We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (124)
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveller rating
68
15
13
13
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
68
15
13
13
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub the main lodge the owner moosehead lake rustic cabin roaring fire prime rib beautiful spot front porch only negative full kitchen lodge rooms maine lodge great hospitality cross country skiing rented a pontoon boat great food
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 124 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2018 via mobile

We always love stopping here while snowmobiling for a drink. The view of the lake is beautiful... there’s a nice fire... cozy couch and tables with a view. It’s even a gas stop!! I highly recommend that you make this a part of you visit.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Alice F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John W, Owner at The Birches Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2018

Thank you for your nice review. We love to have repeat guests that love the place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018

May not be rich, but we felt like it for a while. This was a surprise party for my sixtieth birthday. My Son in law and my daughter and the Birches Staff were all in on it.To make a long story short, I've been to the Birches many times for dinner. It is the most amazing feeling being there, You are in Gods country but feel secure and the people are WONDERFUL. I cannot get over these people moaning and groaning about something minor but they have to complain about something . The Birches is not a motel six, if you want that you are in the wrong neck of the woods. Every hour i spend at the Birches is a moment cherished in my life , THAT's my two cents , THANK YOU the BIRCHES

Room Tip: adjacent boat dock
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lance A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John W, Owner at The Birches Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2018

Thank you for your great review. It is great to have kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017

We had a fabulous getaway weekend at the Birches! It is such a special place. Peaceful, relaxing and so much fun! We took long walks, enjoyed the hot tub outside, and relaxed in the bar. The restaurant service was over the top and the food was excellent from breakfast thru dinner. I especially liked hanging out in the Lodge by the fire playing games with friends while laughing our heads off. Highly recommend it!!!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank laurabM5796WF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

Private cabins offer fantastic views of Moosehead Lake and Mt. Kineo while sitting on the Adirondack chairs from the front porch. The cabins are private have a fireplace, but lack the modern bathrooms that are becoming synonymous with 3 start accomodations

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sesquapedalian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

We stayed in Cabin IV (Wine & Roses) in September on an ATV backpack trip. Like others have mentioned, the cabins are rustic which would be fine but they are in disrepair. The shower had mold in it. The porch roof on the cabin next door was rotted and partial missing. For $225 per night I felt taken. They offer other lodging options which may have been better for me.

We ate Breakfast & Dinner in the restaurant. For Dinner we all had the Pot Roast Special and it was incredible. The best I have ever had. Breakfast was also good.
I would go back to enjoy the restaurant.

There's a lot to like about this property and we would try it again, just not in a cabin.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luv2snowmobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews