We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (124)
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveller rating
68
15
13
13
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
68
15
13
13
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub the main lodge the owner moosehead lake rustic cabin roaring fire prime rib beautiful spot front porch only negative full kitchen lodge rooms maine lodge great hospitality cross country skiing rented a pontoon boat great food
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 124 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We booked a tenting site for three days and had an excellent time! The tenting sites are the most remote so plenty of privacy with access to the water. It was a bit of a walk to the lodge but we did not mind because we had bikes and preferred the peace and quiet anyways. We also had access to the hot tub, water trampoline, sauna and bath house. A great deal for $30 per night. We brought all of our own food so did not try dinner at the restaurant but heard it was delicious. I rented a paddle board for $30 for the day which is also a good deal. The boat house was a little disheveled looking but my paddle board worked just fine. The young lady at the front desk (can’t remember her name but she was from Rockwood) was very helpful in suggesting local places to fish. Overall we had a great time and would definitely come back.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Ana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018

After spending Labor Day weekend at The Birches, I was absolutely blown away with every aspect of our trip from arrival to our departure. The entire staff and ownership worked seamlessly together to reassure our accommodations, outdoor activities and dining room experiences would be lifetime memories for myself and family.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile

This restaurant is set in a historic, rustic lodge down a road “off the beaten path” in the Maine woods on Moosehead Lake! It’s what a lot of people can only dream of:
Lakeside in the woods with peace and quiet and great food! We enjoyed the pot roast dinner tonight that was the Tuesday dinner special and it was super delicious! Everything was homemade! Before the dinner was served, we had a salad that was right from the garden! The same goes for the sweet carrots in the dinner, they must have come from a nearby garden this afternoon! Definitely a great example of “farm to table”! While enjoying dinner, we noticed it raining and you could see a shower come over Moosehead Lake. It ended as quickly as it started! A rainbow appeared across the lake with the end of the rainbow in the lake! Several customers went out on the porch and lawn to snap pictures of it! The staff was extremely accommodating to us as we had a dog with us! We mentioned when we entered that we had a dog but due to the storm approaching, we were reluctant to eat outside. That wasn’t any problem for the staff! We were promptly seated next to a window where the dog even had his own soft leather chair next us and even next to a window! Gorgeous lake views, elegant food and a world-class staff! We look forward to going back!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank quilterlady83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018 via mobile

We RV’d at Birches and we had a couple of meals at the lodge and it was quite a treat!!! They even had a band on the porch at the Lodge. Loved it and hated to leave!! We will be back!!!! Thanks John, Dave, Martha and Janet!!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank rascal89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018

We just got back from The Birches, our 2nd visit. We stayed in cabin XX, The Honeymoon Cabin! (Our 49th anniversary is in 2 weeks.) we loved the cabin. It had a beautiful deck with 2 seats right on the lake. Heavenly. The only negative was our dinner: we had a roookie server who seemed overwhelmed, and there was a big party in the next room which apparently got all of the experienced servers. The dinners (eggplant parm and “baby back ribs”) were both disappointing. NOTHWITHSTANDING, we will come back and hope to have the Honeymoon Cabin again.

Room Tip: All cabins on the lake are great!
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidandGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews