We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Just fine for the price” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Cambridge
United States
Level Contributor
187 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Just fine for the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2008

I got nervous from the outside, but the check-in was friendly (despite the sign telling me I had 10 minutes to report any problems in my room or I was charged no matter what). Our room was a king non-smoking-- and that right there makes it good for us-- so many budget properties don't have king beds. It was clean enough (sheets and bathroom were clean, could use a big scrub in the all the corners), the bed was good, and it was quiet. We slept well, and considering it was $100 cheaper than anywhere else, we would stay again. Also, try the Ocean Odyssey for crabs and nice fish-- a family run place with great, reasonable food, and about 1 mile west on 50.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank trientalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    2
    6
    10
    24
See reviews for
8
11
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
poolesville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2007

What a pleasant surprise to have found an affordable hotel with so many amenities! From the moment we arrived till the time we left our stay was great. The gentlemen at the front desk not only were insightful but were hilarious comedians as well. After a long drive it was nice to be welcomed by smiling faces and some funny jokes(ask about his nuts!). Our room was of ample size and the beds were both clean and comfortable. The leopard skin box spring was a nice touch. The cable television reception was good and there were even adult movies to watch. The water pressure in the shower was awesome, I've never felt so clean! Conveniently located within our hotel was a liquor store with a great selection and a family restaurant with a breakfast buffet to die for! There were a few curlies on the bathroom door and the large woman across the hall made profound noises but overall I would say it was a total success. Would I stay here again? HELL YEAH! I'd even recomend it for honeymooners!

  • Liked — The jokesters at the front desk!
  • Disliked — Curlies in the bathroom
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank awesomePoolesville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2005

I have stayed in motels/hotels all over the world. This was the worst. The door of my original room would not lock and the corridor looked like it had never been cleaned, it was located in a seperate building behind the main building. People evidently lived in the downstairs rooms. Not a very secure or safe location. I asked for another room and was assigned one in the main building, which was so nasty I was afraid to walk on the carpet without shoes on. It looked like a storage room. The windows and walls were filthy. Not dirty - filthy. It was remarkable how dirty this place was. Something which appeared to be feces or other excrement clung to the walls. The box spring for the bed was rotted. I seriously considered sleeping in the car, but it was late and I was in a strange town. The entire bulding was empty with the exception of a few people which seemed to always be standing in the hall and scurried for shadows when you approached. The entire place smelled like curry. Listen to me - do not stay here.

  • Stayed November 2005, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abvicambridgemd, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 8 August 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Americas Best Value Inn Cambridge, MD for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

1) Housekeeping received additional training concerning the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

2) Maintenance was instructed to fix the door of the room first assigned to your use.

3) Management and security were informed of the people you encountered in the hall and instructed to look into the situation.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Americas Best Value Inn Cambridge, MD. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2005

We have stayed there the last two years overnight on our way to Ocean City. The people are very friendly and helpful. It is an older hotel, but not dirty. The pool is clean, and I laugh at people's reviews who expect something for nothing. I was sad the restaurant adjacent to it closed this past year, as it served as good a breakfast and lunch as you will find on the road. I will stay there next year.... don't be so hard to please folks, there is no such thing as a 50 dollar bill on sale for 20!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abvicambridgemd, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 8 August 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Americas Best Value Inn Cambridge, MD for your recent stay in our area, I am glad that your visit was a good one.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following action was taken:

• The staff members were commended for the courteous, friendly way in which they treated you, our valued guests.

I am glad that you are planning to stay at Americas Best Value Inn Cambridge, MD again next year. We are looking forward to welcoming you.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2005

It is what you would expect in a cheap place. My room was fine -- fairly clean and comfortable. But the hallways are a mess, and there is an odor of mold everywhere. It is a run down place. But the price is right. The management and staff are helpful and pleasant (talk to Jim in the morning -- he is a wealth of knowledge).

  • Stayed July 2005, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomScottsdaleAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abvicambridgemd, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 8 August 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Americas Best Value Inn Cambridge, MD for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

1) Housekeeping was instructed that they need to clean the hallways properly.

2) Management and staff received commendation concerning the courteous, friendly way in which they treat our valued guests.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Americas Best Value Inn Cambridge, MD. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambridge
0.5 km away
Days Inn & Suites Cambridge
0.9 km away
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Inn And Suites
#3 of 5 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
1.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.5 km away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
#1 of 4 in St. Michaels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
26.2 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Easton Inn & Suites
24.2 km away
Hampton Inn Easton
Hampton Inn Easton
#2 of 9 in Easton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Property: Americas Best Value Inn
Address: 2831 Ocean Gtwy, Cambridge, MD 21613-3403
Region: United States > Maryland > Cambridge
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Cambridge
Price range (per night): $77 - $108
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn Cambridge, conveniently located off of US-50. Cambridge is one of the oldest towns in Maryland and has a rich history dating back to 1684 when the town was first settled. Area attractions include Shoal Creek Mall, Dorchester County Historical Society, Harriet Tubman Museum, Blackwater National Wildlife Refuge, and the University of Maryland. After a fun day in Cambridge, guests can enjoy a meal at one of the local restaurants such as Arby's, Peking House, and Canvasback Restaurant and Pub. Our 24-hour front desk staff is here to help make our hotel your home away from home while visiting the Cambridge area. Guests are treated to free coffee available in the lobby daily from 6am-8pm. We also offer the convenience of an on-site guest laundromat. Guest rooms feature free wireless high-speed Internet access, microwave, mini-fridge, and cable TV with HBO. At Americas Best Value Inn Cambridge, we've got you covered from the time you hit the road until the time your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC and Odigeo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing