We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Somers Cove Motel(Crisfield)(Great Value!)
USD 90
USD 77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
USD 160
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 88
USD 82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge(Princess Anne)
USD 83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 83
USD 78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 131
USD 109
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Island Inn and Suites(Piney Point)(Great Value!)
USD 117
USD 112
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge(Pocomoke City)
USD 88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 136
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (12)
Filter reviews
12 results
Traveller rating
11
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
11
1
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 12 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2017

The wife and I visited with Susan in October, 2016. I had wanted to visit Smith Island for years to check out the place. It's pretty much in the middle of the Chesapeake Bay, 8 miles from the mainland.

Susan runs a great B&B. If you're looking for fancy spa, this is not for you. If you expect a 5 star accommodation, don't come. This is a down to earth relaxing place with great home cooked meals lovingly prepared by Susan. She rents out 2 rooms that shares a hall bath. Go with the flow and you'll have a great time.

The B&B is clean and comfortable. The food is outstanding. You can purchase dinners from Susan for additional cost. The crab cakes are the best and we have had our shares of crab cakes over the years. Susan takes great care of her guests. It's BYOB.

There isn't much on the island so don't expect shops or entertainment. If you want night life in a bar or party in a club, don't go. If you enjoy the quiet night life of sitting out and watching the stars, this would be it. This takes you back in time where you can relax and figure out how to entertain yourself. She provides bikes, kayaks, books and beautiful scenery. We kayaked around the island and over to Tylerton. Quite a work out with the tide. We also rode the bikes around the island and learned a bit about the island. Some of the roads were flooded and it was a blast riding through the water and watching a crab cross the road.

We read about the history of the island and the lives of the watermen. We attended a Sunday morning service with the local families and were warmly welcomed. We discussed the challenges facing the island and the determination of the residents to pass this unique culture down to the future generations. These are experiences that cannot be gleamed by watching TV.

For most people who take the ferry over for the day and walk away being disappointed because they were bored with nothing to do, they've missed the point. Stay the night and enjoy the tranquility and find out what's been missing in our hectic lives.

Room Tip: Get the crab cakes.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sunnishine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2015

Susan is a charming woman, and a 13th generation islander. She knows where to go and what to do in Ewell. Her home is a welcome respite from the world - clean, comfortable and she can't do enough to make you at home, offering bikes, boats and dinner. Her breakfasts are spectacular, the beds are comfortable, the rooms are air conditioned. Her porch has great views of the water and the sunsets and the stars. She offers all the literature about the island that you may be interested to absorb. And she makes it easy to visit -- arranging for boat pickup in Crisfield, transporting luggage and bikes to her home from the dock, preparing the famous Smith Island cake from scratch for your optional dinner. If you need a break from reality and enjoy island life, check out Ewell and Smith Island and stay with Susan!

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ellen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2015

Overnight accommodations and limited in Ewell on Smith Island and this is the best you can get. You can't really get a feel for the place and culture in a day trip, so plan on at least one evening on the island. Susan Evans is a gracious host who turns her home over to you and makes you feel like family. Nothing fancy but cozy, clean comfortable with a to die for view. Breakfast is included but you absolutely must have her cook you a meal. Freshest crab you'll ever have - awesome crab cake and her signature (this is the real thing) Smith Island Cake. She'll go out of her way to arrange passage on a ferry. At her suggestion, we took a tour with Tim Marshall and went all over the marshes, looked for artifacts on the shores and popped into Tylerton on a nearby island. If you REALLY want to learn about Chesapeake Bay culture and ecology you should go to Smith Island and stay at Susan's - she's 13th generation Smith Islander and I learned more in 48 hrs. then I have in a lifetime. I would go back to her place in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2015

My wife and I visited after a hectic week of work and family issues. The pace slows at Susan's B&B on Smith Island.

This is the finest B&B I have visited (not the best appointed but the warmest and friendliest).

Tip: First, when you go, sign up to have Susan Evans (a 13th generation Islander), make the dinners ($30 extra) for you. Her food far surpasses any other food on the island, and we had some other vacationers visit Susan's for breakfast come a begging. She had to turn them away, sorry. Seriously, have Susan make the dinners. I recommend her crab cakes, corn pudding, fresh tomatoes, and home made ice cream. Nothing else on the island comes close.

Tip: The island is dry. No alcohol can be sold. You must bring any alcohol or wine you want.

Tip: Bring bikes or use Susan's, or arrange through Susan a cart rental from locals she knows. She is better than the dockside vendors.

Tip: Crabs drive the island economy, and watermen. Read up before you go to get more on the experience.

Susan had bikes and kayaks for her guests. If you want these check with her, also check with her before you rent any cart or bike. She went the extra mile for transportation and we arranged a 24 hour cart with someone for my wife.

Review:

This is an excellent B&B. It is however on Smith Island, so do not expect anything but a deep and abiding peacefully slow pace. The island power went out for a half hour, so the local company dashed around getting the power back on for the peeler crab tanks. You will NOT have the abiding smell of seafood processing on the island with the breezy bay air, and Susan's is located far enough away. The local people are friendly, so wave hello. They love to talk, and Susan Evans the proprietor appears to know everyone. There is a deep beauty and sorrow amidst this island's battle to hold it's people and land together as a community. There is no crime on the island and no police. You leave a bike somewhere to shop or visit and it will be there for you.

She (Susan Evans) is an experienced and knowledgeable innkeeper, who knows the B&B business and visits other B&Bs for ideas. She has the easy depth of knowledge of B&B operations, and makes the tasks look simple. The difference between this B&B on the island (Susan's) and others is her knowledge of excellent food and excellent operations as a B&B. She is well read and open and balances well between being those too talkative hosts and those too taciturn hosts that make B&Bs stays less enjoyable. As a thirteenth generation Evans, she knows the local history. She is an amazing cook, with the finest crab cakes you will ever eat.

The beds are large in the small rooms which are quite sufficient, and comfortable. The window air conditioner must be keep running for these rooms to be comfortable in the island climate. Insect life is significant, so bring a strong repellent, as the normal off won't work well enough. The house is across the road (if you can call it that) from the water, and you can launch from the inn's shoreline, or sit on the porch watching the waterfront.

Note: Some wallpaper was in need of repair in the upper part of the house, a common issue in Ewell's often muggy climate. A minor issue to be addressed, and it will not detract. The house is beautifully appointed and the beds were comfortable, and the house is appointed with two baths (1 full) for the three bedrooms.

Hot water was plentiful, but you may note the island's very soft though good water will feel slippery on the skin. Drinking water is good. With this soft water, you can rinse an extra minutes but the slippery feeling does not abate! The soap will be gone and your skin is very clean. Within minutes of drying off, you will notice how soft your skin feels so bathing is like applying lotion while showering. Susan mentioned the showering difference.

Conclusion: If you go to Smith Island, and you should, you will get a wonderful experience at Susan's. It's warm, well appointed with antiques, and a wonderful warm local Innkeeper who is an excellent chef. Susan arranged travel to the dock and went the extra mile to see us off.



Note Susan's isn't handicapped appointed, but was navigable for my wife who has a cane.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, but one overlooks the water directly. Doesn't matter, though, you'll want to sit on the porch downstairs.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Joevisit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

Susan Evans made her home our home. Fabulous meals, comfortable bed, and the friendliest hospitality ever. Smith Island is a waterman's town dating from the 1600's - a special experience we highly recommend! Get out to the island on the Island Belle from the Crisfield MD City Dock.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Ray T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews