We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Fun Activities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rocky Gap Casino Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Flintstone
Certificate of Excellence
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Location, Fun Activities”
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We went on a 5 day family vacation to the Rocky Gap Resort. The views of the lake and mountiains were awesome, the lodge was really nice, and the activities for our active family were perfect. We used the canoes and kayaks and the staff was some of the most polite and friendly you could ever encounter. The hiking trails are many with varied difficulty and the swimming pool is really nice. The only improvement is offering some type of vegetable for the kids menu. Our daughter did not want the selection of 5 fried items and asked for a salad. I had to pay for the salad where as you could eat all the fried food available.

Room Tip: The lake view is worth paying for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberlyR492, Executive Assistant to General Manager at Rocky Gap Casino Resort, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very fortunate to have such a wonderful staff at Rocky Gap Resort. Thank you for your suggestions for our children's menu. We are always striving to improve our services and will certainly consider your suggestions. Hopefully, we see you and your family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    495
    443
    153
    69
    63
See reviews for
259
609
38
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washngton, DC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

This is our 2nd stay here at the Rocky Gap Lodge, and it's a lovely place to stay especially if you book a lake view room and get a room on an upper floor towards the right side of the hotel (towards the far end of the lake). The downside is if you book online (which I did), they (oddly) don't guarantee whether your room will have one or two beds (even if you enter it in the special request box). They didn't have our "requested" two bed room when we checked in, but they put us in a junior suite (queen bed and sofa bed) for no extra charge. (Although, the desk told us they'll guarantee the type of room if you call in your reservation.) They also have a few types of suites.
The park and lodge are located just off I-68, about 7 miles east of Cumberland, Md. We were on our way back east from the annual trip to the midwest to visit family, and this is a great place to stop for a few nights to recover from the driving and re-charge before driving into D.C. (about 3 hours away). (I like to stop the last night outside of the city and then drive into town after rush hour ends the next morning.)
The lodge faces the lake on one side and the golf course on the other, and the lake is just beautiful. It's a 243 acre man-made lake surrounded by tree-covered mountains. It's open year-round, and rooms are reasonably priced. Rooms are nice, public areas of the hotel are attractive. There is a main dining room (also open for breakfast) with good food, a nice wine list and a wonderful view of the lake, a lounge next door (with a separate lunch and dinner menu) and a golf shop lounge/cafe (with a separate lunch and dinner menu) located next to the pool. The main dining room menu runs in the $20 range per entree for dinner, and it is lined with windows overlooking the lake. Breakfast here is buffett style for $17.00 (with an omelet station on weekends). We thought dinner in the dining room was good and breakfast just ok. Food prices in the lounge and golf shop/cafe are cheaper ($8-15 range) and a more casual menu. We also ate in the golf shop cafe, and had the special (half rack of ribs, fries and coleslaw for $15), and it was good but almost too much food.
The pool and jacuzzi are quite nice and are located next to the (small) gym. The pool is enclosed in a glass-covered room with a retractable roof for nice weather. There are various places to sit outside by the lake when the weather's nice, and the lodge staff are nice.
Lots to do outside of the lodge including golf, hiking, swimming in the lake (3 beaches in the park), boating, etc. (Check their website for more information.) Or if you are inclined to relax, this is a great place to do it. They also have a conference center, and we heard from staff they are planning to go ahead with building a casino here.
Cumberland, Md is a short drive from the park and is worth a visit. It has a pretty downtown with a pedestrian street and a couple good cafes. There is a historic district just up the hill with some pretty old homes, the Allegheny County Courthouse (beautiful building) and some other administrative buildings in historic buildings. It's also the site of a historic fort. If you are there on Fri-Sat-Sun from May through December and have a few free hours, catch the Scenic Western Maryland Railroad. It leaves from the old railroad station (next to the start of the C&O Canal park). We caught it by chance on the 2nd trip of the season, and we had a great time. It takes a 32 mile route up the valley side to Frostburg, Md and back (the engine turns around on an old turntable...bring your video camera). They run the trip with both steam engines and diesel (catch it when it's the steam train). It was the highlight of our stay. (They have a website with more info.)
It's not a perfect place to stay, but what is? But we really enjoy it, and we plan to come back this summer for a few days with family. We're told it's really pretty in the fall.

Room Tip: Book a lake view room and ask for an upper floor (for the best lake views).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Albany
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2012

My daughter attends college in Washington DC and we drive by this property regularly on I-68 when we visit her from Ohio. I have wanted to stay at this gorgeous resort since our first trip to DC and I finally got to do so this week. What a gem! In case you're wondering, it IS as beautiful on the inside as it is on the outside. I went online and got a very attractive pre-paid rate for the room. While I found the restaurant and bar prices to be higher than I expected, the service and attention from staff was fantastic. There's all kinds of outdoor activities to participate in - but we only had time to squeeze in a hike. We will budget more time for our next visit to enjoy the boating, pool, beach, etc. If you're a golfer, you will appreciate their spectacular course designed by Jack Nicklaus himself.

It's about two hours outside of DC which makes it a convenient getaway for people on the East Coast. We will definitely be staying there again soon!

Room Tip: Request a lakeside room - you won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AceIsMyName
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberlyR492, Executive Assistant to General Manager at Rocky Gap Casino Resort, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your time at Rocky Gap! Thank you for your kind words - we look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, NY
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

We saw this from the highway on the drive down, and it looked kinda interesting in a "what the heck is that doing in a state park" way. So on the return, and we decided on a place quick to recover from the drive, we got off the Interstate and signed in without a reservation. We got a clean, large, comfortable room, thanks to the friendly front desk staff (less expensive on the golf course side than the lake side). The in-house restaurant offers both dinners and pub grub as well as a morning brunch; all a little pricey, I thought, but the food (especially the brunch biscuits and gravy and fresh fruit) was good. Since it was early in the season, we got in easily, though later in the year you should probably call ahead.

Room Tip: Course side rooms should be less expensive than lake side
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJMAlbany_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberlyR492, Executive Assistant to General Manager at Rocky Gap Casino Resort, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
We are thrilled that you happened upon our resort! Thank you for your positive feeback. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Great place to stay to get away from the hustle and bustle of the DC/Baltimore Metro-Area. Only a 2-hour drive (a little closer than similar place like Deep Creek) which was nice. Hotel was fine. Pros: Lots of TV channels (because at night, there isn't a whole lot to do), outdoor activities (hiking trails, rental boats, lake-front beach, golf, bike rentals, etc.). Cons: Not a lot of places to eat nearby (hotel restaurant looked okay, but we ventured out to Cumberland for lunch and dinner - breakfast we were a captive audience though with only the buffet available - good, but not great). The room itself is fine - bed was comfy (although pillows are very flat - another reviewer mentioned that and they were right) and amenities were fine for a night. Nothing terribly fancy, but that was okay. Get the lakefront view - it's worth it. Hotel staff was very helpful and we were able to check in early and check out late (definitely worth the ask). I would definitely return.

Room Tip: Get the lakefront view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jgoldscher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberlyR492, Executive Asstant to General Manager at Rocky Gap Casino Resort, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flintstone
5.9 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites Cumberland
10.8 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland
10.3 km away
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
#3 of 4 in Cumberland
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 km away
Best Western Braddock Inn
37.6 km away
The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs
The Country Inn of Berkeley Spri...
#2 of 4 in Berkeley Springs
181 reviews
23.7 km away
Gunter Hotel
Gunter Hotel
#2 of 6 in Frostburg
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Flintstone

Been to Rocky Gap Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Gap Casino Resort

Property: Rocky Gap Casino Resort
Address: 16701 Lakeview Rd NE, Flintstone, MD 21530-1059 (Formerly Rocky Gap Lodge and Golf Resort)
Region: United States > Maryland > Flintstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Flintstone
Price range (per night): $158 - $287
Hotel Class:3 star — Rocky Gap Casino Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A popular resort that promises cozy comfort in the woods - it is situated in the heart of Rocky Gap State Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au and getaroom.com so you can book your Rocky Gap Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky Gap Lodge And Golf Hotel Flintstone
Rocky Gap Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing