We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect hidden little spot!”
Bluehouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bluehouse
The Pond On Our Property
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
68 reviews
Bluehouse
The Pond On Our Property
Sculpture
Moss Garden
Wild Blueberry Patch
Detail
Butterfly Garden View From Veranda
View From Veranda
Pick Your Own Vegetable Garden
Pick Your Own Vegetable Garden
Pick Your Own Vegetable Garden
Pick Your Own Vegetable Garden
Strawberries From Our Vegetable Garden
Sunflower From Our Vegetable Garden
Detail
Bluehouse Deck
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island, Maine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 68 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Josh W
1 review
“Perfect hidden little spot!”
Reviewed 25 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

About 40 of my family members went and stayed here. Hands down the best vacation I have ever been on and I'm pretty sure the rest o my family would concur. Perfect location. Hidden and private, yet walking distance to the shops and restaurants. Hospitality was second to none. Everything was just perfect. I (we) didn't want to leave!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelinS...
Dumont, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely spot!”
Reviewed 18 November 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed for a week at Anna's in the Tree House Cottage. Perfect cottage for the four of us (two couples)! The cabin was cozy and very clean. We loved dining on the porch and sleeping with all of the windows open. The one thing we didn't care for, was being so close to the neighbors. Although the neighbors were never a problem, we would have preferred being a little more secluded. Nice location, a short drive to all of the major tourist attractions, hikes and a nice walk to the center of town. Would definitely stay again!!!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda T
Scottsdale
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a Great Experience - Didn't Want to Leave!”
Reviewed 18 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We had a wonderful week-long stay in the Veranda. It has lots of natural light and a lovely view of the trees and sky. You can even see Cadillac Mountain in the distance. It was very clean and comfortable. We can't say enough about the personalized service provided by Marc, the owner. We arrived late and he turned on the lights and heat so we felt immediately welcome. The next morning he provided the most amazing insights into things to see and do especially in Southwest Harbor. We enjoyed many things we would likely not have found on our own. Marc was quickly accessible throughout our stay and personally returned our deposit on departure day. The cottages are set among beautiful tall trees and are situated so you have lots of privacy.

We are glad we stayed in Southwest Harbor instead of Bar Harbor. Bar Harbor is fun to visit but can get very busy especially when the cruises ships are in. Southwest Harbor is quiet yet convenient to all the sites. There are great restaurants, bicycle rental within walking distance. The highlight for me was biking the carriage trails in Acadia. If you are looking for an easier trail, go around Eagle Lake and Witch Hole Pond. It was glorious with the fall colors.

The Quietside Café is a lovely little, family operated place. You can eat in or take out. We enjoyed a delicious takeout pizza. Their blueberry pie is as good as advertised and I loved their apple pie.

We had lobster rolls at a local place; you always hear about these and we wanted to try them. Suggestion, if you haven't tried them before.. .split one with a friend to see what you think. They are very expensive and we didn't really care for them.

You always hear about having the popovers on the lawn at Jordan Pond House. For a more intimate setting, have the popovers and lobster stew or chowder at Asticou Inn. We sat on the deck overlooking the water. Delicious food, perfect service, lovely setting and fewer people. Afterwards walk the Asticou Garden across the street. In my opinion, this is the loveliest public garden in the area.

We loved our dinner at Red Sky Restaurant. Reservations needed. Small, cozy, delicious food and wine. It is a bit expensive ($200 for four people with bottle of wine) but well worth it especially for a special occasion.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely setting, quiet area, the owner's outstanding service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annie S
Cambridge, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Acadia Experience”
Reviewed 14 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

My boyfriend and I stayed here over a long weekend in October. The cottage was clean, comfortable, and provided us with the ideal Maine experience. Marc, the owner, checked us in and gave us a list of off-the-beaten-path things to do on the island. I had been to Acadia before and his suggestions provided us with a completely new experience. He was also very friendly and made himself available should we need anything during our stay.

The grounds are located within walking distance to Southwest Harbor which has several nice restaurants. There is a bonfire pit, a hospitality lodge with tons of games, and the property had a lot of space for kids to play. Kitchens were well stocked and there was wifi in our cabin.

Would highly recommend a stay at Anna's if you're looking to be out of the touristy bustle of Bar Harbor.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NayNay24
Bloomfield, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful place for a family vacation”
Reviewed 4 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

My sister and I, along with our sons and their girlfriends, spent a week here recently and were very impressed with the area, the accommodations at the cottages, and the unique atmosphere here. The cottage we rented was well-appointed, spacious, comfortable and clean. It was also just a short walk from the local main street in town, with some stores, restaurants and other offerings. Bike and kayak rentals are nearby, and there is a local shuttle that will transport visitors around the island if you don't want to drive. If we visit this area again, this will certainly be our go-to spot for a place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottages were clean, comfortable and well appointed, and the location was great.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing