We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveller rating
69
16
13
13
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
69
16
13
13
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub the owner moosehead lake the main lodge rustic cabin float plane wood stove xc ski take advantage full kitchen ribs lodge rooms outdoor activities roaring fire wonderful place beautiful location living area
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 126 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2016 via mobile

On a recent vacation to Moosehead Lake, we visited The Birches Resort. Although we didn't have the opportunity to stay in their cabins, we ate at their restaurant several times and enjoyed each fabulous meal. Their prices were good and the portions were very large. Great food! The highlight, however, was taking a seaplane tour of the area. John is an excellent pilot and made us feel very safe while pointing out many features of the area, locating several moose, and providing great narration. If you plan to be in the Rockwood area, be sure to check this place out!

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Freedom605166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2016

Outside of snowmobile season, the prime reason to visit the Birches Resort is the lake. If you can't get out onto the lake for some reason, go someplace more comfortable to sit and enjoy the view. I understand "rustic," because I used to live in Alaska. It ranges from "cute" or "quaint" to "decrepit." On the rustic scale, cabin #3 is definitely decrepit. Warm water takes five minutes to reach the cabin; the mice get in a lot faster. There were two of us staying there, and both of us had come down with something flu-like during the car ride to Moosehead. There was no tub or hot water, no TV and no internet access in the cabin, so we had nothing to do but read and wait for the illness to pass. The "no cancellation" policy is ironclad; we asked. That's why I suggest waiting until the last minute before booking here: Make sure the weather and your health will make it the vacation you're looking for. We spent an uncomfortable four nights because our travel budget didn't allow us to waste money double-booking elsewhere. Also, know that nothing but the cabin is included in the rate: you will pay more money to rent a watercraft or eat in the lodge. The kayak we rented, at the end when we felt a little better and wanted to get something for our time there, did not have a rudder or spray skirts and had obviously seen better days. All in all, a wasted trip.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JCat66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John W, Owner at The Birches Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2016

I am sorry The Birches, did not live up to this travelers expectations. Perhaps if they had been more vocal about these concerns, we could have made their stay more enjoyable. We have 18 cabins and several homes directly on the lake. I live on the premises and like to have satisfied guests.

The accommodations are offered without boat rentals. We have many choices for boats, canoes and kayaks for rent at reasonable rates.

The hot water in that cabin comes from a central system in the lodge and takes a minute or two to get warm when we are not full. We could have moved these guests into a cabin with its own water heater. We were not full at the time of this visit.

Cabin 3 was build in 1930 and is clean and well appointed and is advertised as rustic. It sits on the lake with a great view and a nice porch with private fire pit.

We have many kayaks for rent and most do not have rudders because guests bend and break them. We do have a few with rudders if the request is made for that. Skirts are not generally available as most of our guests do not know what they are for and do not request them. Again we could have supplied them if the request is made.

Television is not provided in the rustic cabins on purpose. The quiet atmosphere is maintained for reading etc.

We do have higher end accommodations on the lake available that do have TV, bath tubs, etc.. The main lodge has TV and internet at no charge.

I encourage these guests to try The Birches again. I am sure we have something that fits their desires.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2016

We just returned from a fantastic week at the Birches Resort! The resort is everything you expect in northern Maine. Real rustic charm to step back, relax and enjoy life. Everyone there made you feel like old friends. After a long day of snowmobiling, we would stop in the bar for a drink, and hop in the hottub. Then off to dinner at the Birches restaurant, yummy! Usually, it was just the 2 of us, but they also accommodated our group of 12 one night with no issues. One of my friends worked out every morning in the onsite gym, but snowmobiling was enough of a workout for me! A special thank you to Dana for fixing our snowmobile.
We happened to have rain one day and I was shocked at how well their groomers were able to take the bumps and icy corners out of Route 66! The riding going west and north was good to great. There was no riding south to Greenville but that didn't matter because it is easy to go in so many other directions from the Birches.
The views from our house on Moosehead Lake straight across to Kineo were stunning.
There were a dozen ice sailboats on the lake as we were leaving. I wish we could have stayed longer!

Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NewEnglandPatriots08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2016

My friends and I are private pilots of small airplanes and every winter we make it a point to visit the Biches. This is our favorite destination for the entire year. John and his entire staff treat us like family! The Birches is a destination with many different experiences to offer. Our group really enjoy the rustic cabins with the feel of the olden days.
We travel to the Birches in our airplanes each winter and land on the ice right in front of the main lodge. We come here for the tranquility and hospitality that John and his staff offer. Whether it's cross country skiing, snowmobiling or just relaxing in the lodge you will find no better place to let yourself unwind.
I can't speak for the higher end accommodations they have to offer here as we come looking for the feeling that the old cabins offer. They are top shelf.
If you want to get away from it all and like the sitting by the wood stove and taking in the million dollar views you must visit the Birches!

Room tip: The Lakeside Cabins Are My Favorite!
Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Cain B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2016 via mobile

If you want to be in nature, enjoy bold mountain and lake views, have lots of fun, and have a great restaurant and lounge to visit for breakfast, lunch and dinner, this is the place!.
Lodging options for every budget and taste.

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Tania M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews