We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Braddock Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in LaVale
Mid-atlantic
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We stayed 2 nights at Best Western Braddock Motor Inn, and it met our expectations. Our room had 2 queens and there was plenty of room--they even let us bring our bikes up if we wanted. The kids enjoyed the heated pool after a day of biking. (The hot tub jets weren't working on the spa, but that wasn't a big issue for us.) There is also an exercise room with sauna, weight machines, steppers, and treadmill. Breakfast was included, with cold cereal, instant oatmeal, make your own waffles, muffins, toast, tea, coffee, juice, etc. There was also another hot food option each day--one day sausage and scrambled eggs, which were pretty good; and the next day, biscuits and gravy, which we didn't try. The carpets and window sills weren't spotless, but sheets and towels were. It's in a convenient location to Rt 68, but still quiet, and the desk staff were helpful when we asked questions. We would stay again.

Room Tip: If stairs are difficult, ask for main floor, as elevators/luggage trollies are limited.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winindc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    160
    70
    37
    42
See reviews for
178
138
41
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee Ridge, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

I lived in the Lavale/Cumberland MD area as a boy many years ago and was returning for a visit. This property has been here as long as I can remember. It has been well maintained and is perfectly fine for an overnight stay. They have an indoor pool that seems to be a favorite for families with kids - something other hotels in the area probably do not have. The room was clean and the bed and pillows comfortable. The AC unit was noisy and located inside the room in a cabinet and apparently vented to the outside by passing under the enclosed sink. As a result, the hot exhaust air heated the cold water pipes so the first minute of "cold" water was very warm. My room had a shower and the shower rim was high enough you could have used it for a tub if you were a duck. The room was non smoking and free of fumes, but the corridor smelled of smoke to me, although there was no evidence of anyone currently smoking. I paid $68 for a Thursday night ahead of a "big weekend" where the rates were nearly double for hotels in the area. As a Best Western, this one was about on par with others as a middle of the line motel. Breakfast was adequate, but barely - can't say that I love motel orange juice or the perfectly circular "eggs" that were served. (If you stay in motels, you recognize immediately the orange juice dispenser that puts out OJ that tastes like it was made partly from the rind as well as the pulp - travellers, you know what I mean. Compare rates for this property and the Sleep Inn in Frostburg. It is perhaps a bit more basic, but might be cheaper.

Room Tip: Some rooms are on a lower level and some on a higher level. Because the property slopes, you can en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrTopDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
348 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

My wife and I took one of the smaller rooms at the BW Braddock Motor Inn for one night. It's accommodations appeared basic, if dated, with just enough space for our luggage (one bag and a carry on) and a tiny desk on which to put our laptop. Ok, hey, we're only staying one night.

But the room was quite warm, so we decided to turn on the a/c unit. Since the windows at this hotel are glass block the a/c unit is part of the chest of drawers. Which means it's right at the foot of the bed. Which means it's loud and cycling on/off throughout the night. Add to it the fact that the control panel was pretty dinged up (and thus the a/c temp dial impossible to turn) we were left with whatever setting the a/c unit had to start with.

The shower was another trip. There is no tub, just a shower stall. It's controls either turned the water on the cold side or the hot. No inbetween. Quite the challenge. The door into the toilet/shower room was also rather warped. So opening it and closing it required a healthy push/pull.

But, hey, at least the wi-fi works. And the room was less than $65 a night.

What does not work however (and this is not a fault of the hotel) is smart phone access. Neither of our Droid phones could get anything more that 1X coverage--and that was intermittent at best. So, if you need access to those devices be aware--you could be in for some difficulty.

Room Tip: Be aware that the double bed rooms are very tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MongoSchwartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

A very beautiful, well maintained hotel with a lot of character. The indoor pool is large and clean without the steamy chlorine smell of many indoor pools. Water temp is just right. Skylights provide nice lighting, Just a look at the many well cared for indoor plants lets you know that you will be well cared for! Our family of five got adjoining rooms at a great price-it was on the lower floor and there may have been some moisture issues in our room (142) it was a bit musty but it is such a beautiful hotel that I just opened the window & forgot about it! The room that my children stayed in was odor free. I stayed here 2 years ago and it was great then also, A great hotel for a longer stay because of all the nice outdoor areas surrounding the building-a swing, a bbq pit, picnic table all beside a babbling stream. Outside of the pool area is a nice shaded deck with sitting areas. This is an older hotel but that is a plus for me because it has sort of a retro (which I love) feel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We stayed here during a recent power outage, and I am so glad to have found a hotel with such a nice pool for the kids. My kids spent a lot of time in the large and well maintained pool. My husband and I enjoyed being able to sit on the outside deck next to the pool, where we were able to watch the kids swim, but be away from the water while we worked on our computers. Breakfast was just ok...weak coffee, and not much selection, but it served its purpose, and I liked the fact that it was available until 10 am. The room was clean, the location was great, and I liked having to use the key card to get in the door from the parking lot. The fridge and microwave in the room was a huge plus, as was the professional front desk staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawnno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near LaVale
0.9 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 5 in LaVale
225 reviews
7.4 km away
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
#3 of 4 in Cumberland
613 reviews
11.7 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites Cumberland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 km away
Gunter Hotel
Gunter Hotel
#2 of 6 in Frostburg
79 reviews
1.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites La Vale - Cumberland
7.1 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around LaVale

Been to Best Western Braddock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Braddock Inn

Property: Best Western Braddock Inn
Address: 1268 National Highway, LaVale, MD 21502-7607 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Braddock Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > LaVale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in LaVale
Price range (per night): $86 - $179
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Braddock Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose this full-service La Vale, Maryland hotel located minutes away from Fort Cumberland, Frostburg State University and the Rock-Speedway. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Braddock Motor Inn, a full-service hotel where guests will find friendly customer service, an array of amenities and comfortable accommodations at an affordable price. Conveniently located just off the highway in far western Maryland, this La Vale hotel offers 103 well-appointed guest rooms and suites, each featuring cable satellite television with HBO® and free wireless high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests will wake to a complimentary continental breakfast before taking advantage of such amenities as an indoor heated swimming pool, steam room/sauna, exercise facility, complimentary airport shuttle, business services and meeting facilities. The hotel also features Henny's Grill and Bar and Gehauf's Restaurant. Pets are welcome with restrictions. The BEST WESTERN Braddock Motor Inn is conveniently located six miles from many key area attractions such as the Western Maryland Scenic Railroad, historic Fort Cumberland, the Thrasher Carriage Museum and George Washington's headquarters. The hotel is also close to the C&O Canal Place and the Rock-Speedway. Business travelers will find themselves minutes away from CSX Transportation, Alliant Techsystems, New Page and both federal and state prisons. The friendly, helpful staff at the BEST WESTERN Braddock Motor Inn is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in La Vale, Maryland. Make a reservation today and save! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Braddock Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Braddock Motor Hotel Lavale
Best Western Lavale
Best Western Braddock Hotel
Lavale Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing