We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superbly appointed! Wonderful innkeepers!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Harbour Cottage Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Superbly appointed! Wonderful innkeepers!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

We stayed in the Carriage House and thoroughly enjoyed our time. The furnishings are lovely... the breakfasts wonderful! Don and his staff are so very helpful with sightseeing suggestions. It was our first trip to Acadia and it was wonderful!

Room Tip: If you have 3 people the Carriage House is a good selection!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KLHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    44
    12
    0
    2
See reviews for
48
163
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rye, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

Our family has visited the Acadia national park area for several years, but this was our first time staying in Southwest Harbor. We loved it! This town is away from the hustle and bustle of Bar Harbor, but close enough to go there anytime you are in the mood for the tourist scene. Southwest harbor has its own charm, restaurants, lobster shack,bike rental place, and shops, without the summer mobs! We loved the inn. Breakfasts were creative and delicious. The hosts were warm and welcoming. The furnishings in the inn are lovely. There is a lovely sitting area to drink coffee or read the paper before breakfast, or anytime of day. The inn offers easy access to the "Seawall" area of the park, which is peaceful and gorgeous. All other areas of the park are also easily accessible by car.

Room Tip: The Southwester cottage was terrific! It has three bedrooms, so a perfect place for a family to stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbottner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

I stayed in the Carriage House for five nights with my husband and 21-yr old daughter. Everything was perfect, and we thoroughly enjoyed our visit here. Accommodations were lovely, clean and quiet; innkeepers and staff were pleasant, knowledgeable and helpful. Lots of nice touches and attention to detail. Breakfasts were excellent - we didn't miss a single one! The Inn porch overlooking the beautiful front lawn was a big hit with all of us. This was our first trip to Acadia, and I wasn't sure where I wanted to stay. Bar Harbor is very nice, but I am glad we chose Southwest Harbor - the "quiet side". Location was ideal for exploring most parts of Acadia.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianneR_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guilford, CT USA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Harbour Cottage Inn for 4 nights with our 10 year-old son. I specifically choose the Inn for The Captain's Nook room, designed like a ship's state room, to entice our son into enjoying a B&B experience as much as we do. We all loved it! The room was very cleverly designed to make use of the roof lines and smaller space and it worked very well. The three of us enjoyed the cozy layout and the small sitting room was terrific if someone wanted to stay up later than the rest. I have to also add, as others have, that the beds are very very comfortable! The highlight though is the wonderful daily gourmet breakfasts which are fantastic and so well presented. We were impressed with the variety over the 4 days. We were very well fed to go off and enjoy the spectacular sights that Acadia has to offer!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank REDUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

My husband and I last visited Harbour Cottage Inn in August of 2010. When we left, I knew that we would have to return before too long. It actually took us two years since we did some international traveling in 2011, but we happily returned this August to spend six perfect days at the inn! Everything was even better than we had remembered it.

The common areas of the inn are lovely. There are lots of comfortable places, both inside and outside, to sit relax, read, and enjoy the lovely property. The indoor common area is appointed with lots of interesting antiques and many books to help you become familiar with Maine's many attractions. One of the things that I remembered from last time, and enjoyed this time also, was that there is coffee and tea set up all day so that if you are coming in and want to relax with a hot drink, you always can. Cheese, crackers and fruit are available during the afternoon.

We had stayed in The Dory during our first visit and loved it, but during our last visit, I caught a glimpse of the room, The Schooner, right next door. It appealed to me so this time we decided to make a change. We really loved the room. We were on a two week vacation and had a good deal of luggage with us, but the room offered enough drawer and closet space for us to be able to fully unpack comfortably. There was a closet in the room that had adequate hanging space plus lots of wonderful shelving. The bed was very comfortable! The bathroom was well appointed with a comfortable large shower and a convenient wall shelf where we could place all of our toiletries. I loved the eco friendly soap, shampoo and body lotion and all the wonderful linens for bed and bath. There was a new addition of a climate control air conditioner in the room, but the truth is we never turned it on. We enjoyed the breeze that was created by the keeping the windows open and using the ceiling fan. The room was pleasantly cool and we were able to have fresh Maine air to fall asleep to. That was a treat since we live in NJ and always have the air conditioning on in the summer! My favorite part of the room were the two lovely wing chairs where we could sit, relax and read.

Breakfast at the inn is very special. We sat out on the veranda each morning and were treated to juice, baked goods, fresh fruit and specialties such as Blueberry Stuffed French Toast, my personal favorite. The innkeepers combine their talents to make breakfast a wonderful part of each visit. Javier uses his talents as chef in the kitchen while Don is present to make sure that each guest is offered a friendly, helpful and relaxing start to the day.

We enjoyed our second visit as much as we did our first. The innkeepers are very warm, welcoming individuals and their attention to every detail of making our stay wonderful is very much appreciated. I would recommend The Harbour Cottage Inn to anyone who is planning a visit to beautiful Acadia National Park and the lovely surrounding area. The inn is conveniently located on the quieter part of Mt Desert Island with easy access to the park; minus the crowds of Bar Harbor. We are already thinking of when we will be able to visit Harbour Cottage Inn again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rkaufman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwest Harbor
0.1 km away
Lindenwood Inn
Lindenwood Inn
#3 of 5 in Southwest Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
14.5 km away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
14.9 km away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 km away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
14.9 km away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
3.0 km away
Kimball Terrace Inn
Kimball Terrace Inn
#2 of 2 in Northeast Harbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbour Cottage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbour Cottage Inn

Property: The Harbour Cottage Inn
Address: 9 Dirigo Rd, Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04679-4454
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Southwest Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Southwest Harbor
Price range (per night): $209 - $372
Hotel Class:3 star — The Harbour Cottage Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Harbour Cottage Inn, a premier bed and breakfast providing very private and elegant lodging in the quiet and historic village of Southwest Harbor, Maine. Our beautiful location is steps away from a picturesque working harbor, near Acadia National Park and Bar Harbor, which makes many great adventures possible. The inn is furnished with museum quality art and antiques, and all of our 11 incredible guest rooms and suites offer cozy, comfortable and well-appointed spaces to relax, refresh and renew. Choose from a 1, 2 or 3 bedroom suite offering relaxing accommodations for 1 couple 2 couples or even a family of 6. Unlike most bed and breakfasts, some of these suites have private living areas, decks and kitchens. Imagine starting your day over a lovingly prepared breakfast on the porch, or in the living room by the fireplace. Explore restaurants, shopping, marinas and lobster wharves near our Mount Desert Island lodging. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Harbour Cottage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Cottage Hotel Southwest Harbor
The Harbour Cottage Inn Southwest Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing