We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious”
Review of Cuba de Ayer

Cuba de Ayer
Reserve with OpenTable
Cuba de Ayer is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 30 Restaurants in Burtonsville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 12 - USD 18
Cuisines: Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 28 January 2018

I'd been here previously for lunch but never before for dinner. Went this evening with my wife and a couple of friends and everyone was thrilled with my recommendation. We ordered four different dishes - two chicken with rice, beans, and plantains, one beef, and one fish (with boiled yuca, which was especially tasty). Everything was fabulous. The service was fantastic (with a very attentive, engaging and humorous waitress). And the best was last - the flan for dessert. Actually maybe that wasn't the best - the best was the price which was exceedingly reasonable. We'll be back!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jerome B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CubaDeAyer, Manager at Cuba de Ayer, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

We're glad you came back for dinner, Jerome! Great recommendation. We hope this experience entices you to come back again for dinner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2018

We were just in Cuba in April and this restaurant brought back such wonderful memories. Great food and service. The mojitas were a little weak and expensive but typical restaurant drinks. All of our meals were large and tasty. Great empanadas. Everything was delicious and we'll be going back. Definitely make a reservation on the weekend.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MedicTraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CubaDeAyer, Manager at Cuba de Ayer, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2018

Thanks for taking the time to review us! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018

I've reviewed Cuba de Ayer before, but I have never mentioned their Pernil Pork offering.

During the Christmas holiday every year (so far), they prepare Pernil Pork, which is a whole leg of fresh pork, prepared according to their Cuban roasting recipe. It's a big hunk of pork, bone in, which is very slowly roasted most of the day for -- I believe -- only 2 holiday days. It is both served in the restaurant and for take out. We get the take out roasted leg to serve in our annual New Years Eve dinner. It is a hit every time, no surprise, because it is such a tasty meat dish. Cuba de Ayer has *many* very tasty dishes on its menu, but I am reviewing this one because it is only offered during the holiday period.

To order for take out, a customer must call in advance. And, it is a lot of weight, so a person must be able to lift it. They package it in a large cardboard box and a light aluminum roasting tray and also provide about a quart of gravy sauce. For the quality and weight the pricing is not "cheap" but certainly worth the price if you have a group to serve (easily 20 people or more). We highly recommend Cuba de Ayer in general, plus this special holiday offering.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank vs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CubaDeAyer, Manager at Cuba de Ayer, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2018

We truly appreciate you taking the time to review us! We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

Decent Mojitos and huge portions. Friendly wait staff. Tried the Habenero sauce and liked it enough that we bought a bottle to take home.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CubaDeAyer, Owner at Cuba de Ayer, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

We appreciate the review, Tom. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017 via mobile

If you are looking for Cuban food, look no further. This is the best in town, but is not cheap. I love the batido de mamey (Mamey Shake) and the tostónes. Go ahead and try them.

Thank Luis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CubaDeAyer, Owner at Cuba de Ayer, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

Thanks for the review, Luis!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cuba de Ayer also viewed

 
Burtonsville, Montgomery County
Burtonsville, Montgomery County
 
Burtonsville, Montgomery County
 

Been to Cuba de Ayer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing