We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crab cakes to die for!”
Review of Nick's Airport Inn

Nick's Airport Inn
Ranked #15 of 290 Restaurants in Hagerstown
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: For over 50 years, Nick's Airport Inn has been serving quality cuisine from scrumptious seafood to delectable desserts to vintage wines! Our phenomenal growth over the years attests to our reputation for serving the best of everything - choice meats and seafood, farm-fresh vegetables, and homemade breads. Our dishes are all made from scratch using the finest ingredients! Guests return time and again to enjoy a number of superb entrees like Nick's Famous Crab Cakes with jumbo lump crab and housemade tartar or the Sizzlin' Certified Black Angus N.Y. Strip Steak. Enjoy your meal in one of Airport Inn's ten elegantly appointed dining room including an atrium-enclosed piano bar. Our staff can also meet all of your party and catering needs with in-house facilities ready to accommodate parties from 10 people to 100! Call today to ask about our on- or off-site catering options. When you're looking for a superb dining experience for your special occasion or casual Friday night supper, join us at Nick's Airport Inn!
Reviewed 26 March 2015

Went to a business meeting and they offered dinner. Of course, I wouldn't turn down a meal.
I was so surprised, at an airport restaurant, I would find the biggest, most delicious crab cakes ever. I have been dreaming of going back but haven't made it yet. My friend had. Filet Mignon and declared it to be awesome. The rest of the meal matched up perfectly. Bread, salad veggies all, of equal value.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Toni L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul G, Owner at Nick's Airport Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2015

So glad you loved the crab cakes, Toni! It sounds like you had a great time. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review, and hopefully you'll be able to visit again soon!

All the best,
Paul Giannaris, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 102 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2015

With friends, we dined here on 3/21/15. We've dined here before (see review Nov. '14) but this was to the first for our friends. We wanted a leisurely, quiet dinner with great food and excellent service. Nick's Airport Inn filled the criteria. When making the rez I asked for a table served by Amy (again, see Nov. '14).

Our friends raved about their prime rib ($28) and ranked it with simply the best they've ever had. Both had salads and, again, that received rave reviews ("The tomatoes taste like they should!"). We had the Maryland Rockfish ($26) - Wonderful. Nick's wine list is excellent and wine-by-the glass is generous.

Our server (as requested) was Amy and we all agreed that she substantially added to the overall enjoyment of our dining here.

We were in the lounge this time and found it as comfortable as the main dining room. A pianist added to the evening.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dutch1638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul G, Owner at Nick's Airport Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2015

It sounds like you and your friends had a wonderful night, and I'm so glad! Amy is fantastic, and I can't wait to share your warm compliments about the service. Hopefully you can join us again soon!

All the best,
Paul Giannaris, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2015

The crabcakes, were great. The meal was good. Listened to a seminar. Won prizes. Had a good time. Learned a good deal about investing during the seminar.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank posionone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul G, Owner at Nick's Airport Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2015

Hey there, I'm glad that you had a good time at your seminar here -- not only getting to enjoy some tasty treats but also learning a good deal about investing as well. We'd love to have you back next time you're looking to have a productive lunch or even just to stop in to get a bite to eat at dinnertime.

'Til then,
Paul Giannaris, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2015 via mobile

My husband and i ate here last week it was my first time and his second, we ate in the dinning room area which i thought was out of date looking, i think i much rather sat in the lounge area. We both ordered the steak and crab cake. Crab cakes were excellent steak was ok i thought they were going to be better than they were. We also orederd the duck rangoons which were really good,the calimarie was ok but could have used more seasoning. Chocolate moose cake was good as well. Also surprised they had no drink menu from the bar just a small list of wines and bottled beers.

Thank kellybelly2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul G, Owner at Nick's Airport Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2015

Thank you for joining us! Overall, it sounds like you had a great date night. I'm sorry if you found a couple of the items to be less satisfying than others; however, this is really great feedback for us. I'll be sure to pass along this information to the kitchen staff. Hopefully you both will be able to visit us again soon!

All the best,
Paul Giannaris, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2015

Went to nicks from a recommendation from the Cobblestone Hotel in Wayneboro. Made reservation, we got there early checked our coat and were seated right away and they were busy as its Valentine's Day weekend.

Started off with wine, salads came but no bread and all other tables had bread. Simply asked and bread arrived. She was a little slow as water glass sat empty as she walked by table twice and glass on edge. She made up for it by taking great care and making a great recommendation on their raspberry cheesecake!

Great dessert after having a amazing prime rib and crab cake top 2 crab cakes ever in my life! Gf had filet and cooked perfect and tasted great! All in all great experience will go back and tell others to dine here!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JR W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nick's Airport Inn also viewed

 

Been to Nick's Airport Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing