We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun owners and staff, great food”
Review of El El Frijoles

El El Frijoles
Price range: USD 4 - USD 15
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Description: We are closed until Dec. 5th! Then, our Winter Hours are Wed/Thurs. 11-7. El El Frijoles, Mexican Food is a California-Style Taqueria in a converted barn in the woods. We serve delicious Mexican food Scratch-made from the freshest, local and organic ingredients, in a fantastic family-friendly environment. We are open all year, but if you are coming in the off-season, you should probably call us or at least check our website/FB page to see if we are open!
Reviewed 3 October 2018

we visited Maine in July and found ourselves exploring a small part of the state, but ate at El El twice over the course of a week. This place is fun! and the food is great. Get a t-shirt and wear it across the globe & send them pictures for the wall. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cindy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2018

This by far has to be the best food in the area. When I took my first bite I was blown away at how good it was. Complex flavors in a simple dish. My wife confirmed I wasn't imagining the amazing flavors. Make sure you go early because they often close early when they sell out of food.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018

Food was excellent. Just what we were in the mood for after so much chowder and Clams. Tried the Tacos and Burritos.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Swellstylew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018

This is super Mexican food that we stumbled onto while staying a week on Deer Isle. What could be wrong with lobster tacos? Great sauce, innovative food, Looooong lines: don't go if you aren't prepared to hang out and wait. It's all delicious. We liked the take-off on LL Bean in the title of the restaurant.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

We have been to LL Beans AKA El El Frijoles a number of times in the past couple of months. We like being able to indulge in Mexican food without having to travel all the way to Ellsworth or Bangor so really appreciate they are there to provide good wholesome food. It is located in an old house and when it's really busy it can be hard to find a parking space (between 6 and 7 pm, especially in July/Aug!). The food is always solid and tasty though I would say portions are slightly on the modest side, though sufficient. I especially like when they have the lobster tacos on the menu because they are my favorite. We always enjoy the salsa bar the homemade variations of which are always nicely complementary to the food. The service can seem to be a bit hectic and sometimes slightly slow when it comes to the order taking...you stand in line to order and then wait for your order to be completed. To eat you can either sit in an outside screened porch type of structure or at the few tables inside where you place orders. It seems to be a very popular place for families with young children as there is a very casual and fun environment.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LynneMooHoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at El El Frijoles, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Thanks for visiting LynnMoo! Yup, mid-summer is totally a cluster around here in general. We have designed and operate our business to serve our customers, and almost all the time there is plenty of space and food to go around, in the winter months we can do some really inventive specials and we do a great job of exceeding expectations. This mid-summer period is pretty terrible for all of us, though! We get your concerns about service time, and it is important to know that we intentionally pr-load the wait time to before you order. We have found that folks would rather wait to order, and then get their food in 4 to 10 minutes as opposed to waiting 45 minutes or an hour for their order to come out after ordering. This also allows us to manage our limited food supply (we make everything here from scratch) so that we know when we're about out of something before you order it, not after you have been waiting for your food when we can't fulfill your order.
We have spent a lot of time over the last 12 years tuning and adjusting how we do things around here, and our decisions are all very deliberate. We appreciate how it must be a pain to be our customer for these few weeks, but it is important to know that the vast amount of our customer service takes place during the rest of the year, and that is what we design for. Sure, parking can also be tight in January due to the snow load, but we are not trying to feed 2000 people a week then either!
In any case, thanks for your patronage, and we hope you get to stop in during "normal" times too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El El Frijoles also viewed

Brooklin, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Little Deer Isle, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Stonington, Deer Isle
Blue Hill, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Stonington, Deer Isle
Stonington, Deer Isle
 

Been to El El Frijoles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing