We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (982)
Filter reviews
983 results
Traveller rating
650
212
55
36
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
650
212
55
36
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews washer and dryer master bedroom full kitchen top floor indoor pool home away from home get away third floor great place to stay hot tub comforts of home southern maine salt marsh hotel room enjoyed our stay we've stayed several years
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 983 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Building 2, 3rd floor. Bed was beyond aweful. Worst bed I have ever slept in. Worn out, creaky, sloped by wear. Inexpensive thread bare linens, poor quality sheets & comforters, stained and dirty carpet with weird smells.
Wifi in room did not work even with special code from front desk.
Overall resort was run down and needs updating.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lbraymond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Village by the Sea is very conveniently located in the center of the bustling town of Wells. This also means it is directly on US Rte. 1, which is the coastal road tourists take to savor the beauty of the Maine coast. It is also the main road that residents use for their daily errands and appointments. This means that at the height of the season, traffic basically is at a crawl for several miles, and the many traffic lights don't really help. But almost every accommodation is on Rte. 1, so it comes down to the hotel itself and its amenities. We found that Village is a highly pleasing location to use as home base to explore the towns in southern Maine. Portland is less than an hour away, and the Kittery outlets are even closer.

The suites are very spacious and (at least ours) include a full kitchen, living room, large bedroom, and two full baths. This latter feature can be a blessing. There is plenty of closet and drawer space for clothes. The large (king-sized?) bed is very supportive, and the variety of pillows provides sufficient options for supporting the head and neck comfortably. The living room furnishings--a sofa and two recliners--were more than adequate. A couple of things had begun to show their age and need of small repairs or touch-up paint, but they did not really affect our enjoyment of the suite. The only thing that bothered us was a very noisy A/C unit. Fortunately, much cooler weather set in just after we arrived, so we were fine with the unit turned off completely.

Housekeeping was excellent; the place was spotless. The kitchen was supplied with all basics, and a couple of supermarkets were nearby for anything else you might need. Although with so many excellent restaurants in the area, we ate every meal out. Despite its name, the ocean was not visible, at least from our unit, but to us that was not a major factor.

Room Tip: Well set back from the road, no problem with traffic noise. Unsure if any units have ocean view, so that should not be a determining factor.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

We could not have been more pleased with this venue for our daughter's wedding. The entire staff worked tirelessly to ensure that the day went perfectly. Gail was with us from the moment we arrived for the rehearsal on Friday evening until late Saturday night when the last guests had departed. It was obvious that Village by the Sea is experienced with weddings. They anticipated our every need. The whole evening went like clock work . Most importantly, we ALL had a great time. The pergola is enchanting for exchanging vows; the gardens and lawn were stunning and well groomed for the event. The bridal suite was large and we had the use of a few rooms in which to spread out while hair and make up was completed. Having accommodations on site was a plus. The guests really enjoyed the large suites, complete with full size kitchens, and stunning views off their balconies. It was nice to know that the guests only had to walk a few steps to get "home" after the party was over. The location in Wells Maine is perfect. We had only a short ride to the ocean for a magnificent backdrop for photos of the bridal party. Many guests enjoyed the nearby nature parks, golf courses, and eateries nearby. All -in -all we highly recommend this venue for any couple looking for a warm friendly staff, an experienced wedding planner and a perfect coastal wedding.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2018 via mobile

We had a nice unit that was spacious and nicely decorated. It was third floor - 10H - and had a lovely view. The weather was nice enough to enjoy the balcony. Having a full kitchen was great. We cooked in both nights. I found it on a vacation rental website but next time will rent directly to save on the third party fees.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank thumper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018

I highly recommend Village by the Sea in Wells, Maine as the perfect wedding venue! We held our son's recent summer wedding there and couldn't have been happier with our choice.

Our coordinator, Gail and her entire staff, were a pleasure to work with from the early planning stages to the day itself. Gail was always available and willing to answer my many questions, and her advice and suggestions were always spot on!

Village by the Sea's outside grounds are a beautiful, peaceful setting for the ceremony and cocktail hour. The banquet room, even though large, was set up in a warm, intimate way to accommodate our small buffet reception. The food was wonderful and the entire staff provided excellent, efficient service.

Another great plus was the block of rooms Village by the Sea held for our out of town guests. The suites were large, well appointed and had lovely ocean views.

It was a great experience from beginning to end!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahdrakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews