We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent location very clean .All the comforts...”
other travellers have booked this property
Your comfortable vacation home awaits! Open year round!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your comfortable vacation home awaits! Open year round!
Dining area seats 6 - for when you aren't eating fresh seafood at a fantastic area restaurant! Original art adds to our Guests' enjoyment
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Your comfortable vacation home awaits! Open year round!
Dining area seats 6 - for when you aren't eating fresh seafood at a fantastic area restaurant!
Original art adds to our Guests' enjoyment
Dining area, living room looking toward front entry.
New this season: Cable  tv in living room. 2 queen bedrooms have smaller tvs.
Morning sun fills the cheerful, fully equipped kitchen. Seating for 4.
Master bedroom with queen bed, chest of drawers, tv, closet.
Cozy, romantic Queen-bedded (firm Simmons BeautyRest) room w/Cadillac Mt. view and 19' flatscreen tv
Twin bedroom for comfortable versatility. Has roomy double closet. Chest of drawers.
Half bath downstairs convenient to living/dining, kitchen. We pride ourselves on CLEANLINESS.
Deck seating (cushions,  table not shown). Have morning coffee, meals, wine in privacy.
A tasteful nautical theme throughout the house sets the tone for your coastal vacation.
Full bath w/tub shower is upstairs, and though not large, is convenient to the bedrooms. Hair dryer.
During summer, ocean breezes make the lace curtains dance!
The private deck overlooks Cadillac Mountain, a small yard, pasture w/wildflowers, birds.
Nearby: Kids love to play in tidal pools during low tide at Frazer Point. Only 2 miles from house.
Nearby: Frazer Point pier connects to a floating dock for walking or fishing, 2 miles from home.
Nearby: Quintessential Maine scenery greets those who drive, bike, walk the Schoodic Acadia Loop Rd
Moonrise over nearby Grindstone Neck, Schoodic Peninsula. Less than a mile from the house.
EASY Walk to Chase's family restaurant. Beware! Even this short stack of blueberry pancakes is huge!
Low tide fun Frazer Point oceanside picnic area, Acadia National Park, just 2 miles from the house.
Picnic tables, grill on main lawn at Frazer Point, just 2 miles from the house, part of Acadia NP.
Fishing at Frazer Point - Just watch, or bring your pole! Picnic tables, fire pits, restrooms.
One of many private picnic nooks at Frazer Point, Acadia NP, only 2 miles from the house.
Lobster boat at Frazer Point, bringing in tonight's dinner!
Yes, we watch porcupines, at Frazer Point. 2 miles from house.
Famous Schoodic Point spray, Acadia National Park, less than 6 miles from house, part of our peninsula.
Walk out to Little Moose island at low tide, Schoodic Point.
1 of several resident eagles perched in Winter Harbor tree at town landing. Under a mile from house.
A resident eagle in Winter Harbor. Easy to spot from Town Pier, or flying past our back deck.
Jordan Pond House restaurant lawn seating,  Acadia NP on Mt. Desert Island, lunch, tea, popovers.
One of many exciting options for nature cruises available in Bar Harbor,under an hour from the house
Fun at Jones Pond picnic and recreation area, less than 7 miles from the house. FREE!
LOOK! The small black arrow shows the exact location of our Acadia Winter Harbor House.
Come in! You have arrived at your Ocean Heights vacation home.  Can you smell the beach roses?
. . . . .Can you smell them now?
A visiting friend was inspired to make a lighthouse to decorate our front garden.
Side gate to our fenced in back yard, with private back deck and view of Cadillac Mountain.
One of the first things you'll see when you enter Winter Harbor. Schoodic Head in background.
One of the 2 playscapes within our private complex. Also, gazebo, picnic table, basketball hoop.
View of Cadillac Mountain in the Mount Desert section of Acadia National Park from backyard and deck
View at back - by returning guest Judith H.
One of two play areas in our private enclave
Frazer Pt (2 miles) has many private picnic nooks
Low tide provides walking access to Little Moose Island
Front entry of our Maine vacation rental home during Spring.
Frazer Point oceanside picnic area (2 mi from house) Acadia Nat'l Park
We are Bill and Kathy, the owners...just so you know we're real people. This was taken at EPCOT.
A picnic area overlooking ocean in Milbridge, approx 20 scenic miles
Some of the lobster boats moored in Winter Harbor (less than 1 mile)
Half bath on first floor.
Nautical themed decor adds to our guests' enjoyment.
Floor plan first floor
Second floor of your vacation home-away-from-home
We're fully licensed by the state of Maine, members of the area Chamber of Commerces, and verified by Flipkey
This is my husband and me enjoying Schoodic Point, Acadia National Park in Winter Harbor, Maine
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Winter Harbor, Maine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jet694336
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent location very clean .All the comforts of home and close to everything you need.”
Reviewed 28 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and my 23 year old son and I stayed at Kathleen's home in Winter Harbor in June for a week. We were very impressed with the home. It is very clean and the comforts of home. Our view on the back deck is amazing. On our first day we walked down the street to the ferry to go to Bar Harbor .What a great day .Every day we were riding bikes hiking or just sight seeing. Great restaurants all within walking distance. Kathleen had all the information at the home for everything we wanted to do. We normally go to the Jersey Shore but this is a real vacation. Thank you Kathleen.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2017
Thank you for the honor of being selected to host your stay for your vacation in Acadia National Park. You mentioned my favorite thing about the house: the view from the back deck...the mountain view is ever-changing, with fog sometimes concealing the base, at other times, the peak. We've watched eagles, gulls and osprey cavort over the open fields behind the house. And, as you probably saw, the sunsets can be a stunning backdrop to a relaxing evening of relaxation on the deck after a busy day in the Park.

Thank you for your kind comments. We hope you'll return, with BOTH sons.
Kathleen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scenic486...
1 review
“Family vacation in Acadia”
Reviewed 31 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I am very pleased that I came across this rental property after months of searching for a perfect place for my family of 6, consisting of teenagers, for our first Acadia National Park family vacation. I did not realize until we got to the place how close it is to the Schoodic Mountain which is the more peaceful part of the Acadia National PArk. The house is immaculately clean , kitchen is fully stocked (except groceries) with whatever I needed to cook for my family. The deck is a perfect spot for breakfast or simply getting a view of the Cadillac Mtn from afar. The neighborhood is very quiet. Kathleen is very helpful and her "tips and guides" which was attached to the contract were on point, even the "shortcut to Bar Harbor" ,(40 min. drive) where we avoided Ellsworth traffic. I literally used her tips as my basis for planning our 4 day visit. My only recommendation for those staying longer and prefer wide and better choices for groceries , on your way , stop at the Hannaford or Shaws food store in Ellsworth or if you are in Bar HArbor , there is also a Hannaford , because in the island there is only the IGA food store which is really small, but good enough for little things. I highly recommend this rental property, you will not be disappointed. Thank you Kathleen for sharing your house with us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and price
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2017
Thank you for your kinds remarks but especially for sharing tips for future guests.

Each time we return to the Winter Harbor house, I enjoy walking in to the the good feelings left behind by the people with whom we share the house. Please come back someday!

Kathleen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BackPacke...
1 review
“Very helpful and responsive owner, very clean, comfortable and well-appointed property”
Reviewed 26 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This property is conveniently situated right in the town of Winter Harbor. It is very well-maintained, and the owner has taken pains to ensure that visitors have everything they need for a comfortable stay from a well-appointed property with plenty of cookware, plates and utensils to handy tips (including a valuable short cut for the drive between Winter Harbor and Bar Harbor). Kathleen, the owner, could not be more helpful or hospitable. She clearly wants her guests to have a good time and makes herself available to address questions promptly and effectively. If you are looking for a comforatble base of operations for exploring the Down East coast and Acadia, this property is a great deal. It is not big, but all of the three bedrooms are comfortable and we had six people stay there recently without feeling that we were crowded.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owner's attention to detail. Plenty of plates, pots, utensils etc. Bedding and towels etc. were extremely clean. Beds were comfortable. The owner had clearly focused on what would be important to guests.
Liked least: There was nothing I didn't like
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2017
Guests like you make having a vacation rental worth all the work and worry.

I know that not all vacation rentals live up to the hopes of vacationers, and our goal is to prevent guests from feeling any disappointment when they come to stay at our Winter Harbor house. The fact that we, too, stay in the house between guests helps us know what others will need or want when they rent the home..

Thank you for honoring us with your stay, and we hope you will return.

Kathleen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kento46er
Dryden, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Everything we needed for a wonderful stay in Winter Harbor”
Reviewed 19 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

First of all, Kathleen is an excellent renter with detailed instructions on the house and the area. She responded promptly and gracefully to our questions, concerns, and a problem we encountered- no fault of hers.
Secondly, the area was perfect for us as we explored Mt. Desert island and much of Acadia National Park, rented kayaks down the street from the property, bought the freshest fish and steamed lobster from the LobStore- just a few miles from the property, and thoroughly enjoyed eating our dinners on the back porch of the property while watching spectacular sunsets with Cadillac Mountain in view.
The house is not new but has all the conveniences and comforts of home. For the five of us it was the perfect size. And we enjoyed watching the Olympics on the large screen TV in the living room and from the bed in our room.
Our visitors from Japan said they would love to return to the property and my wife and I feel the same way.
Winter Harbor is the quieter side of Acadia with the beautiful Schoonic Peninsula close by. One could spend a lot more money and stay closer to Bar Harbor, but for us this Winter Harbor home was just right. The house is a duplex and we never heard our neighbors on the other side.
We also recommend taking the ferry from Winter Harbor to Bar Harbor for the day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The easy access to everything we enjoyed and the quiet tranquility of Winter Harbor.
Liked least: The long drive from Central New York.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2016
Hosting people like you makes it worth doing all the hard work we do to try to provide what visitors need to make the most of their time in the Acadia National Park region. We're glad that you found a way back into the house after locking all keys and cell phones in the house. I think we'll find a way to provide a 2nd emergency key in a lockbox somewhere outside in case anyone else encounters the problem of locking all keys and phones inside the home. We certainly would love to have you and your family from Japan return to our Schoodic Peninsula vacation rental home-away-from-home someday soon. We think Winter Harbor, Maine is a truly special place and we're delighted you agree.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THEROGUET...
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“One of the best host you will come across”
Reviewed 2 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Our stay was like in our own home. Kathleen & Bill are great. Their communication and attention to detail cannot be better. Totally recommend this place. One word to describe "Awesome" !!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The host
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 May 2016
Thank you for your kind words. We're glad you had such a great stay! We do work hard to make sure our guests never feel let down by us or the house. We know that Acadia National Park is awesome; our goal is to be awesome vacation rental owners. Please come back to see Winter Harbor and Acadia National Park during the other 3 seasons! Kathleen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing