We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quiet walk, Free parking!”

Rachel Carson National Wildlife Refuge
Ranked #2 of 28 things to do in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rachel Carson National Wildlife Refuge was established to protect valuable salt marshes and estuaries for migratory birds. Visitors can enjoy wildlife viewing year-around on the refuge.
Reviewed 18 May 2018 via mobile

Pulled in picked up a map & started walking, there are compost restrooms, picnic tables at parking area. We walked the 2 mile loop thru the marsh, saw chipmunks, birds, wood pecker, & fiddle gear ferns! Nice & relaxing,

Thank KAD56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NE-NWRS, Outreach Assistant at Rachel Carson National Wildlife Refuge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to Rachel Carson National Wildlife Refuge and we hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (467)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"salt marsh"
in 37 reviews
"nice walk"
in 31 reviews
"mile trail"
in 15 reviews
"nature walk"
in 14 reviews
"easy walk"
in 21 reviews
"short walk"
in 15 reviews
"nice trail"
in 7 reviews
"beautiful vistas"
in 6 reviews
"wheel chair"
in 6 reviews
"lady slippers"
in 5 reviews
"self guided"
in 5 reviews
"wooded area"
in 7 reviews
"marsh views"
in 6 reviews
"beautiful spot"
in 7 reviews
"great nature"
in 7 reviews
"peaceful place"
in 6 reviews
"bug spray"
in 9 reviews
Filter

35 - 39 of 467 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2018 via mobile

It's not a trip to Maine without a visit to Rachel Carson. Nice relaxing walk thru the woods. Today we had the place pretty much to ourselves....well except for the wildlife. Always fun watching the birds and those rascally chipmunks. If you are looking for a place to help decompress....this is it.

Thank dan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NE-NWRS, Outreach Assistant at Rachel Carson National Wildlife Refuge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Thank you for your review, Dan. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit to Rachel Carson National Wildlife Refuge and we hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2018

This is a nice way to see some marsh land and enjoy the birds in the area. It is an easy pathway to follow.

Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NE-NWRS, Outreach Assistant at Rachel Carson National Wildlife Refuge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

Thank you for your kind review, Pat. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to Rachel Carson National Wildlife Refuge and we hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

Such a beautiful trail with signs along the way..do informative..no rushing..allows you and your group to go at your own pace..perfect in Spring,Summer and Autumn....and it is free....though you can make donations to different groups who keep the trails up

2  Thank boots_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2018

this is a very nice 1 mile or so hike over and through various terrain. Woods, Seaside, marshland, etc. We went on a Sunday morning and although not alone, it was not overcrowded at all. My friend had her dog in his stroller and he enjoyed the walk as well so it is dog friendly. He is older so does get tired but not this time! A lovely spot preserved for all to enjoy!

1  Thank mjs7844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NE-NWRS, Outreach Assistant at Rachel Carson National Wildlife Refuge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Thank you for your kind review, mjs7844. We are so happy you enjoyed your visit to Rachel Carson National Wildlife Refuge and we hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rachel Carson National Wildlife Refuge also viewed

 

Been to Rachel Carson National Wildlife Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing