We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a five-star home-cooked dinner...”

Vincent Cuisinier de Campagne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 19 - USD 34
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Our values are yours… Our restaurant is located in the heart of the Loire-Anjou-Touraine Regional Nature Park through which the Loire flows. It is punctuated by prestigious chateaux, picturesque villages in tufa stone, troglodytes... Here, amongst the rivers, vineyards and forests, nature and culture nourish themselves on harmony and even on gastronomy. Proud of this heritage, we work hand in hand with the Park around shared values. Our commitment is accredited by the “Regional Nature Park values” label, a national brand delivered by the Ministry of the Environment. We act on our level in terms of environmental protection, a stronger local solidarity economy and the well-being of women and men. To come and eat at our restaurant means you will be sure to taste local seasonal produce made respectfully for man, the environment and our guests. Our goal is to welcome you as outstanding guests and have you share in our passion.
Reviewed 26 October 2017

Madame and I enjoyed dinner here on a Tuesday night in late September, during a visit to the Loire region. We had gotten some information about the place at the tourist office in Langeais (which is an excellent source of advice, by the way) and decided it sounded attractive. No online bookings are taken, although you can do a telephone booking on 02.47.96.17.21 -- but as it happened we were driving through the village later in the afternoon and we stopped in. The establishment is the home of Chef Vincent Simon and his wife Olivia, who is in charge of desserts, and on the afternoon we drove back into the courtyard, there was the chef himself doing yard work. He gave us a warm welcome, took our reservation, and we were is business. (Reserving is a must, as there are only fifteen place for dinner in the dining room of their home, and the restaurant has begun to attract some well-deserved national attention...).

The welcome that evening was just as warm, and the dining was memorable. Aperitifs (essentially a Kir) were a great start, and our two together cost about what we've grown used to paying for one drink elsewhere. Beef on my side of the table, duck for Madame, and a fine and inexpensive local rose wine were the stars of the show. But Madame Olivia's desserts were terrific as well -- for example, I had an unusually good creme brulee. Service was at a relaxed pace, at least for the diners, although Chef and Olivia were cheerfully working hard (it's just the two of them running the operation). The dining space was not crowded, and the small fire that had been lit was welcome as well. The menu is seasonal, drawn from local and regional produce and wines, but also reflects some influences from the Simons' home region of Herve, Belgium.

At the end of the evening we said enthusiastic thank-yous, and the Chef came out and chatted with us and shook hands -- he and Olivia both seemed really committed to making all as welcome as possible, and to sending us off extremely well-fed.

And, they did exactly that. Next time we're in the area (we hope!), Vincent will be at the top of our restaurant list --

The place is a little off the main D-Route through the village of Ingrandes-de-Touraine, which in turn is a short distance east of Bourgueil, on the north side of the Loire. Follow the small signs in drive in (carefully!) through the old courtyard gate, where adequate parking is available -- you'll be very glad you did.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Itinerant_scholar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vincent c, cuisinier at Vincent Cuisinier de Campagne, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2018

Many , many , many Thanks.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2017

We arrived on our bikes soon after 12 noon and enquired after lunch. Vincent suggested we tour the vegetable garden and service would start at 12.15. He agreed hat dining on the terrace would be fine. A sunny if blustery Autumn day.

We decided to have the set lunch which seemed to be sourced from the home grown produce and their own Bourgeuil wine.

An excellent meal with good service in a lovely location surrounded by vines hanging heavy with black Cabernet franc grapes due to begin being picked next week.

Delightful

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JohnR R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

My wife and i visited this resteraunt when we were visiting the local vinyards.The building is a stunning old farmhouse set in its own grounds.We sat in the sunshine outside while we had appertifs.We ordered our meals whilst waiting in a laid baclk atmosphere.Vincent the chef and his wife were very helpfull and friendly,helping us to choose.The menu menu was very rustic,with all the ingreadinents and meat produced from the farm.The meal was nicely presented,looking lovely on the plate with all the colours.It is like sitting in someones front room,but hey its all part of the quirrkyness.definatly worth the visit

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ian k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

Having known about this restaurant for a while we finally got round to making a reservation. You need to make a reservation as Vincent and his wife Olivia seat only 10 - 12 people per session. The welcome was warm and welcoming. We sat outside for our apero whilst perusing the menu. Inside is charming just like a family home. I started with the salad de potager. I have never tasted anything so fresh, flavoursome and delicious. This was followed by the trout, delicious. I finished off with the rice pudding served with a strawberry couli and fresh strawberries. To be served with such delicious food , beautifully presented straight from the garden is a privilege. They have an excellent wine menu too, of course! Definitely we will be going again. My husband enjoyed his tete de beau, stuffed chicken and rhubarb tart.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jane0333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vincent S, Gérant at Vincent Cuisinier de Campagne, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2017

We went to this small restaurant for a mid-week dinner. As has been said before, it is like eating in someone's personal dining room. The welcome was very warm, with the chef coming to greet us and his wife front of house.

My husband started with escargots and I began with oeufs meurette - delicious. Then we had the beef in a local red wine sauce and the lapeareau which was cooked in a lovely creamy sauce with lots of fresh vegetables and green lentils. Very good. For dessert poached cherries with a pistachio cream and îles flottantes. The wine list is extensive.

It was a lovely summer's evening and we looked out across the potager. The beauty of this intimate restaurant is the care and attention paid by the chef to only using fresh, seasonal local ingredients.

We hope to be back.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stanleyalb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vincent S, Epoux de la patronne at Vincent Cuisinier de Campagne, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Thank you of your nice comment. We have a lot of pleasure to receive from lovers of France.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vincent Cuisinier de Campagne also viewed

Bourgueil, Indre-et-Loire
Saint Patrice, Indre-et-Loire
 
Bourgueil, Indre-et-Loire
Bourgueil, Indre-et-Loire
 
Brehemont, Indre-et-Loire
Bourgueil, Indre-et-Loire
 

Been to Vincent Cuisinier de Campagne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing