We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deck with a view”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Southwest Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Harbor View Motel And Cottages
Reviewed 18 November 2010

We spent a week in motel room #12. The motel rooms are set back about a block from the main road, so we didn’t have any problem with road noise from our room. The bedroom area had a comfortable, queen-sized bed, , two nightstands next to the bed, a TV on a stand, a chest of drawers tucked into a corner with a clothes bar above it to hang clothes from, and an easy chair. The kitchen area had cabinets filled with pots, pans, and other cooking utensils, silverware, dishes, etc, a stove, toaster, coffee maker, small microwave, and mini-fridge (very quiet compared to other mini-fridges). There was also a large sink with a dishpan and drain board for doing dishes, and a table (with two fold-down leafs) and two chairs. While the bedroom and kitchen areas appear to have been remodeled within the last decade or two, the bathroom looked to be of original vintage (except for the more recent looking stall shower). The most notable feature was the bathroom sink, which actually contained two, separate faucets (one for hot water, and one for cold). We used the kitchen sink for washing our hands.
Perhaps the room’s best feature was the outside deck. It had a small table and two chairs, along with a nice view of a grassy area leading to the harbor / ocean about fifty feet away. Very nice. All rooms are smoking rooms, but the only time we smelled any smoke was when someone in an adjoining room was smoking. (The rooms were connected with a door, which although closed still allowed both smell and sound to penetrate.) If you can get a room without a connecting door, it will probably be quite quiet since noise doesn’t seem to penetrate through the walls.
Internet connection from the room was not possible, other than by holding the laptop up to the window panes in the door (a position from which it’s nearly impossible to type). Going to the lobby, though, it was always possible to get a solid connection.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TigersFan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
There are newer reviews for Harbor View Motel And Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 96 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2010

We had the chance to vacation with friends from Chicago and meet in Southwest Harbor, Maine. By chance we eneded up at the Harbor View Motel. We loved the views, the room was clean and good time was had by all. Need I say more? We especially enjoyed the the small town which includes a bike rental shop, bakery, hardware store (in which we found a flash card for our camera.. thank goodness) and Jewelry shop with the lovely creations of Peter Aylen.....all within walking distance.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nature101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010

The rooms don't have much of luxury, but this is more than compensated by the nice setting and the fantastic harbor view. Try to get one of the rooms with a terrace. Breakfast is simple continental and can be taken on a sunny terrace. It's probably the best value on the island. There are some good restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeikoSchmitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

My husband and I stayed at the motel for 3 nights. The Harbor View was perfect for us. The motel rooms are quiet, comfortable and a great value (breakfast included). Since we brought our dog with us it was great having breakfast on our deck each morning while looking out at the bay - so peaceful and relaxing. On our last morning we got up early to watch the sunrise on the bay - definitely recommended. The only drawback to this motel is it's location, approximately 20 minutes from Bar Harbor/Acadia Park.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chiquita2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

We recently stayed here for 2 nights. My husband and I had a motel efficiency (#12) and my sister and mother stayed in a 2-bed room (#10). My niece and her family stayed with my other sister in a small cabin (#16). It was great! Part of the charm was the perfect weather and the quiet location. We could sleep with the windows open and the ocean breezes coming through the rooms. The food-allergic side of the family appreciated the well-equipped kitchen, and we all enjoyed eating lobsters from Beals on the picnec tables on the lawn. The 6 year old could ride his bike and my husband could walk to the marina. Need a snack? Just walk downtown - it is only about 4 minutes. If only the local restaurants were better! Also - this hotel is not a lovely, well decorated place. The decor feels a bit tired, but the place was spotless and cleaned daily. We loved the staff. Our dog was welcomed and treated with genuine affection.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
Thank wesglenfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwest Harbor
0.6 km away
Lindenwood Inn
Lindenwood Inn
#3 of 5 in Southwest Harbor
193 reviews
3.5 km away
Kimball Terrace Inn
Kimball Terrace Inn
#2 of 2 in Northeast Harbor
91 reviews
15.1 km away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#26 of 41 in Bar Harbor
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 km away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
688 reviews
15.5 km away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
15.0 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Southwest Harbor

Been to Harbor View Motel And Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor View Motel And Cottages

Address: 11 Ocean Way, Box 701, Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04679-4426
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Southwest Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Southwest Harbor
Price Range: $81 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbor View Motel and Cottages is a family friendly accommodation that has motel units, efficiencies, and cottages, and is located right on the water just outside of Southwest Harbor. We have a million dollar view overlooking the picturesque harbor and it is walking distance from the village which has many restaurants, cafes, and galleries. Please come visit us. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harbor View Motel And Cottages Hotel Southwest Harbor
Harbor View Motel And Cottages Southwest Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing