings are done to meet the Embassy Suites Standards so that our guests can maintain consistent experiences from hotel to hotel. I am a little concerned about your remarks regarding the soft bed experience. Our beds are rotated on a quarterly basis and are relatively new. I hope what you might have experienced was the softness of our "Super Topper" mattress pad that is quite plush ansd fluffy. However, if we could find out the room you stayed in, we would review the bed itself and make sure that it is replaced, if necessary. Guest comfort and safety are two of our top priorities. Thanks for staying with us, I hope we have a chance to take care of you again. Chuck Chandler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
central Illinois
Level Contributor
148 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

The rooms at this Embassy actually seemed larger than normal. They were deeper putting the bedroom further away from the room door which helps keep the sleeping area quiet when the hotel is crowded. Service was good and price was right, possibly because it is in the hotel district and has a lot of nearby competition. My only complaint was they kept all of the hot food behind the cook to order bar. It wasn't too big a deal for us as the hotel was virtually empty. However, if the hotel has more guests it would mean you would have to stand in line to get any hot food and that is not a good thing for those in a hurry.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chriscentralIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChuckChandler, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Baltimore BWI - Washington Intl. Airport, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
chriscentralillinois,

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. Your comments are appreciated and valued. We do serve all of the hot food from the line, especially during slower times to make sure that we are serving the freshest food possible. During busier times, we have a seperate buffet station that we stock and allows those who want scrambled eggs, breakfast meats and potatoes to circumvent the Omelet line and reduces the time you are waiting. Glad you appreciated the size of the rooms as well. The deeper rooms do help with allowing guests a little quieter sleep. Look forward to having you back if yur travels bring you back to the Baltimore area. Chuck Chandler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Linthicum Heights hotels
1.3 km away
Hilton Garden Inn BWI Airport
Hilton Garden Inn BWI Airport
#2 of 29 in Linthicum Heights
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
1.2 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, BWI Airport (Baltimore)
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#1 of 29 in Linthicum Heights
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
1.1 km away
Hyatt Place Baltimore/BWI Airport
Hyatt Place Baltimore/BWI Airpor...
#3 of 29 in Linthicum Heights
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hampton Inn Baltimore - Washington International Airport
Hampton Inn Baltimore - Washingt...
#5 of 29 in Linthicum Heights
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
1.5 km away
Hilton Baltimore BWI Airport
Hilton Baltimore BWI Airport
#8 of 29 in Linthicum Heights
4.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
1.3 km away
BWI Airport Marriott
BWI Airport Marriott
#7 of 29 in Linthicum Heights
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Baltimore BWI - Washington Intl. Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Baltimore BWI - Washington Intl. Airport

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Baltimore BWI - Washington Intl. Airport
Address: 1300 Concourse Dr, Linthicum Heights, MD 21090-1014
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Linthicum Heights
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Linthicum Heights
#15 Business Hotel in Linthicum Heights
Price range (per night): $152 - $301
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Baltimore BWI - Washington Intl. Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hilton Hotels, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Booking.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Baltimore BWI - Washington Intl. Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Hotel Baltimore
Embassy Suites Linthicum
Linthicum Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing