We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly Surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
Reviewed 3 October 2011

I was pleasantly surprise after booking this motel - the owner was friendly on check in and the room was clean with a big bathroom. It is in Scarborough but not very far from many things in Portland - the Maine Mall, etc. It is on Route 1 so easy access off the I-95 and easy to get around the area. The breakfast was pretty basic but the coffee and everything was fresh. The owners put on fresh coffee as soon as I entered. Not too much in the way of upgrades - basic tv, good channel selection. But it is being well maintained and it was cleaned. That's what we were looking for.

Room Tip: Rooms are pretty standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bygeorgew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    65
    18
    8
    7
See reviews for
54
76
26
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
162 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 539 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

The room (104) smelled clean and the size of the bathroom was a pleasant surprise. The frig was the larger dorm size, although it wasn't used during our stay. The bed and bedding were fine (I always remove the bed spread when sleeping.) Good wifi access. Quiet.
The grounds were nicely kept, although the house behind probably doesn't appreciate the garbage cans and basketball hoop against the backside of the motel.
Price for 1 night $77 for two bed room.
Excellent, friendly service. Breakfast included convenience-store type wrapped muffins/danish, apples, Sunny D (ewwww), and fresh coffee. I had coffee, apple and danish while my companion preferred going to McDonalds.
Not within walking distance of much. Stayed before flying out the next AM.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kitchenchemist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queens Village, New York
1 review
Reviewed 5 September 2011

It is a lovely little motel close to all nearby attraction. We had very good time over labor day weekend and spent 2 Nights here. Room was nice and clean which was very large size then other area hotels. It was so quite and that is what we liked then other crowded places which make our trip more relaxing. I will refer this place to my family and friends and will return in heartbeat.

Room Tip: Clean and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
millbrookmotel, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
Thank you for your wonderful review on Tripadvisor. We love to hear about our guest experience. Americas Best Value Inn truly does have something for everyone and I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that you will stay with us again when you are in the Portland area. Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmot, Nova Scotia
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We recently stayed at this hotel and what a gem it was. Easy to find on Route 1 to start with. Owners were very friendly and helpful. The room was awesome. Very comfortable king size bed and the room was a very good size. Nice seating area and the bathroom was big and clean. Nice to have a fridge in the room. Would recommend this place to anyone. We will stay there again on our next trip to the area.

Room Tip: Make a reservation and call thier direct number
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
millbrookmotel, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. I am so glad that you enjoyed your visit to our Americas Best Value Inn. We hope to see you again soon. Meena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2011

The room was horrible! We found hairs in the shower, sink and in front of the toilet. There was a ring around the tub and mold on the shower curtain. The doors were covered in black hand/finger prints, and the walls had dead bugs stuck to them. Of course we pulled the covers off the beds and the sheets were clean (thank God), so we were able to sleep fine with the exception of the late arrivals and paper thin walls! I think the owners should be checking the housekeepers in order to make sure customers are at least getting a clean room!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mshelleylyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
millbrookmotel, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
I would like to apologies for inconvenience that you had during your stay at our place.
By responding it on trip adviser we have an opportunity to hear from our valued guest.
I personally would consider this matter and look into it and will make sure that you or our other guest will not have said experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
0.2 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#12 of 13 in Scarborough
201 reviews
4.4 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland
3.3 km away
Extended Stay America - Portland - Scarborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn
BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn
#2 of 12 in South Portland
1,232 reviews
10.6 km away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#13 of 19 in Portland
1,485 reviews
4.3 km away
Fairfield Inn Portland Maine Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland

Property: Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland
Address: 321 US Route 1, Scarborough, ME 04074-9703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Scarborough
Price range (per night): $88 - $241
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Americas Best Value Inn of Scarborough, Maine, nestled near many great attractions surrounding Portland. Beaches are what draw many people to Maine and there are five just within the town limits of Scarborough itself. If dining is your preference we have two of the top 10 restaurants in the state which are located here in town as well. For kids of all ages, Funtown/Splashtown and Aquaboggan Water Park are but a few miles down the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland Hotel Scarborough
Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing